We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ULTIQA Shearwater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ULTIQA Shearwater Resort to your Saves list
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Simply the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

If you want to have a great holiday in the best location in Caloundra stay at Shearwater Resort - you won't be disappointed.
Excellent customer service
Clean tidy rooms with air-con, pay TV, Kitchen, internet conn

Excellent pool, spa, sauna
Games room
Beach across the road
Restaurants underneath building
Ample secure parking
Excellent security to building
Resident mangers always contactable and friendly and helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great place to stay, travelled with another family and we both had ground floor 2 bedroom apartments ( its actually a dual key, one bedroom plus a studio room, kids loved it as they had there own TV, fridge, shower toilet etc). Neither family could find anything to complain about these two rooms, both nicely furnished, air conditioned, small kitchen, washing machine and drier and one of the rooms having direct pool access through a glass pool fence leading off their patio.
The location is excellent being across the road from Kings beach and the park area, with a children's little water park and the sea water pool looking directly over Kings beach . There's also a couple of nice restaurants below the resort for meals.
Will definitely return to the Shearwater and beautiful Caloundra.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Recently enjoyed a fabulous weeks holiday at the Shearwater,
Had an apartment on the 3rd floor, great views out to sea & over the park, beach & surf club. Apartment was smallish but perfectly formed & very well equipped with everything we needed & it all worked perfectly. Pool & spa were great & gym looked good though I did no more than look!. Hotel hosted a wedding reception on our last day & we overheard guests say how well run the reception was. The managers could not have been more helpful in ensuring that we had an enjoyable stay.
Restaurants on street level were both good value for good food, in fact Domenicos served great food for dinners.
The setup at King's Beach is fantastic ,for families especially, with the beach, rock pool, park & boardwalk great examples that many nother councils should study. Had stayed at Golden beach a few years ago but King's is a far better setup.
My only gripe is that there is no daylight saving. Even though I am an habitual early riser, 5.15am sunrise is just too much.
Despite the early starts, a great holiday at a great spot. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We decided to stay here as the wedding we were attending was on Kings Beach and the reception in the Resort. However, after 4 days I was ready to move on.
Rooms were very clean and had great views. However, a bit of an effort trying to find other who were also staying at this place. Numbers of rooms didn't correspond with floor. odd!
I thought it was quite expensive considering it was not serviced. We paid the same price in a Hotel in Brisbane and at least got clean towels every day.
Internet was expensive in fact I refused to use it there. Instead went down to the library where it was free.
I wouldn't stay again here, I can't put my finger on it other than I just felt a bit ripped off really.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My family & I would like to thank the Shearwater Resort & staff for a very pleasant 3 day stay at your resort. I would also like to say that I was nearly put off going there by some of the negative reports on this site, but a few friends go there regularly & praised their stay, so we changed our mind & went. We are very glad we took their advice. After staying there I must say that we found not one of the bad reports mentioned on this site true in our case and would highly recommend the Shearwater Resort to everyone. All I've got to say to those critics "Some of us just can't be pleased can they!" Fantastic for the safety of the beach, the pools, playground, rock walking, bungy trampolining and the surf, just so close to your front door, the good thing about that is we didn't have to use the car....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Shearwater for two nights in September, in a one bedroom apartment. The unit was modern but small. The view was great. The only downside is that because of the design of the resort, noise in the corridors travels far. We had our peace and quiet constantly interrupted by a family with small children (who usually shout when speaking) coming and going from a nearby unit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I booked on line and had not stayed there before, I had read a poor review on Trip Advisor so was hoping everything would be fine, it was better than that. The room was ready when we arrived, it was spacious modern and very clean. We were impressed with the standard of amenity with everything you could need for a short or long stay. Nothing was overlooked including milk in the fridge ready for that all needed cuppa after a long journey. The staff were attentive and very friendly. Everything was at your doorstep including restaurants cafe's take away outlets and of course the beach just across the road. We had great sea and beach views from both balconies. under cover security parking was plentiful with easy access. I would highly recommend this property for your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ULTIQA Shearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Shearwater Resort

Address: 79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ULTIQA Shearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Shearwater Resort stands proudly in the heart of Kings beach, Caloundra, offering outstanding views across Kings Beach and the wide open blue of the Pacific Ocean. Shearwater Resort is a modern stylishly appointed resort with 6 floors of studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartments, great recreational facilities including a heated swimming pool, spa, children’s wading pool, gymnasium and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your ULTIQA Shearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Resort Caloundra
Shearwater Hotel Caloundra
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ULTIQA Shearwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.