We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moorings Beach Resort to your Saves list
Moorings Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent 5 days relaxing at The Moorings after a hectic 11 days on the Gold Coast. The two bedroom apartment on the 9th floor was very spacious and clean. The views were magnificent and enjoyed watching the ships going past. The staff on reception very friendly and helpful. Very close to local shops. Great place to stay if looking for somewhere quiet away from the frantic rush further up the coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us at The Moorings Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at The Moorings for a long weekend in Sept 2011. Just lovely again - we stayed in March 2011. We stayed in a high 2 bedroom apartment on level 7 - great view of Golden Beach and the passage to watch the many ships go by. Positives - large eastern balcony, small western one which is good in the morning; well stocked apartment, right on the calm water beach, close to shops and a few cafes. Seagrass bistro nearby at Gemini is good, as Sandys at the moorings may not be open. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing to stay with us again at The Moorings Beach Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once more. We have good news for you in that the cafe/restaurant that is on site will be re-opening this weekend. We look forward to your next visit with us - and once more thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had 3 days at The Moorings. This was our 4th visit to this resort , unfortunately it will probably be our last. Rates have increased and the value for money is just not there. The apartment that we stayed in (705) is dated and in need of some TLC . The cleanliness of the aprtment was not what we have experienced previously and was not up to standard. The door and cupboard runners were lined with dirt. The skirting boards were dusty , the rear of the toliet door was in need of a good wash down. The bed in the main bedroom was very uncomfortable, to the point that we would not have been able to last any more than the 3 days.Both of us ended up with sore hips and backs.

I complained to the management but was basically told that there was nothing wrong with the bed . I am doubtful that my feebdack will be passed on to the ownersof the apartment, so it is unlikely that this problem will be rectified.

The resort managers appear friendly, but are not interested in dealing with the problems and because of this I think that the resort is slowly deteriorating and is the very reason that we will be unlikely to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your last stay with us. We pride ourselves on the amount of return guests we have & are disappointed that your last visit was not to your expectations. Please be assured that complaints about apartments are reported to the individual owners but any decision after that is up to that actual owner and out of our control - we can only advise! I am shocked that you felt the apartment was dirty as we are always complimented on the cleanliness of our apartments - a credit to our house keeping staff! Many apartments have been slowly updating their styles and furnishings and all are up to our 4.5 star AAA rating. We would like to say that our rates have not in increased in over 12 months due to the GEC & the QLD floods. Our whole complex has just undergone a painting refurb, and looking fresh for summer! We hope that you may reconsider and return once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast QLD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great location, spacious apartments, close to food and shops, over all very nice. Next time we will have to make our stay longer. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words in your review of our resort. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

During a long trip to Australia we spent 3 weeks here and can highly recommend staying at the Moorings Beach Resort. The resident managers gave us a very warm welcome and have a great sense of humour.
Our apartment was very spacious, with plenty of light and with good views. The location is also great with no passing traffic to hinder your holiday.
The amenities are all kept spotlessly clean every day, the managers work really hard to please your every need. We would like to thank the managers for their dedication to the industry and hope to be back to see them again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
We thank you for your kind and lovely words. We are so happy that we could help make your stay
a happy one. We appreciate that you noticed the work we do put in and very much look forward
to meeting with you again on your next trip to Caloundra and Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband & I along with a group of Probians from NZ had a wonderful week at The Moorings. From the 8th floor, watching the sun come over the horizon each day was such a treat, I couldnt stop taking photo's of the wonderful cloud formations, the different tides, the ships and tankers steering close towards us on their way to the Brisbane docks, rowers,canoes, fishing boats, birdlife, walkers & runners, so much to watch.
Although our unit had not yet been brought up to modern day standards(ie; flat screen TV, modern outdoor furniture,) as had most of the others, it was very comfortable, clean, and very spacious. Any problems we had with things not working were dealt with promptly by the very friendly Manager. A broken light bulb replaced within minutes of asking.
The grounds were imaculate, every leaf that dared to fall onto the grass was disposed of quickly, the pool area & paths washed down daily by a very diligent manager soon after sunrise.
My only complaint would be that it was hard for me to use the facilities as I have a mobility problem, steps everywhere, the pool extremely difficult to enter as no ladder or steps to walk down,
Also no grab rails in either bathroom for bath or shower, for those with a disability, but I managed OK, I am mentioning it for the sake of wheelchair bound folk.
We will definately be back for longer next time, and have no hesitation to recommend The Moorings to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you so much for all your kind and honest comments. We endeavour to have all our apartments up to date but as our apartments are individually owned sometimes this is out of our hands. We are pleased to say that the majority of units are up to date with all the latest devices that you would require. Thank you also for your comments regarding the grounds and ourselves as managers, we appreciate that you noticed!!! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Beautiful,clean,well kept appartments. Friendly,helpful staff. Great position overlooking ocean. Fantastic holiday. I can definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank your for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again when your next in Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.2 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Beach Resort

Address: 88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Caloundra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moorings Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water front location in peaceful Golden Beach. Self contained apartments, heated pool, kiddies pool, spa, sauna and gym. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Continuous. Immaculate gardens and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Moorings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.