We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ULTIQA Shearwater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ULTIQA Shearwater Resort to your Saves list
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
AUD109 (AUD)
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location,right across from the beach with several restaurants nearby. Very friendly staff and spacious room. Great views of the ocean.
The pool is good but rather small.The a/c in our room broke and they had no hesitation in moving us to another room.

Room Tip: As it is only 6 storeys high try to get as high a floor as possible. We had great views on the 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Shearwater Resort offers an outstanding holiday by the beach. I stay in the 3-bedroom penthouse apartment and the uninterrupted views of beach and hinterland are the best of anywhere I have travelled or been around the world. The Shearwater managers make the experience an absolute pleasure and the cleanliness and attention to detail of the whole resort is second-to-none. Do yourself a favour and enjoy the exotic life on the Sunshine Coast at Shearwater Resort and spoil yourself with a relaxing holiday in a stunning environment.

Room Tip: The Penthouse has amazing views with balconies all around. Worth spending a little extra to enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times, always good. Handy to everything.

The only exception is that they allow smoking on balconies. This trip there were a number of smokers styling at pool level within a few metres of the pools making the pool area unusable to non smokers or those with kids of which we are both.

Room Tip: If you like views the higher the better on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the pool level. A glass balustrade separated our balcony from the pool area. It was great for our boys aged 8, 10 & 12. We could sit on our balcony and keep an eye on them in the pool. The only negative for being on this pool level is that other guests are right near your balcony throughout the day when they use the pool. However, the windows were tinted allowing for privacy in our unit. The apartment worked well for us however the air conditioners were not working properly and could not be restarted when they switched themselves off. Being a very hot weekend we had to rely on the ocean breeze. Shearwater is very handy to good restaurants with the beach and play area is just over the road. The reception staff were always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Pool level rooms good if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Perfect location, rooms clean and high floors have the best ocean view. Good value for money and the staff very accommodating. Rooms well appointed. Bed excellent, the sun gets you up early. Within good walking distance to town shops and excellent restaurants below resort. Highly recommend the resort without reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in a Studio apartment on the pool level - very comfy king bed & a balcony overlooking restaurants to beach.
A little noisy on a busy Saturday night, with a wedding & booked-out restaurants directly below - but not unbearable.
We have stayed before on a higher level with no issues & a great view.
Reception staff are friendly & helpful: we'll go back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The main positive about Shearwater would have to be the location. Right across from the beach and playground.
In my opinion it is definately not a 4.5 star resort, more like a 3 star but we were there mainly for our kids so a bed to put your head on is all we needed. I was rather disappointed that as a 2 bedroom apartment the second bedroom didnt have ac only a fan, with the summer heat and also storms brewing it became quite humid and hot, which was a little uncomfortable for the kids. As with most places right on the road it was a little noisy and having the entrance to the rooms right beside each other didnt help.
Did we enjoy our weekend away at Shearwater....yes.
Would i stay there again.......No i would like to try some other places in Caloundra first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.2 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.8 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#1 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Shearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Shearwater Resort

Address: 79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ULTIQA Shearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Shearwater Resort stands proudly in the heart of Kings beach, Caloundra, offering outstanding views across Kings Beach and the wide open blue of the Pacific Ocean. Shearwater Resort is a modern stylishly appointed resort with 6 floors of studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartments, great recreational facilities including a heated swimming pool, spa, children’s wading pool, gymnasium and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your ULTIQA Shearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Resort Caloundra
Shearwater Hotel Caloundra
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ULTIQA Shearwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.