We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wait for it to be over!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco to your Saves list
Monaco
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait for it to be over!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

There were fleas or midges in the bedroom which leave nasty bites.
Due to position and design the rooms get very hot in the afternoons.
Neighboring hotels were cleaning for two whole days and the noise was overwhelming.
Cleaners block the lifts forcing us to walk to the other side of the building.
The spa was not heated.
The TV had issues and the remote batteries were dead.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonacoMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Monaco, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear User847,

Thank you for your feedback. I wish to apologise that your experience was not as expected. Here at Monaco we always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations.
Our neighbouring hotel was having the outside of their building washed down, this work was done during working hours only and unfortunately we have no control over the actions taken by our neighbours.
Monaco has 3 lifts and they are located at each end of the building for guest’s convenience, I apologise that perhaps a lift you were waiting for was being utilised by housekeepers but they also need access to the rooms to clean. There are instructions for the televisions in the compendium located on the coffee table and our housekeepers check all remotes are working upon cleaning every unit, however if the batteries went flat during your stay a quick call to reception would have had this rectified immediately. Our outdoor spa is heated to a safe level of 31.5 degrees and our pool at 28 degrees so can be enjoyed all year round.
This is the first report we have received with regards to fleas or midges. The building is less than 12 months old and is routinely pest controlled. It is strictly forbidden for animals to enter the building so I suspect you were bitten by flying insects.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
150
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

When we first booked Monaco for six nights, we thought that would be more than sufficient. But how time flies when you're having fun indeed. It's a great place to base yourself for exploring the Sunshine Coast, and at an incredibly reasonable price too. The one-bedroom apartment was perfect for us, clean, comfortable and with a well-equipped kitchen, we could put our little girl to bed and have some time to ourselves at night. The views from the apartment and balcony are spectacular! If I had to find fault, I'd say the pool wasn't quite warm enough for comfortable swimming. But hey, that's nitpicking.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The experience was relaxing with excellent pool and close to the beach. The service was great with all facilities clean. The rooms were spacious and quite. The manager and staff were friendly and offerred every assistance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

6 of us stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor over the Caloundra Music Festival weekend. Our group regularly goes for weekends away at sunshine/ gold and tweed coasts and this place was definitely our favourite so far (despite the terrible weather for the whole music festival). We have previously paid the same, or more elsewhere on the coast for places of a much lower standard. The unit was huge, with every facility you could ever need in a room and a great view of the passage, plus the BBQ area was great and the pool was heated. The staff were super friendly, especially given it was such a busy weekend for them. There was dedicated parking for 2 cars, which is more than we have had elsewhere, but if you have more than 2 it could be an issue, as the on street parking outside is metered (although there are 2 unmetered spots if you're lucky). The only downside was that the long-term cleaning could have been better, as there was a fair bit of dust in some areas. This was a minor detail though, as we all agreed we will be going back to Caloundra over xmas when the weather is better and staying at the Monaco again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Staying at the Monaco was really great because the apartment was new, fresh and in the perfect location. We could walk to the beach, shops and there was a coffee cafe right below the apartment block. Had a lovey time. Would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We had a great stay at the Monaco. The rooms were great - very modern and clean. The pool area and games room were fun (pool was warm - even in winter). Very quiet and in a great location. Only 20 minutes to Australia Zoo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Monaco is in a prime position in Caloundra.

Almost every room has gorgeous views of Caloundra, Glass House Mountains and the Bribie Passage. Waking up to this stunning view is amazing.

The rooms are spacious and luxurious and is easy to make yourself at home.

Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco

Address: 12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monaco Apartments are located in the cultural heart of Caloundra with breath taking views over the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, shipping lanes and beyond. Ultra modern and chic apartments offering the latest in luxury accommodation, you will never want to leave Magnificent Monaco! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Caloundra
Monaco Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.