We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great caloundra restaruant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amici Cafe

Amici Cafe
2/80 Aspect Knox Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
07 5491 9511
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Amici Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 142 Restaurants in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In life, we all need friends to love, laugh and eat with. Amici is the Italian translation of friends. So whether you’re after the full dine in experience with the amazing service, delicious food and relaxed atmosphere or feel like staying in with our take away or home delivery, Amici wants to be a part of all your memories, like friends should be. The simplest things in life are the best and that’s why we keep our food that way. Made fresh from the freshest local ingredients available, each and every dish is made with love and passion to give you a dish that’s full of flavour and worth remembering. The heart of Amici lies in the young hands of owners Sarah and Jason. Both work together as the perfect combination, Sarah leads her friendly team out the front to provide you with a full table service experience while Jason and his team in the kitchen work on making the simple yet delicious modern Italian food to complete your experience.Facing onto Knox Avenue on the side of the luxury apartments, Aspect Caloundra, Amici is a casual neighborhood gathering spot where you’re immediately embraced by the restaurant’s warm, contemporary ambiance and friendly vibe. The Aroma from the kitchen promises fresh, modern Italian cuisine. We offer an extensive dinner menu along with a thoughtful wine list and drinks selection. Amici will cater to all your dining needs.So next time your around stop in and say hi and try our delicious Pizza, Pasta or one of our mouth-watering mains for yourself. Or, if you live or are staying in Caloundra, Kings Beach, Dicky Beach, Moffat Beach, Shelly Beach, Golden Beach, Aroona, Battery Hill, Caloundra West, Currimundi, Little Mountain, Meridan Plains or Pelican Waters we’ll happily deliver your meal right to your door.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great caloundra restaruant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Had last minute cravings for Italian. While busy ( Sunday night), they accommodated our group of 5 with no booking. Friendly efficient service and the food was great. Shrimp linguini was top quality. Caloundra needs more like this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiciCafeCaloundra, Manager at Amici Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you and so glad you enjoyed your dining experience! The prawn linguini is definitely a favorite and we look forward to having you in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    68
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service and great pizzas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ordered 2 large takeaway pizzas mid week via the online service. It was very easy to order and confirmation was almost immediate. The pizzas are considerable more expensive than your main stream options but are huge and well worth the treat.

A short 20min late the pizzas were ready for pick up. The staff were really friendly and attentive and the restaurant busy for mid week.

The large pizzas are huge and there was a very generous amount of topping on all of them. The base was crispy but still fluffy - amazing. In summary they
were absolutely delicious - huge but amazing and worth every cent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiciCafeCaloundra, Manager at Amici Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hooray! Thanks for leaving a review for our online ordering! So easy and convenient and I'm so glad you enjoyed the pizzas. Hope we can have you back again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I liked that there was a separate side bar entry to collect takeaway so you do not need to go into restaurant. Staff very happy and helpful. Food nice and fresh although garlic bread and pizza would have been better and hotter had we dined in. Bottle shop next door and staff there helpful as well. Would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamuran, Australia
1 review
“Top notch for food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Being a bit of an Italian food tragic, thought we'd try the Amici Cafe during a weekend in Caloundra. Have recently returned from a few weeks in Italy and undertaken two Italian cooking courses (one in Firenze)
Amici was a great choice for a Saturday night dinner. Reserved for 8:00 pm, was seated by 8:05. Iced water with lemon was brought immediately and without asking and was regularly topped up during the night. We started with grilled baby octopus for 1 (shared) and it was not only perfectly cooked and presented with rocket and a subtle but tasty sauce, but enough for two as a starter. The wine with this was a Cab/shiraz/merlot (my pick)..probably a little heavy for the octopus, but we perservered and it turned out ok. Mains were Risotto alla zucca and a fried vegie stack, this time with a straight Shiraz. Both were fantastic, delivered at just the right time after ordering and to be honest, was probably the best Risotto I've ever had. Had to go for the dessert and I had the vanilla pannacotta and my wife, the cookies and cream cheesecake. Again, both terrific and the timing was perfect. Probably one of the best restaurant meals we've had for just on $90. Will certainly be going back and recommending to friends (or maybe keeping it secret) The chef did a great job and was superbly backed up by efficient and attentive staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiciCafeCaloundra, Manager at Amici Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the excellent feedback! So glad to hear you had a great night and you enjoyed the food and service. Love that you gave a wine pairing tip as well! The shiraz is delicious and next time if you're up to try a white wine, I would definitely recommend our chardonnay with the lemon chilli coconut octopus since the red blend wasn't quiet as complimentary. I'm a stickler for reds myself, but the chardonnay is pretty good with the octopus. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you back at Amici soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS EVERYONE SAYS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Last night I went with my family to this restaurant. I booked this based on trip advisor rating and we were not disappointed. Food was lovely, nice and hot when it arrived at our table and as this was a cold night this was important to us. Staff very attentive. Definitely book in advance as I am guessing it would be hard to get in on a weekend without booking in advance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Cafe also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Amici Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.