We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caloundra Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caloundra Backpackers to your Saves list
Caloundra Backpackers
84 Omrah Avenue | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Skegness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

As it happened we didn't stay......we booked and we went but we left, all within a short space of time. I'm not a person to moan but this place is deserved of my moaning.
We arrived to find the hostel. In the parking area was someone repairing their car. Sat outside the hostel on a sofa which should be burnt, were a group of .........well I will leave that description out in case Australian libel laws are dodgy.
We only needed a bed for the night and £35 seemed ok for a double room. The room was made up and it was basic and ok enough except for the fact that the sheets and pillowcases hadn't been changed.
We complained and got our money back. The owner explained that the hostel is used by workers and that a minority of them seemed to have taken over!
She apologised for the sofa but only as far as saying it should be moved, not destroyed??
She said things would change...........well until they do.........don't even consider it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
1
14
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

well, where to start..
my friend and I thought it would be a great idea to buy food the first day we got there,
the next day the food was off because the fridge broke (wasted $50) - they couldn't even be bothered to have a bloody sign up after this unfortunate accident to warn others about not using it.
They have a wonderful collection of mugs but no cups. I guess it's a bit old fashioned to use cups anyway?
When ever you opened the fridge or cupboard it would have this wonderful smell of mould.
I had an allergic reaction and needed cream, they had no idea where the first aid kit was or how to use it. the lady said, quote, "just looks like you got stung or bitten by a fair bit of jelly fish, you will be fine." Pretty sure it's a legal requirement to have a first aid kit.
the place had "character", the seats actually were half broken and were pealing off and sticking to your body. The beds definitely helped me wake up at a good time considering they were highly uncomfortable and the room not to mention was bloody hot.
The place smelt horrible, the people were smoking god knows what at night time (the people that were suppose to be looking after the place didn't do anything about it)
The only good thing about the place was the showers and I'd even give them two stars out of five.
if you like the lovely smell of mould, the horrible service and food that is off, this is your kind of wonderful get-away!! I do not recommend staying there unless you are highly desperate/need a place to stay at. Not even worth a star to be honest, but apparently I have to.

Room Tip: don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ok so we checked in if that's what you call it to a young girl who was sat out front with a gang of others drinking on the sofas she showed us to our room which when we got in we had a very squeaky bed and fan. Everyone seemed to be very clicky with each other and it seemed like a working hostel. Nobody spoke whilst we were there I'm glad it was only for 2 nights we tried to spend as much time as possible out of that place. The walls were paper thin so you could hear everything on the others room. AND you couldn't lock your bedroom door from the inside ????? Seriously I thought I'd skip the negative reviews and check it out myself but I wouldn't waste ur time or money.! A guy we spoke to in the town said you can get a room in one of the hotels for the same price as a room there. AVOID !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights and it was OK-ish.
Bathrooms are in need of a cleanup and refurbishment, showers grubby, no standup urinals for the guys in the toilets, and only 2 loo's to choose from.
Kitchen also run down, fridges, oven, plates and utensils not in good condition, and room was OK but only a small fan to cool it down in the 30deg heat - very ineffective.
If you need internet, go use the library in town while you're here, as the hostel connection is almost non-existent, and very frustrating, as it drops out all the time.

Close to supermarket & town (2 mins), and there's a great cheap car rental place just up the road - $30 a day (min 2 days). Beaches only 5-10 mins walk.
Staff very friendly & helpful, but the landlord needs to spend a bit more on the upkeep.

Room Tip: Take a look before booking if possible, some rooms at the rear won't be affected by the other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here one night in december 2012 and paid 60 dollars for a double room with shared facilities. The service offered by the French (tandem) surfing couple was great! They helped us with our arranging flight tickets and even printed out our tickets. More pro's are:
- Close to supermarket
- Free use of internet (which is unfortunately not that stable)
- Free surfboards and bikes
- Nice group of international guests

Con's are:
- Quite small room
- Very bad free bikes
- No airconditioning (there is a fan however)
- No pool

Overall, a nice stay thanks to the friendly owners and guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you're only staying in Caloundra for a couple days, this hostel is a great option. The fact that they will give you free SUP, surf board, AND bike rentals during your stay is reason enough to stay here. My partner and I rented the stand up paddle boards for the few hours and had a dolphin within 10m of us in Bulcock Bay!! Amazing!!

The hostel is otherwise what you'd expect from a budget backpackers. The kitchen areas get messy quickly, as they seem to clean them only once a day (that I noticed). Backpackers never seem to do an adequate job of cleaning up after themselves! The reception hours are a bit random as well; 9am - noon and 2pm - 5pm... You'll need to let them know ahead of time if you need an early or late check-in/out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Room and bathroom were clean, the outside area was filthy.Rubbish everywhere. We didn't use the kitchen but checked it out and it looked good. I guess its all about the price! Cheap and in a good spot at Kings Beach. We had an issue when we wanted to leave as the 'system' does not start up until 9:00am. I wasn't told this at all until we went to check out and pay so I was annoyed that we had to wait until this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
8.2 mi away
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
#24 of 28 in Mooloolaba
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#2 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#3 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Backpackers

Address: 84 Omrah Avenue | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Caloundra Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Backpackers Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caloundra Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.