We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No negatives here - stunning !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ULTIQA Shearwater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ULTIQA Shearwater Resort to your Saves list
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
AUD109 (AUD)
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No negatives here - stunning !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I booked the Shearwater resort because it said close to the beach, shops and other amenities. we were travelling in a group of 10 adults for a mix of business and pleasure. We booked 3 double rooms and a 3 brm apartment. We were all very happy with our rooms. although, just a hint to the resort, if you booking in a group, it's good if they all get similar rooms. As in, they should all get a spa :-) Anyway, we were more than happy with the facilities. Very clean and modern. breakfast downstairs in the sun was just a fabulous start to the day. Within easy flat walking distance to the beautiful kings Beach with excellent BBQ facilities. Very clean and easy to use for FREE ! Check in was easy despite the larger group and we were made to feel very welcome for our entire stay. i would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to anyone for business or family holiday.

Room Tip: stay in 41 1&2 with lovely views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at Shearwater over Easter, in a 2 Bedroom Executive Apartment. The apartment was spacious, modern & clean, great for 2 couples as it had 2 separate areas. The views were fantastic, looking directly out at the sea, we also loved seeing the huge ships go by in the shipping lane. The location is great, right in the middle of Kings Beach. Found Management to be helpful & nothing too much trouble. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

A true disappointment. We've stayed here as a family 7 or 8 times over the years. At the start we couldn't fault it. I'm not sure if there's been a change of management or if it's just that all good things must come to an end, but now we will not go back for love or money. We stayed for two weeks over summer and were continually disappointed. We didn't get the room we asked for, the room we got was tired and unclean, management were rude - the list goes on. If you asked a few years ago we would have recommended this place in a heart beat. Now we'll tell you that you should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Lovely clean, modern rooms. Service failed. No supply of fresh towels for a 4 night stay. Restaurants below were not very hospitable. Naked Turtle did accommodate our dinner request at 8.30pm. Others were put out and rude. Best advice book a car and travel down to Bulcock beach.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shearwater09, Manager at ULTIQA Shearwater Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for your review. Our apartments are 'self contained' and are fully serviced weekly, however we are happy to supply fresh towels when requested. We are sorry your experience in the Restaurant was not satisfactory. This is not their usual standard as we have many good reports. Although the restaurants are attached to our building, they are not under our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

If you want to have a great holiday in the best location in Caloundra stay at Shearwater Resort - you won't be disappointed.
Excellent customer service
Clean tidy rooms with air-con, pay TV, Kitchen, internet conn

Excellent pool, spa, sauna
Games room
Beach across the road
Restaurants underneath building
Ample secure parking
Excellent security to building
Resident mangers always contactable and friendly and helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great place to stay, travelled with another family and we both had ground floor 2 bedroom apartments ( its actually a dual key, one bedroom plus a studio room, kids loved it as they had there own TV, fridge, shower toilet etc). Neither family could find anything to complain about these two rooms, both nicely furnished, air conditioned, small kitchen, washing machine and drier and one of the rooms having direct pool access through a glass pool fence leading off their patio.
The location is excellent being across the road from Kings beach and the park area, with a children's little water park and the sea water pool looking directly over Kings beach . There's also a couple of nice restaurants below the resort for meals.
Will definitely return to the Shearwater and beautiful Caloundra.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Recently enjoyed a fabulous weeks holiday at the Shearwater,
Had an apartment on the 3rd floor, great views out to sea & over the park, beach & surf club. Apartment was smallish but perfectly formed & very well equipped with everything we needed & it all worked perfectly. Pool & spa were great & gym looked good though I did no more than look!. Hotel hosted a wedding reception on our last day & we overheard guests say how well run the reception was. The managers could not have been more helpful in ensuring that we had an enjoyable stay.
Restaurants on street level were both good value for good food, in fact Domenicos served great food for dinners.
The setup at King's Beach is fantastic ,for families especially, with the beach, rock pool, park & boardwalk great examples that many nother councils should study. Had stayed at Golden beach a few years ago but King's is a far better setup.
My only gripe is that there is no daylight saving. Even though I am an habitual early riser, 5.15am sunrise is just too much.
Despite the early starts, a great holiday at a great spot. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.2 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.8 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#1 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Shearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Shearwater Resort

Address: 79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ULTIQA Shearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Shearwater Resort stands proudly in the heart of Kings beach, Caloundra, offering outstanding views across Kings Beach and the wide open blue of the Pacific Ocean. Shearwater Resort is a modern stylishly appointed resort with 6 floors of studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartments, great recreational facilities including a heated swimming pool, spa, children’s wading pool, gymnasium and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your ULTIQA Shearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Resort Caloundra
Shearwater Hotel Caloundra
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ULTIQA Shearwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.