We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beachfront location in a relaxed town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerulean Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cerulean Apartments to your Saves list
Cerulean Apartments
30 Esplanade Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent beachfront location in a relaxed town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Cerulean Apartments for a week in July (Australian winter) in a second floor unit.
Welcome was friendly and helpful without ever being instrusive. We felt comfortable throughout.
The unit was fully stocked with all expected amenities which were in good order.
Unfortunately, it was too breezy to fully enjoy sitting out on the balcony, the large glass windows in the lounge negated this as an issue. The view really is spectatular.
The fixtures n the lounge were immaculate, although slightly dated in the bathrooms.
As a family with young children, this was a great choice at a very reasonable price.
Caloundra is centrally located for all Sunshine Coast, hinterland & Australia Zoo attractions. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickicaloundra, Manager at Cerulean Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us we make it one of our priorities that are guests are comfortable and relaxed. It's a pity you are not here today the day is amazing and yes you could sit and enjoy a drink on the balcony. We are very fortunate on days that aren't as nice as you said you can still enjoy the fantastic view from inside of the apartment. We are currently encouraging our owners to replace tap ware in the bathrooms as they are still very modern with a large spa bath . Thank you for your honest review. Hope to see you again. Peter & Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Cerulean apartments exceeded our expectations and we plan to return there. Having holidayed at many nice places in Caloundra and further north over the years, including two much newer and more expensive places very close by, I have to say that our recent week long stay in a fourth floor two bedroom apartment fronting the Bulcock Beach esplanade was wonderful. Managers, Peter and Vicki, were always helpful but not intrusive and every morning during our stay we rose to find the local newspaper at the front door of the apartment. OK, the complex did not have a gym, or pool heated enough for us Queenslanders to swim in during our typical mild winter weather, but the apartment did have a spa bath and was clean, spacious and well appointed in every sense, with stunning close up views of the northern end of Bribie Island, the Pumicestone Passage and the Glasshouse mountains, access to a great choice of cafes and eateries within a few minutes walk and one of the best coastal boardwalks we know directly across the road. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Apartments on the south western side get the afternoon winter sun and best views to the Glasshouse m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickicaloundra, Manager at Cerulean Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It is so nice to receive such positive response. Peter & myself take pride in Cerulean and try and ensure our wonderful guests have a relaxing stay. Our pool is heated to 28 degrees but I agree with the pool comment. I find that Queenslander's that live north are a little shy swimming in Winter. Our pool does get used in Winter but I find the people that do use it are usually from out West of Queensland, interstate or overseas. Please come back in our Summer months to enjoy our pool and once again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We don't know where to start - all the previous reviews bar one basically say it all - we highly agree with them. We have been holidaying on the coast nearly our entire lives and have to admit this is one of the best places we have stayed. We have been back year after year. Other reviews have failed to mention the fishing on the pier within view from the balcony. The kids have a ball - one day we will snag that big one! For those more energetic (we ride bicycles), the walking/bike riding tracks are great. You could nearly ride the entire coast if you liked. There are canoes/boats available for hire only 5 minutes drive away which we also enjoy doing. Having the surf lifesavers patrolling the beach opposite is a great bonus also. There is nothing else left to say but to make sure everyone leaves some weeks free for us to enjoy!

Room Tip: All views are fantastic no matter which level or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Excellent Customer Service, by Vicki the On-Site manager, Her attitude, politeness & understanding of a situation we were in with a totally different resort booking, ( NOT involving them), was fabulous. Vicki went out of her way in placing the four of us in a fabulous 3bedroom 2 bathroom apartment their that had everyone raving. All the mod cons, great views of Palmerston Passage, coffee shops & restaurants right beside. Lovely huge wide balcony & sea breezes. Amazed at all the extras in kitchen for cooking. Great place to stay! Highly recommended by all four of us fifty somethings! Thanks.

Room Tip: Always get a room with a large balcony & sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Queensland Beautiful one day Fantastic the next and to book into these beach front apartments was just heaven. Walking distance to verywhere we didnt even need a vehicle. Restaurant precinct next door and the main street quaint shooping area one block away, it was a real viaage atmosphere and really one you should expereince. Warm and helpful describes th weather and the people of this seaside village and we loved it . The manages were welcoming and very professional with nothing any trouble. The pool was warm and heated and just in a beautful nook for the sunshine . The pub was great with cold beers and views of the beach. I suggest go there and see for your self Soon.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroon apartments at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deception Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

In January this year my wife, son and I stayed once again at the Cerulean Apartments in Caloundra, the first time was in 2009. The apartments are very tastefully set out, they all have views that stretch from the ocean on the left to the Glass House Mountains on the right. The apartments are all self contained, but with all the restuarants around it is very tempting to eat out for ALL meals!
Vicki and Peter, the managers, are one of the nicest, friendliest and open couples we have ever come across in all of our travels both in Australia and overseas. We will continue to go back to Cerulean in the future.
Eric & Heather
PS. For someone to complain about lack of service in SELF CONTAINED APARTMENTS needs to dig deeper into their pockets and go and stay in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Just returned from Caloundra and have read a review on Cerulean written some time ago - not too sure what that was about. The review complained of lack of service! Vicki & Peter who manage Cerulean are the best managers of holiday apartments I have ever come across. They run a lovely block of apartments across from the beach, around the corner from every type of restaurant you could ever want with wonderful views of the ocean and glass top mountains. The apartment was fitted with everything you could possibly want / require and was spotless. Nothing dated about the apartment we stayed in.

It is an apartment block and not a hotel - maybe that was the probem with the earlier review. Why would you need to have someone there 24/7 (during which I think you would find these managers are available).

The pool area is very relaxing if the beach isn't your thing - or you just want to sit around and relax!

Should you really require any information/assistance, both Peter and Vicki were extremely helpful and happy to ensure your stay and holiday was well run. I noticed them dealing with various ages and all people were happy and comfortable. Some of the people staying go back regularly- that in itself is a high recommendation.

I will definitely be going back there and will most definitely be recommending to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerulean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerulean Apartments

Address: 30 Esplanade Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerulean Holiday Apartments on the Esplande at Bulcock Beach Caloundra. One, two & three bedroom fully self contained apartments all with full size kitchens with dishwashers, hot plates, ovens and microwaves. Flat screen LCD TVs in lounge, CD players, stereos. All 2 & 3 bedroom apartments have two bathrooms with spa baths. All have water views. Opposite patrolled Bulcock Beach. Next door to Restaurants, shops and cafes. Our two and three bedroom apartments have great balconies to take in our wonderful views whilst our two bedroom Roof top apartments do not have balconies instead they have internal steps leading up to your own private rooftop which has its own bbq, sun lounges, spa bath and outdoor setting. All our two bedroom apartments have secured parking and lift access. Our three bedroom apartments which is a separate building in the same complex has stair access only along with secured parking. Enjoy our heated pool. On site Mangers to ensure you have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cerulean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerulean Apartments Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerulean Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.