We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, delicious pizzas and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
No 1 Rhumba Hotel | Leeding Street, Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 147 Restaurants in Caloundra
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: This restaurant is not on Trip Advisor but is located beneath the Rhumba Resort in Caloundra. Can you pls set it up as a restaurant in its own right so I can write a review. Thanks, Kitty
Main Beach, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great spot, delicious pizzas and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived around 7:30pm on Friday night with no booking and there was two small tables outside which looked better than inside. The friendly owner moved the tables to suit us and seated us quickly. The pizzas that turned out to be way better than we were expecting. Thin crust authentic pizzas are a must in our books so it hit the spot perfectly. Our very discerning teenagers gave it the 'thumbs up' and we certainly enjoyed the meal. Almost everything was OK until we left and while we paid the bill, the owner continued to talk to other diners and ignore me while I paid the bill at the cash register - not good form. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasteless & Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We took visiting relatives here for a Sunday brunch and it was very disappointing. The main issues we had were :
The noise - Inside the restaurant it was hard to carry on a conversation with the acoustics and the coffee machine being used right behind us.
The tasteless food - We all ordered different breakfasts and it not one part of it was "homemade" or tasty. The hash browns/baked beans/muffins etc looked like they were purchased from Cole's... Which is disappointing when you are paying $18.00 for eggs and bacon.
The cold coffee - sums it up really.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We came back because we love this cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We first discovered this wonderful cafe in June 2010. Now that we were back at Caloundra we had another visit to La Dolce Vita high on the agenda. And how wonderful it was the same!! The same lovely food (for me that is carrot cake that is just right and a very generous portion) but more than that, the wonderful staff and service. It's really a place where you are made to feel welcome. Whenever we are in Caloundra we will visit again.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A wonderful addition to Caloundra's cafe scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

La Dolce Vita is situated in the Rhumba apartment block straight across the road from Bulcock Beach. Tables outside offer a great view or else you can sit inside in a very modern decor.
The food here is delicious - anything from gourmet sandwiches (popular at lunch) to full blown Italian. The coffee is also one of the best available in Caloundra.
For those who are familar with Brisbane's La Dolce Vita at Park Rd Milton this is owned by part of the same family.
I've been a regular for the past year and it never fails to satisfy.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.