We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Views Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Views Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Views Resort
115 Bulcock Street, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 days last month , didn't know the anything about it, just booked it on the net.
Stayed on the 4th floor. Room was excellent , quite spacious and very comfortable. Big balcony , great view out to the ocean. Kitchen was large and well appointed , we self catered so this was a bonus compared to other places in this price range.

Location was also another surprise , right on the main street means that there are many dining options within a short walk to the hotel. Stacked Pancake cafe adjacent and a restaurant in the complex .

Easy access to the farmers and craft markets in the main street as well , on a Sunday .

We enjoyed it so much we have booked another stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an ocean view room as not all rooms face the ocean. Floor 4 and above place yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
72
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in a 4th floor motel room and the quality and price was excellent and our room had a balcony which overlooked the pool. It is in a great location being a block back from Bulcock Beach within easy walking distance to everything and plenty of secure carparks. Our friends had a studio unit on the 3rd floor which was well appointed but were a little disappointed that they only had glimpses of the ocean because of surrounding buildings. The rooms were spotlessly clean with modern and relatively new furniture and our rooms had a really comfy beds. The entrance to the building and carpark was off a quiet side street so access was easy.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an ocean view - you will need to ask at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights on the sixth floor. The room had great views of the ocean and the balcony space was huge.
Everything was very clean, very neat and very comfortable, with great ducted air conditioning and good TV.

There is safe parking, a sauna, a pool and a spa. We stayed during school holidays and there seemed to be very few children around

On the opposite corner on Bulcock St we ate at a great Indian place. There's also fish and chips just down the road and the ocean is only a short walk away.

My only concern was the smell when we first walked in. It was coming up from the drain in the floor of the bathroom, which is a common problem in buildings like this, I ran the tap in the bath for a minute and the smell was gone. But it wasn't pleasant.
Otherwise, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the OVR for 3 nights when we went to the caloundra music festival,we were on the 5th floor which gave us great views of the ocean...the room was very neat & the bed was comfortable...being on the Main Street was great as we were walking distance to shops,restaurants & the Sunday markets,although a little bit further away from the festival on kings beach it was a nice walk along the boardwalk overlooking the ocean or the shuttle bus stop was not far up the road...the staff were very friendly & helpful...we would definitely stay at the OVR next time we are on the Sunshine Coast...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the motel units recently. We arrived after an all night flight and a couple of hours of driving and it was still only 9 in the morning. We explained to the lady on reception we realised we couldn't get into our room but were wondering if we could park. We were given a parking space and she promised to ring us as soon as the room was ready. We went for a walk and had a lovely breakfast at a place suggested by the lady on reception and were just finishing breakfast when we received a call to say our room was ready. We were impressed by the level of service. The room was good and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is well located. However the staff is their biggest asset. We were given so much information about Caloundra. For example when the markets where on, beach walks and places to eat.

Room Tip: The higher rooms on the front of the hotel are most likely to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend recently, the motel style room was new looking and comfortable. There was a small fridge in the room with tea and coffee making facilities. We had distant ocean views, over the top of some buildings. There was an enclosed balcony you could sit out on. The bed was really comfortable, quite firm, which we like.

The bathroom looked fine but was lacking in some areas. The glass shower screen was too narrow so water went all over the floor. The bathroom lighting was also quite dim. One thing we found a bit irritating was a fan which made a fair bit of noise and we couldn't switch off. It didn't prevent us sleeping but was still a bit annoying.

There was a pool and spa which we didn't use but looked nice. Underground secure parking on 3 levels.

The management and receptionist were helpful and friendly, both via email booking and in person. There are lots of places to eat and shop within a few minutes walk, in the main streets and also along the seafront. We would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: A room on the upper levels should have better views of the sea, though the building is not directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend in August, as we had a voucher from spreets for a 1 bed apartment. Nice views from balcony on 4th floor. Everything was clean and tidy, it had fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in the room, and a lovely rooftop BBQ area with a fantastic view! Central location, walk to brekky and dinner, and close to main roads to explore the area! My only complaint with the room would be the pillows being too firm and the bed too soft, but that's down to personal preference and didn't really impact.my stay at all!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Views Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Views Resort

Address: 115 Bulcock Street, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Views Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Views Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Views Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.