We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kids want to move here :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moorings Beach Resort to your Saves list
Moorings Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our kids want to move here :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The moorings is a fabulous resort - perfect pool, great beach and spacious rooms. The onsite owners are always available to help out if you need it and generally make your stay enjoyable. Even in the pouring rain there are things to do locally. Great option for young families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank for your review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your children did too!!! Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having experienced the Moorings Resort on several occasions it was nice to see that not a lot has changed.

Large, well appointed, apartment style accommodation rolled in with a great location waits. Situated right on Golden Beach, the resort providing views to Bribie Island and beyond.

Golden Beach offers a quieter side of the Sunshine Coast, so if you after night life and all the convenience Maroochydore and or the like offer then look elsewhere, which is great if you’re looking for a bit of peace and quiet.

Our apartment ($151 per night - 3rd floor - 1 bedroom) had everything one would want for a short and or long stay. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area and a good size bedroom and adjoining en-suite, all two steps from the elevator. Undercover security parking was available and worked just fine for us.

The Moorings Cafe (Independent to the resort) is open for breakfast and lunch but closed for dinner! Shame as it used to work just fine and the food was good. Alternative arrangements at the local Thai, Chinese and or Italian restaurant around the corner worked fine.

Clean, neat and well equipped. We will be back.

Room Tip: Unless you want a view beyond Bribie Island the lowere cheaper floors offer ggood value for money. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hello, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned the cafe is independent to us and as much as we would like them to open more often unfortunately they haven't been! Maybe next time you come!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom studio apartment for 4 nights and found it to be an ideal spot to stay. The gardens are beautiful and the pool area looked lovely - even though the weather was not ideal. Secure parking underneath is a plus. We arrived quite late and as promised the key was waiting in the lock box for us. A nice surprise was the bottle of wine and two glasses (to keep) that were waiting for us on the table in the unit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of out resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope you will return again but in the meantime you can think of us when drinking out of your beautiful Moorings wine glasses!!!! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights during the Easter break. We enjoyed everyday here, we even booked an extra night because of the resort and location. The Moorings Beach Resort is immaculately presented with the facilities, rooms and grounds clean, tidy and well looked after. The owner/managers are onsight (we think) and take great pride in presenting a well secured and family orientated holiday destination. The resort has an onsight cafe, gym and steam room.The pool has a spa and small wading pool, and a waterfall. The rooms were large and tidy, consisting of two balconies (East and West) and fully self contained. The resort has excellent proximity to take away, corner store, bottle-o, ATM and the pumicstone passage (for parks, picnics, water sports, swimming) all within walking distance. We would highly recommend this resort for families. When booking, a higher floor would probably be best for the view of the passage.

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We were delighted to read your wonderful comments about our resort. Easter weekend was a beautiful time at The Moorings Beach Resort with fantastic weather. Management are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. So glad you extended your stay - many did that weekend and we were only to happy to oblige. Oh and yes we do live on site! See you on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just a 2 night stay. Very quiet area. Nice pool/gardens. Corn fritters at restaurant a go-er. Foxtel. All round nice break. Bit far from central caloundra to walk though if that's an issue...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We are so pleased you had a wonderful few nights with us. Hope your next stay can be longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent 5 days relaxing at The Moorings after a hectic 11 days on the Gold Coast. The two bedroom apartment on the 9th floor was very spacious and clean. The views were magnificent and enjoyed watching the ships going past. The staff on reception very friendly and helpful. Very close to local shops. Great place to stay if looking for somewhere quiet away from the frantic rush further up the coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us at The Moorings Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at The Moorings for a long weekend in Sept 2011. Just lovely again - we stayed in March 2011. We stayed in a high 2 bedroom apartment on level 7 - great view of Golden Beach and the passage to watch the many ships go by. Positives - large eastern balcony, small western one which is good in the morning; well stocked apartment, right on the calm water beach, close to shops and a few cafes. Seagrass bistro nearby at Gemini is good, as Sandys at the moorings may not be open. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing to stay with us again at The Moorings Beach Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once more. We have good news for you in that the cafe/restaurant that is on site will be re-opening this weekend. We look forward to your next visit with us - and once more thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.2 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Beach Resort

Address: 88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Caloundra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moorings Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water front location in peaceful Golden Beach. Self contained apartments, heated pool, kiddies pool, spa, sauna and gym. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Continuous. Immaculate gardens and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moorings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.