We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly fast service!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Promenade

La Promenade
4 Tay Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
(07) 5499 7133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 145 Restaurants in Caloundra
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazingly fast service!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend and I stumbled across this lovely little cafe with seating on a deck that sits right on the waters edge. We ordered a fairly standard cafe breakfast - large coffee and tea, yoghurt and fruit, poached eggs on toast. I ordered at the counter and within minutes our drinks arrived ! I'd only just ordered? A few more minutes later and our food arrived! I'd never had such quick service. The food was fresh and the poached eggs cooked to perfection. We went again the next day and the service was just as prompt and the food just as fresh. I don't know how they do it! It's like magic food - you order and it appears within minutes! Ha ha
A great little spot for a morning coffee and with excellent views of the beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Not many places are opened before 7 am for breakfast. This place is right on the water, friendly staff, helpful with the small children. But the only thing under $10 on the menu was yogurt.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible coffee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Been a regular customer for 9 years. They used to serve a reasonable coffee. Today they burned our coffee completely. When commenting about this to the owner in a friendly way, we were basically told to shut up. Very unfriendly way to respond to a customer.
Will not go back there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The view and location was fabulous, we really enjoyed that. We went for lunch on the Sunday, after seeing people there all weekend. We were quite disappointed with an ordinary meal - both meals were very plain and not well cooked. But the view made up for it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“6 people, all disappointed by food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful day, lovely location, crappy food, prices too high.
You know when not one out of six fairly easygoing people enjoy their meal that something isn't right.
Reeks of tourist trap! Will not be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Promenade also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to La Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.