We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good for so many reasons...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domenico's on Kings

Domenico's on Kings
Shop 4 Shearwater Resort, 79 Edmund St | Kings Beach, Caloundra, Queensland QLD 4551, Australia (Formerly Domenico's)
+61 7 5492 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 157 Restaurants in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So good for so many reasons...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We love dining at Dom's. we mostly visit at breakfast because it is awesome value & good food. Coffee is sensational because Dom himself is very passionate about his coffee, which is important. Dinner is always a struggle to choose which of the delicious meals to pick. We've never been disappointed. Dont forget to book to avoid a wait, especially at peak times. Good friendly genuine service which is a rarity on the coast. We love dining at Domenico's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate all the support. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The best thing about this place was the reviews which is why we booked. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. The service was non existent and terrible and it ruined our experience. There seemed to be plenty of staff standing around talking and laughing and not doing their job! The owner seemed only interested in running take away pizzas to the front door and not managing the floor. The food was ok, not special and definitely not authentic. I had to send back my spaghetti due to it being soggy and over cooked, it took 5 minutes to get anyone to look at me to raise it to their attention. They proudly display a best Italian restaurant award for the Sunshine Coast on their wall for everyone to read. If this is the best I hate to think what the others are like. We had to go to the bar to pay our bill because of the lack of service and when asked about our dinner and answering honestly the girl who said she was the daughter from Melbourne said she was here to help them. Good luck girl!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Customer we do apologise for the service you feel you received on the day eating in our Family restaurant. We always try our best to deliver great food and friendly service. We always take into consideration customers feedback, it also helps us rectify any concerns we may have in the restaurant. We have had discussions with the staff and management who were working that night and have showed them this review, including Kitchen in regards to the spaghetti. We did have an extremely busy Xmas and New Year period and maybe the staff were not attentive as they should have been. All our accounts are generally paid at the bar, sorry if this inconvenienced you. We do pride ourselves winning Best Italian Sunshine Coast, we would have not achieved this award unless our customers supported this voting.
Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit and we loved it. Lovely Italian food and great service. Extensive menu with lots to choose from. My only complaint was that there is only one veal dish on the menu. Can't wait to go again and please remember to book as it is a busy restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want to be greeted like an old friend, receive the best coffee in Caloundra - go to Doms at Kings Beach Caloundra. He is a true professional when it comes to service. Nothing is too much trouble for this little man. He may be little, but has a huge heart and is one of a dying breed that gives great service. Try his home made desserts , they are just that be different from the average local coffee shops.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomenicoRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Domenico's on Kings, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate all the support. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have only recently discovered this gem. Food is always tasty and the service is excellent as well as friendly. A genuine family owned and run resteraunt.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenico's on Kings also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Domenico's on Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenico's on Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.