We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel room for the night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   48 Marshall Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Goondiwindi B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel room for the night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were passing through and booked at O'Sheas Royal Hotel for one night only. Our room was with ensuite for $102 which was on the expensive side I thought for a pub. It was a mid week stay and didn't include breakfast. The room itself was big enough although they had a second double bed in the room which made it a bit cramped for the two of us. The bathroom was small but manageable. We found it quiet but then it wasn't the weekend. We enjoyed the wifi in the room and had dinner in their restaurant which was good.

One thing to remember when travelling from NSW is to adjust your time from daylight saving in summer.

Room Tip: Eat dinner in their restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owena M, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Angel,
Thanks for your review recently. We appreciate all feedback so we can continue to better ourselves at the hotel.
Next time you book, please feel free to call us directly, I can give you an executive room for $104 if you book directly.
We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner and look forward to seeing you back again.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Pleasant enough hotel but really noisy at weekends. My husband and I stayed here on a Friday night and there was absolutely no soundproofing to protect residents from the nightclubesque noise from below.

Maybe their DJ was most annoying of all, "woo!"ing into his microphone with abandon.

The room itself is adequate with a fridge and air con. Shared bathroom is clean and smells fresh. Wifi has a good strong signal and is free to use.

Really disappointed with the noise control. This is the poorest pub hotel I've ever stayed in because of that, and led to a restless night.

We wouldn't stay here a second time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owena M, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Neish,
We really do appreciate your feedback.
Usually our staff informs guests of the noise on weekends (or if you booked online, its in the info) and we are always happy to move guests to the further rooms where we never have noise problems, unfortunately if we are fully booked this is not possible.

I offer my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We are looking into the issue of our end rooms to increase soundproofing.

If you do stay with us again, please do not hesitate to mention your issue and I will assure that you are placed away from the noise on weekends.

Again, Thank you for your feedback, it helps us constantly improve and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We initially booked the budget $77.00 room, which was fine using a shared bathroom but we decided to have the motel room for $94.00 with ensuite. The room was a good size with a bench like table, tea and coffee. Very clean with opening windows. Unfortunately we has an air conditioner right outside that went all night which lead to a part sleepless night. We mentioned this in the morning and the staff were very apologetic and immediately went to investigate. They put a call out for maintenance. Room 2 had this problem just check when booking. We stayed on a Sunday night and there was no pub noise or traffic. We will stay there again. Very professional. Some Melbourne establishments could take a lesson from these guys.

Room Tip: Check out A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owena M, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and feedback.
All reviews help us improve our hotel and service.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked online but in future I will ring direct. The room was reasonable given the price and was more or less what I expected, I would prefer onsuite but those were already booked it being a Easter weekend it was fully booked. I only eat at the restaurant on the Saturday night but the food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar if you are staying on the Saturday night, it can get noisy if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owena M, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at The Royal in Gundi on our way home to the Gold Coast. No surprise though as it was St Patrick's Day the bar was going to be full of people in green. Very warm welcome and after 5 hours of driving was great to have a more than comfortable room. We had dinner in the restaurant and opted for what we were recommended, Coral Chicken is a winner and the lamb cutlets very good. My family are staying for the Gundi races in April and I'm sure they will have a great time. Another thing tomention after travelling through many towns and stopping at different locations, this was the only pub that actually served decent wine over the bar by the glass!!! Thank you to the O'Shea family for such a nice stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owena M, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and of a descent size. Good location. We arrived at 9pm on a Wednesday night, too late to get a meal. Nothing else open in town either so stop before you arrive if you are on a road trip.good place to stay on a long trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owena M, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a night in Oct 2012 on the drive back south from Brisbane. As others have mentioned, its ideally located in the main street of Goondi (though off the highway bypass). We had an ensuite room, a little sparse but quite OK and reasonably priced. Great happy hour drink prices (from 4 to 6?) and the restaurant was a surprise. Meals were well priced and serves were huge. Number of people eating on the Monday Labor Day night was quite impressive so obviously has a good reputation locally.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalhotel4390, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at O'Shea's Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goondiwindi hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
The Town House Motor Inn
The Town House Motor Inn
#4 of 10 in Goondiwindi
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macintyre Motor Inn
Macintyre Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Goondiwindi
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
#7 of 10 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Binalong Motel
Binalong Motel
#8 of 10 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boggabilla Motel
Boggabilla Motel
#10 of 10 in Goondiwindi
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 48 Marshall Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Shea's Royal Hotel is Located in Goondiwindi QLD. We have an onsite restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.Gaming and live entertainment on weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.