We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolks on Moffat Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Norfolks on Moffat Beach to your Saves list
Norfolks on Moffat Beach
32 Queen of Colonies Parade | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Annual visit now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Again enjoyed a great family holiday at a norfolks. Selected a 2nd floor room this time which we found convenient as straight out to street level behind & only 1 set of steps to the pool. View was great even on 2nd floor & nice to have just that little bit of privacy too. Room 12 was very modern with 1 large bathroom which was great for our family & daybed that had me zzzzz most days. Complex grounds including pool & BBQ's are kept in impeccable condition & a credit to the management. Had a smelly rug in our lounge room that we rolled up & left on balcony during our visit & let management know on way out so they could look into & no towels in room on arrival which they quickly responded too also so thank you. So many convenient takeaway food options we enjoyed every day/night just across the road & plenty to do without leaving moffats. Although I would recommend heading 5 mins down the road to currumundi lake if you have time for the afternoon, such a magic spot. See you again next year Norfolks.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here in November unit 11 which has recently been refurbished. Great big balconies, beach views. It was great having the park and space for the kids to run about on. If you had older kids you would be able to watch them from the balcony. Excellent pizza and burger shop across the road! Our only grumble was the bed in the master bedroom was hard as a rock. Otherwise satisfactory in every other way and the management were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The complex looks lovely, pool is excellent and our 2 bedroom unit was huge. Mostly modern furnishings but bathrooms are quite dated. Our kids loved the pool and the playground across the road. It was lovely to sit on the balcony overlooking the beach and park. We were disappointed there was no air con in the living areas - managers told us to leave the balcony doors open to get the breeze, but that didn't help in the humidity and there was no fly screens and nothing to stop our 2 children getting out on the balcony which was a bit of a safety concern. Lots of signs about break-ins on the coast, but quite lax security around the complex - Security doors left open, no deadbolts on the apartment doors, our 3 year old was able to open the apartment door and let himself out, and our key opened another apartment when my husband accidentally went to the wrong room. Only 1 lift in complex and it's very very slow and you can't use it to get to the pool level! Staircase down to the pool is VERY STEEP and not ideal for young kids or elderly. We got sore backs from the very soft mattresses and hard pillows. Sheets and towels were very old - 1 towel was fraying and bed sheets were either very thin or felt like hospital sheets. Beach opposite is a dog off-leash beach so not ideal for young kids if they're not used to dogs.
So while the complex and location were lovely, we experienced enough negatives with the room and security that we wouldn't return. For the cost, we have stayed at much nicer units. Not sure what makes it a 4 star property, but I don't think the bathrooms, beds or manchester were 4 star quality.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am very sorry that you won't be coming back to stay but I would still like to address a few of your concerns. I noticed you stayed in one of the few units that have not had their bathrooms renovated. Most of our units have had complete renovations, with beautiful kitchens and bathrooms. You mention not being able to get to the pool via the lift. There is a walkway from the ground floor around to the front of the building and pool on the eastern side of the complex. I'm sorry that you didn't notice this as you need never have used the stairs if you did not wish to. A lot of families with children of the age you mentioned choose to stay in one of our nine ground floor apartments. This, of course, means there are no concerns about the balconies. We have only been managing the resort for 2 months and are presently in the process of replacing all the older linen that we "inherited" from the previous managers. I notice that the week you stayed was a week of extreme temperatures and I would like to say that the normal summer heat is more than offset by the lovely sea breezes that we enjoy year round. The vast majority of our guests find that the air conditioning in the bedrooms is all that is required. We are not permitted to have dead bolts on any of our doors due to fire and safety regulations. The doors are, in fact, as secure as we can make them. Hopefully, this helps clarify some of the issues you experienced during your stay. I am glad to hear about the many aspects of the resort and location that you and your family enjoyed. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope we get the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 nights at Norfolks and it has been one of the BEST times ever, for us. On arrival, we learnt that our on-line booking had not happened, but the manager had been trying to contact me (I had phoned to confirm things in the morning), so she was not completely surprised. Fortunately we were able to secure an apartment on the third floor, and it was spotless, comfortable, and all of the equipment that we needed to use worked. Parking IS a bit tight, but that is a minor quibble - it is secure, as are the apartments.
I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing and refreshing break. The coffee shops are excellent, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us.

Yes, unfortunately sometimes booking through "other accommodation websites" can lead to a less than desirable outcome. We always recommend booking directly with us (either via phone or our website) for the most prompt and accurate service.

It was fantastic to read you enjoyed the resort and had a relaxing time. We hope to see you again next time you feel the need to unwind. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a great family holiday at this location and cannot speak highly enough about the quality of the facilities and accommodation. The spacious 3 bedroom apartment had the latest equipment and was most comfortable in all respects. The top quality swimming pool provided hours of entertainment for our grandchildren. We would recommend the Norfolks as an ideal location to any discerning visitor and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you Noreen for taking the time to give us your positive feedback. We look forward to having you visit with us again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently booked (October 2013) with wotif.com.au, approximately 5 weeks out from our scheduled stay at Norfolks on Moffat Beach.
We requested Room No 12 as we had read reviews about the bed being very comfy. I never received confirmation of my preference so assumed that all was good. Upon arrival we were told that this Room was not available and wotif.com.au do not pass on guest comments.
We were plonked in a side Room on the 1st floor of the resort which did not have the expansive, open views of the other rooms. I spoke to the managers and they were not able to change our room due to bookings.
This was not a last minute booking, the booking was made 5 weeks in advance. It was really disappointing not to get our room of choice and then to be stuck in one of the narrow rooms on the side of the building. The managers advised us next time to make the booking directly with them and then they could accommodate our request as opposed to booking directly with wotif.
The other gripe I had with our stay is that every single pillow in our room was like a brick. For 2 nights I suffered miserably and by the 3rd night had gone and purchased pillows.
The beds are very budget and hard.
Feedback to owners: invest in decent pillows and comfy mattresses. The standard of bedding was comparable with what I would expect from a cheap budget motel.
Unfortunately, I did not find the Managers warm and friendly and this was also noted by guests that came to visit.
Dryer did not work and Cable TV had minimum channels.
Location is great. Price high for what we experienced. Would not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay at the Norfolks on Moffat Beach. As of the 1st of November the resort is under new management and we hope we get the opportunity to extent to you the warm and friendly service you should expect. The units are all individually owned and, therefore, the bedding can differ. We will certainly pass on your comments to the appropriate owner as the comfort of our guests is of the highest priority for the new management team. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This really is one of the best positions at Moffat Beach. The rooms are good, some are a little dated. We had a great stay except for the rude attitude you receive from the on-site managers. I booked a 2 BR room only to be informed that they were under the impression that there was only 2 of us and they decided to lock the 2nd BR even though we paid for a 2BR. Then she complained that we did not pay the bill {I was under the impression it was paid for in full prior to arriving} I was informed that the bill had not been paid and we should have seen her when we checked in. After waiting at reception for 20mins I was then informed that the bill had in fact been paid. I was then verbally abused by the gentlemen running the complex for accidentally leaving a suit in the wardrobe. Seriously, if you hate dealing with the general public and you cannot do your job with a smile and a good attitude, I would not be in charge of a unit complex.
We had a great weekend overall that was somewhat spoilt by the rude arrogant attitude of the on-site managers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
As of the 1st of November 2013, the Norfolks on Moffat Beach is under new management. I do apologies on behalf of the out-going managers. We too believe Norfolks is one of the best holiday destinations on the Sunshine Coast and we do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. You can expect warm and friendly service from the new management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
2.6 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#2 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Dicky Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolks on Moffat Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolks on Moffat Beach

Address: 32 Queen of Colonies Parade | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Norfolks on Moffat Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolks On Moffat Beach Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolks on Moffat Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.