We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfie's Mooo Char and Bar

Alfie's Mooo Char and Bar
Corner of Otranto Ave & The Esplanade Caloundra | Caloundra, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
+61 54928155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 157 Restaurants in Caloundra
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had great fantastic food, great service and a view! What else could you want! Will go back when we can afford as it is a nicer more expensive resturant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    52
    20
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Made An early booking and was thrilled to be given the best seat in the house in the corner with views. Entree of oysters were tasty, but ribs lacked flavour and were overly rich. Steak was tough, you would expect a better cut. But the cocktails were amazing. The prices were as you would find in Brisbane but the quality does not compare. Perhaps we ordered the wrong thing. Meals came quickly which was good as we had a show to go to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food fresh and lovely but service and ambience needs improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Was not happy with our experience of dining at this restaurant from moment we arrived at restaurant were greeted by uninterested waiter who could not find our booking and was more interested in the other couple who arrived when at the same time we did. Was not given the special of the days - had to go to the bar for drinks to be refilled as same waiter more interested in talking to fellow worker than serving us - this waiter then took our order and my husband order of rump steak came out as op steak. The food was good but for the price expected better dining experience. The restaurant was not booked solidly but all couples were cramped In the same section - corner when we all could have been spread throughout restaurant - given privacy and better dining experience - overall whilst I enjoyed the food would not recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience - could get better value elsewhere - get rid of this sloppy waiter and spread your clients throughout the restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inedible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to Mooo Char for the first time. I am the type of person who will eat anything, even if its average i will usually finish my plate. I ordered the chefs special ... sandcrab lasagne with roasted capsicum and feta salad. The result was more like vegeterian left over slop lasagne with one or two sheets of pasta as thin as paper, layered with egg plant, zucchini, capsicum a tin of diced tomatoes and some crab meat, not one piece of feta or anything that resembled a salad. It was slop and gross, i had a few mouthfuls and could not eat anymore. My partner was amazed and said in four years she had never seen me not finish a meal but unfortunately this was the case at Mooo Char tonight. The service was good but funnily enough nobody asked if we enjoyed our meal or not, probably because it looked like slop. For the two of us it cost us over $100 for a bread, two main meals and a couple of wines. We would have been better off going to the local club or pub or even baked beans of toast would have been better. We will not be back there ever again thats for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Met some friends at Alfie's for lunch.
This was not our first visit but the experience has been the same each time.
Great food accompanied by friendly and attentive service.
The view is great and really compliments the experience.
Price is very reasonable for the quality of food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfie's Mooo Char and Bar also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Alfie's Mooo Char and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfie's Mooo Char and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.