We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast to your Saves list
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Bulcock Street, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very happy to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I think when people write reviews they need to be more reasonable. I read a few reviews before I stayed at the Grand Pacific and some of them made me worry about what we'd end up with on arrival. Look, we only had a small TV but who is really there to sit and watch TV all day?? Yeah, the towels were a little thin but they still dried us and did the job! Would people seriously write negative reviews with this content? I guess so.

I was more than happy when we got there. We got a good deal from wotif.com, had a 'garden view' room (#114) which was a 2 bedroom apartment. I had noticed a poor review for this room on earlier pages but it has been updated since that review was written - I think if people have any concerns before they go they need to make a phone call to the resort and make further enquiries. I did exactly this and requested a refurbished room if possible as it was a special family weekend away for us. I was told they couldn't guarantee this but they'd make a note of it - the receptionist was lovely and helpful.

Back to our room. The garden view did look out over lovely manicured gardens but also a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean. We were really happy with being on the 9th floor and it wasn't far to anywhere. The aircon was lovely, room was very clean, bed was very comfy! There wasn't any annoying noises coming from anywhere, in fact the rooms surrounding were very quiet. The location of the resort is fantastic, close to shops/restaurants/boardwalk and a wonderful kids play park around the corner. The pool is amazing, great for kids and big enough to get away from the kids if you want a quiet swim. Looks lovely at night when it's lit up blue.

Really enjoyed our stay, would love to stay again and think we probably will :)

Wendy

Room Tip: On booking reception did tell me they can't guarantee a refurbished room, but they did say they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Wendy,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at BreakFree Grand Pacific. Our resort is very family friendly and our Front Office Team are wonderful and have lots of local knowledge to pass onto our guests. You are correct in saying that unit 114 has recently been upgraded as part of our ongoing refurbishment program. The pool does look amazing at night and is the centrepiece of our Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as one of our valued guests.
Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    100
    39
    21
    27
See reviews for
124
71
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Awakeri, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Never received a confirmation of our booking even though it was paid @ 8 weeks before we flew to Australia, had to make international calls and check credit card statement to see if we had somewhere to stay. On day we checked in it had been raining and we were wet, a nice shower would warm us up but alas NO hot water at all. Didn't even get an apology, just a we could travel somewhere else and shower then return to our room. Reasonably priced but no sky/fox tv.............never again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Kevin G,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at BreakFree Grand Pacific Resort. My apologies that you did not receive your email confirmation after making payment and that you were inconvenienced during your stay. Unfortunately we did experience some hot water issues during March due to the driving rain. We were able to rectify the situation in a matter of hours but we totally understand your frustration. All of our apartments have Austar, should you have contacted reception we would have had someone come across to assist with locating these channels. It is a shame that you will not be considering holidaying with us again. We would welcome the chance to have you stay and show that we are able to provide you with a more positive experience.
Kind Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Returned yesterday from a two night stay in unit 17 1st floor resort. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival to be upgraded to a two bed. Even happier when we discovered a spa in the main bedroom!! Didn't need to use the car at all. So centrally located. Spacious balcony overlooking the pool Enjoyed the boardwalk and the vast variety of restaurants nearby. I was very impressed with the security of access only with room card. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Mustangjaynie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are always trying to exceed our guests expectations and it sounds like we have been able to make your stay memorable! Apartment 17 does have gorgeous views overlooking Pumicestone Passage and the spa in the bedroom is a feature that appeals to our many guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future as one of our valued guests.
Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was our second visit to the grand Pacific. I was very disappointed due to our late arrival found that we had been bumped from the room we had booked and paid for. Told on check next morning that the other room was being serviced. A email telling me earlier would have been nice! Also the unit we where placed in had good views but needing a bit of a renovation. The worst was the bed which was a disgrace my trip spoilt because of this as my sleep was totally disturbed. I did tell the receptionist on book in and was told there was no one else and to basically suck it up as the room itself had fantastic views(which was true). I check I mentioned again about the disgraceful bed and she said we should of mentioned earlier when I told her I did she said there must of been a reason for not moving us. Anyway have decided on our next visit to the coast not to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Melinda L,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we are unable to book specific room numbers for our guests as they are not always available (they maybe in use by Owners or out of letting for maintenance purposes). Our friendly reception team are always available to assist with our guests many needs and provide alternatives when available. We would welcome the chance to have you return as one of our valued guests as we are confident that we can provide you with a more enjoyable experience. Please feel free to ask for me directly. Thank you for review and we look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regard
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

For more than $250/night was a quite disappointed - was dirty (sand in laundry tub, sticky floor, dead flies and dirt under sink). 5cm gaps in the block out blinds - sun poured in, in the mornings. Dining table was dangerously wobbly. Towels barely qualified as towels, they were so thin. Always annoying to see a TV outlet with no TV attached. Appliances were old and damaged, spa had tape over it in places. Only redeeming feature was the view and the pool. Once on the verandah was some exhaust fan operating noisily the whole time. Other resorts could directly see into ours. WOuld only go again if necessary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear RW,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We apologise that you found the furnishings and cleaning in this apartment to be substandard. Many of our apartments are in the process of being refurbished. Our friendly reception team would have been happy to help with any problems had they been aware. We would love the opportunity for you to have a more enjoyable stay with us in the future. Please feel free to call the resort directly and speak with me should you wish to book again. We hope to hear from you.
Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thank you for a great stay, weather not brilliant, but accommodation, pool, and surroundings made our trip well worth it. Thank you very much from Logan and his Make a Wish Family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear MartonS,

Thankyou for taking the time to review our resort. I am glad the Family and Logan enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you. Hopefully on your next visit the weather will be nice and warm!
Wishing you all the best.
Kindest Regards,
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed for 8 days in a 3 bedroom Apartment (Number 90), this apartment had pool views from one balcony and views over Caloundra from the other, nicely furnished, air conditioned, big screen tv etc. Plenty of shopping and dining options within easy walking distance, pool area at the hotel was great with BBQ's, plenty of sun lounges etc. Easy 25 minute walk along the boardwalk to Kings Beach if you want waves etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear eastieintassie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at BreakFree Grand Pacific. We are delighted to hear that your 8 days in apartment 90 were enjoyable. I am glad that you mentioned the boardwalk, this is known as “The Coastal Walkway” and you are able to walk from Bulcock Beach all the way around to Moffat beach via this path. It is amazing! We hope that you will return for another stay, and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast

Address: 100 Bulcock Street, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Grand Pacific is just an hour's drive north of Brisbane in Caloundra, the southern gateway to Queensland's Sunshine Coast. Boasting sweeping, uncrowded beaches, unspoiled waterways and friendly locals, Caloundra has a "yet-to-be-discovered" vibe that makes it a rare holiday destination. At BreakFree Grand Pacific you can choose from 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available in garden, water view and roof top styles. The garden apartments have a private patio and garden views while the water view apartments feature a balcony and look out over the ocean and beyond to Pumicestone Passage. Roof top apartments have great views along with a private roof top or courtyard barbeque with a 4 seat outdoor spa bath. All apartments include air conditioning, cable TV, DVD player, balcony or patio, stereo system with CD and a spa bath is featured in most. From a prime waterfront location resort facilities include a heated lagoon pool and 2 spas, gym, games room for the kids, sauna and meeting facilities for up to 130 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast Hotel Caloundra
Breakfree Grand Pacific Caloundra
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast Caloundra, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.