We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixed the A/C” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Town House Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Town House Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Town House Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Marshall Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia (Formerly The Town House Sundowner)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fixed the A/C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We do the trip Brisbane to Victoria quite often so decided to give this motel another go as the only isse was the A/C. This has now been fixed so all is good. A really nice reasonably priced motel in the heart of Goondawindi, so no traffic noise. Great pool just what you need on a hot day. It was 40 when we arrived so we put the A/C on and went for a swim, by the time we got back to the room it was cool.
There are 4 undercover parking bays the rest are outside rooms, so if you would like to park undercover might be worth asking if you can have a room that gives under cover parking if that is important to you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for another great review of our hotel. We like to act on our travellers reviews hence the AC was fixed shortly after your last visit. You will also be pleased to know we are in the process of organising more carports to be built to accommodate the majority of our guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed there for three years in a row now for the hell of west triathlon, first I love the fact that they automatically reserve a room for us for the following years race without ever having to ask.
And to the most important thing- the new chef! Although there were zero complaints about the kitchen and I thoroughly enjoyed my dinners there in 2012, the upgrade in chef for 2013 is awesome! Very tasty, not a country town menu, much more varied & delicious, the chef clearly takes a lot of pride in what he does & congrats to dave & Lisa for finding a talent and landing him in Goondiwindi.
We will be back for sure, not just for the hotel but for the restaurant (didn't think I'd ever say that about Goondiwindi...)
Thank you
James

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
James,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant, we were very excited you could see the change from last year and thrilled you were happy. We wish you all the best for your competitons during the year and hope to see you back for the HOTW in 2014. Regards, Lisa and David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a very nice motel .. clean and well presented, with helpful, friendly staff. I look forward to a return visit one day.
The Town House Restaurant is very good too .. a little expensive unless you are dining out for a special occasion, but the quality of the food and the ambiance of the restaurant are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Margo,
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, we were very pleased to be able to host you and your daughter in the floods. We were especially pleased when we found your wedding ring and was able to reunite you with it. We look forward to your return visit one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I was quite delighted with the presentation of this room- it was very welcoming after a long drive. My only gripe with the room ( and why I didn't rate it as excellent) is that the airconditioning is a little underpowered, and the big windows face full west. So, it came up to speed after a couple of hours, but I was mighty hot until it did. The notices ask you to turn off the aircon if you leave the room, but I left it on, had dinner, and a walk & then returned to a cool room. If I'd turned it off, I'd have had a 2 hour wait to cool down. Otherwise, a lovely style of room. A quick gripe about the restaurant, though. If you are going to charge fine dining prices for not quite fine dining food, at least the service should be excellent. When the restaurant is empty & there is a staff of 5, why would I be pouring my own water? I guess it was a case of not understanding what wait staff are meant to do. Goondiwindi is a tiny place, so the restaurant was pretty good, considering. Id stay there again, but ask for an east facing room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are in the process of organising an awning to be bulit to combat your concerns so hopefully by the time you stay next the western sun will be off those rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive from Melbourne and a couple of attempts to find accommodation we were thrilled with our choice. A late arrival we were greeted with a personal touch by Lisa. The rooms for a family of 4 were spotless and the beds were SOOOO comfortable and clean. A great nights stay in a lovely little motel. Even though the bathrooms are a little dated they are clean. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a stop over. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We were pleased to be able to accommodate all of your lovely family on your trip. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have to admit, we have traveled via Goondiwindi many times but never ventured into the actual town. Having had a busy week we decided to stop early and drove into Goondiwindi its self, which we have to say is a really nice little town.
This motel is right in town, which meant no noise from a very busy road at the bypass for the town.
The reception was quick and helpful, the room very large, a queen bed and two singles. Spotlessly clean and our room had a cathedral ceiling which made the room feel even larger. Bed was very comfy, and a nice modern bathroom. The menu was amazing the sort of menu you would expect from motels in the capital cities. The only negative comment was the A/C it was the old style, and built into the wall above a cupboard so no access to the controls is possible, there is just an on off switch by the bathroom door, but the worst thing was it rattled - all night, to the point we had to turn it off and then the room became quite hot. If the motel was to install new modern reverse cycle A/C then this motel would go to the very top of our list of great motels.

Room Tip: Check out the A/C before taking the room to see if it rattles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed not only Goondiwindi but also our hotel facilities.
We are glad you thought our menu was of high standard as that is something that our restaurant team and ourselves are striving for.
You will be pleased to know we were already in the process of organising new A/C units before your stay, so hopefully the next time you travel to Goondiwindi you will find them perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My adult son and I stayed here on a road trip from Brisbane to Melbourne and we wish all motels would be like this one! Quick and easy check in and out, free fast wifi, comfy beds, and then there is the restuarant! When we checked the menu in our room we thought there must be a mistake. The menu is like one we would expect in an upmarket big city restuarant, but no mistake, the Sundowner Restuarant is excellent. Good service, great food, reasonable prices....what more does one need. We recommend this motel for all of you driving between Brisbane and Melbourne.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be away from the main road, so all should be as quiet as the one we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our fast, friendly service, our rooms and our fast & free WiFI.
At the time of you dining with us our menu had only been released for a week so both we and our chef are overwhelmed that you and your son enjoyed the experience and meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Motor Inn

Address: 110 Marshall Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia (Formerly The Town House Sundowner)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Town House Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Town House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town House Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.