We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room but great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macintyre Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Macintyre Motor Inn to your Saves list
Macintyre Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Mc Lean Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average room but great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We drove into Goondiwindi without a booking and decided on a 2 br room at this motel. The room and facilities were basic (no air con in second bedroom, squeaky taps, pipe hammer, and very small dated bathroom), but our hosts were the very essence of country hospitality. Our children stormed straight to the pool on arrival, and we were offered extra towels for them without having to ask. Fresh milk was provided for tea and coffee, while our hosts were happy to help out with some extras including urgent printing at no charge and provision of a chopping board so I could make lunches for the next day. One odd thing was the warm water coming out of the cold tap, but perhaps that's just plumbing in Goondiwindi? I'd rate this as 3 stars but for the very friendly and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: 2 br rooms are available for families. Otherwise, all seem pretty similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This motel is about 50 metres from the main street of Goondiwindi. A good sized double room for $115 with a fridge and kettle. Comfortable bed, good Chinese restaurant just around the corner, walk to the river, museum, shops. no restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

To expensive for average rooms. Family room. I'll be trying somewhere else next time. T
Rooms were clean and friendly service but nearly fell over when they charge me $165 for 1 night. It was late so I couldn't go else where.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Macintyre Motor Inn.

We had a very spacious 'single' room, though there was another single bed in the room so it could have very easily slept three people. The bed was very comfy, the bathroom really clean and nice, and the cooked breakfast excellent.

There was a pool and BBQ area for use by guests, which looked nice but we didn't use as it was too cold.

The only issue is that bookings need to be done in person, either by email or phone - there is no online booking system.

We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped over in goondiwindi for one night on our way to redcliffe, we were extremely impressed by the tidyness of the rooms, the bathroom with a good CLEAN toilet and shower, comfortable beds, with good linen, television with Austar and also free wifi access. At a great price of $160 for our room which had 1 queen bed and 1 single in one room, and 2 single beds in a small adjoining room, we would highly recommend it to anyone. Pleasantly friendly owners made it a breeze for us to secure our family room. Thankyou very much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay here and the reviews did not disappoint. Large tidy rooms in a walk to everything location. The booking process by phone was made very easy by Patsy. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in this motel on our way south from Brisbane. The whole booking process went very smoothly & we were greeted warmly by the owners who also provided good information about restaurants & local facilities. The motel is quiet, & although it is an older style, the rooms are very well appointed & very clean, & car parking is under cover right outside the rooms. We dined at one of the recommended hotels, The Vicoria, & had a delightful meal. This was in close walking distance.

I would thoroughly recommend the Macintyre Motel, as a comfortable, good value motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macintyre Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macintyre Motor Inn

Address: 15 Mc Lean Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macintyre Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Macintyre Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macintyre Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.