We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still no complementary wi fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Mahogany Drive | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still no complementary wi fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pelican Waters resort for 5 weeks in a single bedroom spa bath suite, (room414). Many good things to say about the resort. View from the room was marvellous, looking out across the pools and first hole of the golf course. The room was quiet with no plumbing noises etc. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. However, the room was in much need of updating, very tired. The bed was comfortable, but small by modern standards. The menu never changes and although the food was quite good, a bit pricey. A big downer is the internet availability which consists of an outdated cable connection in the rooms or wifi in the hotel lobby, both at a silly cost. In this day and age even humble cafés provide free wifi. Annoying if staying any length of time. A lovely venue, much in need of an upgrade, would stay again simply because of location and friendly helpful staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    83
    59
    26
    22
See reviews for
37
116
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just spent 3 nights in a two bedroom 10th floor apartment. Both bedrooms had generous ensuites and the communal areas including main living area and balcony are very spacious. Great views to the glasshouse mountains. Service was on the whole very good. Very relaxing and a very good golf course. It was an excellent couples mid week break with the guys playing golf and the ladies accessing the day spa and other treats. Only suggestion would be better linkage between the golf club and the hotel in terms of selling this as a stay ad play package. Saturday golf was "member Day" so be prepared for a long round. We will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend this as a place to "stay and play".

Room Tip: High floors have the view. I would ask for a view over the golf course but the front of the hotel v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

From the friendly service on the phone, followed up at the service desk by calm, caring, efficient staff. The room was clean stylish and modern. Everything worked as it should. We have a young child and the furniture was safe and secure. She slept well here in the past she didn't find a hotel comfortable, we now have a great place to holiday again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Booked in for a girls golf trip in a connecting room which had no washing machine, dryer had an out of service notice on it, the fridge did not work and the aircon made a lot of noise with very little air output. Complained and got told we could get tokens to use the commercial laundry. On the second day we were moved to a 2bdrm apartment which had great views but the aircon did not work properly and the beds were as hard as the floor . The cooked breakfast in the restaurant was inedible. We had two evening meals as room service and both did not match up to the prices they charged. The golf course was good and would like to play it again but would find alternate accommodation next time. It is a shame because with a bit if care factor this could be a great golf getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here two nights over Easter. Overall the hotel was nice, nothing special but good, the room was a good size, it was in a nice setting overlooking the golf course. Note that there was only one restaurant at the resort and for dinning required driving to nearby towns.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This lovely resort is situated in Pelican Waters and is located right next door to the Pelican Waters Golf Course. When booking a room if you upgrade to a room with a view of the golf course, lake & overlooking the pool this view is very relaxing when you're sitting on the balcony. There is also a luxurious day spa on site to help you relax and loose yourself. Meals are nice in the resort restaurant. When staying you can book and play on the beautifully maintained golf course, where you often see kangaroos in their bushland habitat. There is free car parking on site. We stay often for a lovely weekend getaway and regularly visit the day spa....

Room Tip: it's worth the upgrade to a spa suite overlooking the pool, golf course and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Where do I start. We are from the UK but now live in Oz and therefore have travelled quite a bit. I have to say the two bed apartment at Pelican Waters was one of the best we have stayed in. It was huge, clean, modern and well set out. We were in number 505 and would request it again. It was superb. From check in to check out it was all terrific. The pools were beautiful although very cold but we did manage a swim. The parking under the hotel was also terrific for getting up and down easily to your room.
My husband and I are avid golfers and played the Pelican Waters golf course which I have now decided is my new fav course.
Stay at Pelican Waters you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 38 Mahogany Drive | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa. Take advantage of the complimentary use of the jacuzzi with every treatment (bookings essential.)The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.