We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Domenico's on Kings

Domenico's on Kings
Shop 4 Shearwater Resort, 79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland QLD 4551, Australia (Formerly Domenico's)
+61 7 5492 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 141 restaurants in Caloundra
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pasta was horrible but pizza was nice. Shouldn't be so hard to make spaghetti and meatballs but it was terrible. Would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Owner at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Skye, thank you for your feedback regarding our Spaghetti & Meatball dish. This is one of our most favourite dishes we sell. Was it the actual pasta, the sauce or the meatballs you did not like ?? The meatballs are made on the premises and is a traditional Italian recipe. The reason we ask, we will follow up in the kitchen to see if any thing was changed in the making of the Sauce & Meatballs on the day you dined with us. Great to hear you liked the pizza. If you would like to contact us directly to discuss you can by email on dine@domenicosrestaurant.com.au.


Regards, Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    37
    23
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fast service, good quality and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friend and I shared a meal between us, no quibbling over asking for two plates etc. delivered quickly and well presented. Cake and coffee to follow also very nice. Good place for brunch on the beach with a view of the surf!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Manager at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and great to hear you had a lovely experience in our restaurant.
Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Family run restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly & attentive. Loved the Dom's pizza ! Suprised by last review as I brought our children & it really seemed comfy as a Family restaurant, even supplied coloring in books & pencil's. Will be back next time in Caloundra.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK to a point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The menu was OK to look at, nothing special. We were welcomed in and helped to a table; we were three adults, two children (7&4) and a 15 month old toddler. Service was polite but not friendly; food was ordered and dealt with so we waited. The food arrived, well some did, one course was late and a second had to be chased up after some time. The quality of the food was OK, but only OK. This place was not suited to families and not very welcoming either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, in regards to your food arriving different times, we do apologise if this caused an inconvenience to you. A possibly reason for this may have happened, as you were dining with children they may have bought out the kids meals earlier than yours, some of our customers do request this at times. We always try to do our best to deliver great service for our customers. As you can see from most of our reviews they are always happy with our food and service. We are a Family run / Owner run restaurant and always try and make our families comfortable, Dom & Therese would feel totally concerned that you felt this way, maybe the staff were a little busy that day/night and not so attentive, we do apologise. Kind regards Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was fine, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to eating here and arrived early for dinner. settled for a three course meal. starter and main were ok, desert very disappointing with icecream served in plastic cup (???) ... Staff constantly looking at us as if to move us on even tho we were there only just over an hour! didn't feel relaxed at all and this wasn't helped by table next to us being so close i could hear their conversation clearly ... not so much cosy as crampt. wouldn't walk past other places to get there again ...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we always take our customer concern's on board. You will be pleased to know that we now have lovely white ramekins to serve with our ice cream, we were in the stage of updating some of our crockery. Our restaurant does get busy at times, especially in the front area as it is directly opposite to the ocean views. There is a back area which has air cond and fans, that may have been more suitable for you and not as cosy. Our locals love this area for that reason. We hope you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenico's on Kings also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Domenico's on Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenico's on Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.