We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Waterfront Dining

Tides Waterfront Dining
Esplanade, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
07 5438 2304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 141 Restaurants in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Lovely meal and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely meal - tapas entre to share, confit Duck, Eye Fillet Steak, Apple and Blueberry Crumble, and an Affogato coffee. The wine selection was excellent too. Overall, a nice relaxed meal, served by friendly, attentive staff in a lovely setting. We'll be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    39
    23
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went here with a party of 4 last week. We went for lunch so had a nice table with a great view as it wasn't too busy.

The service was great, we had oysters for entree to share between three of us which were amazing and some of the biggest oysters I have ever seen! For mains we had prawns, moreton bag bugs and pork. Everything was great except one of the ladies eating the prawns didn't like the squid ink pasta - though I can understand and appreciate this as it was a reasonably strong taste. The servings were quite decent, so don't be fooled into thinking that because its a fancy restaurant you will be given bite size meals - this is very far from the truth!

There really is very little to fault at this restaurant and I think it is very worthy of its recently awarded chefs hat. The ONLY complaint I have is that we weren't told the specials.... this was disappointing as we saw them when we were leaving and they sounded great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a perfect night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is this is a must if you are staying in Caloundra. We were advised by a friend to go there and we weren't disappointed. We asked for a specific thing and although they couldn't quite do it went out of their way to still deliver.....amazing staff. The food is beautiful and worth every cent. We asked for an edge seat on the balcony and had the most romantic table.....just what we needed! Thank you Tides and staff.....you made our night......only thing we forgot a photo the view was amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Dinner on a Saturday night. Had a table overlooking the beach. Service was good and food exceptional Managed entree and main but too full for dessert. Spanner crab and duck for entree followed by pork belly and fish of the day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had tapas, steaks and pork belly. All were lovely. Def the best restaurant in this area. Service was really good. Never wanting for your water glass to be filled or your order taken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Waterfront Dining also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Tides Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Waterfront Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.