We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco to your Saves list
Monaco
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double The Fun Promo!
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“WOW Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was an awesome location, beautiful accommodation very clean felt as good as home, had comfy bed, our 1 bedroom apt had a spa bath the only thing I could complain about was the water pressure in the shower it wa terrible took forever to rinse otherwise an amazing place even had a flash fridge with water cooler and ice maker which went down well with hubby when making his Bundy and Coke! Would recommend this place to anyone who is fastidious cause you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Our apt was 708 close to lifts had head on view of Pumicestone Passage fantastic balcony with comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    52
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
178
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just back from 3 wonderful nights at the Monaco. We stayed in room 703 (7th floor) and were blown away firstly by the views from the large balcony, then there were the appointments in the apartment - 2 air conditioners, stone benchtops, quality appliances, separate bedroom with direct access to the balcony, dual flat screen TV's. All in all we felt spoilt!
The personal car parking spaces was also a bonus, no driving round on your return looking for a spot to park. The 2 lifts were efficient and quick, the security also was 1st class with swipe cards to get you to your room and other areas of the building.
Location was really a hit for us - 50 metres to Sunday's markets, 100 metres to our favourite fish and chip shop, and about 150 metres to the boardwalk where you can stroll along for ages.
This was our 3rd time to Caloundra and our 1st at Monaco, we will return here on our next visit!
ps. you might wonder about my 4 stars for 'Sleep Quality' - it was just I found the bed a little too hard for me, harder than I am used to...so on night 3 I had an extra glass or two of red on our balcony...slept like a baby!

Room Tip: Level 3 and above should give you great oCEAN VIEWS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked a single bedroom for a weekend away. Ocean view was terrific, and the apartment was very well fitted-out...very new and clean. Unfortunately, maintenance seems lacking (bathroom sink wouldnt drain (full of grey guck under the plug that I wasnt cleaning out!), and the front door had been kicked in, leaving the lock loose and the door hastely repaired using screws). The bedroom pillows were HORRIBLE, so bring your own. I ended up using the sofa throw cushions. Unfortunately, the room also did not have a bath tub...lacking some of the romantic charm. Overall, a good one-bedroom apartment for a get-away, but certainly not one to live in.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for ocean view....rooms below about the 4th floor and below would see the hotel next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

An annual weekend getaway for 6 ladies was made even better this year when we chose one of the penthouses. Obviously one of the smarter moves we've made. The apartment was spacious, clean, well appointed and the view was fantastic. Top marks, though, go to the friendly staff who go that extra mile to help. For anyone with a group, don't automatically think that you can't afford the penthouse. It only cost us $122 each for 6 people for 2 nights. Lash out, you won't be disappointed. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have fabulous views of Bribie Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in a 5th floor apartment recently after reading the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The views were still lovely from the 5th floor and the apartments themselves are modernly furnished and well appointed. Reception staff were very friendly, and the location is perfect - Close to everything! I really liked that they sealed the spa to say it had been hygienically cleaned, and while there were some areas that could have been more thoroughly cleaned, it wasn't bad. Secure, appointed parking is great and our kids enjoyed the pool (although it is shaded in the afternoon meaning it got a tad cool). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Monaco or stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked a two bedroom sea view apartment for 4 nights here after reading the good reviews on this site, and we were still blown away! We got a beautiful corner apartment on the 9th floor with fantastic views to the ocean, Bulcock Beach, Bribie Island, Pumicestone Passage and into the hinterland with views to the Glasshouse mountains in the distance. We loved the clean, spacious, modern, well appointed apartment and pool, sauna, games room and gym facilities. You can enjoy al fresco meals on the balcony with the fantastic view, or use the BBQ area near the pool or you can try one of the many quality restaurants or fast food outlets a short walk away. We had a great meal at Mooo Char & Bar and can recommend the fish and chips shop around the corner on the boardwalk side.
The check in was friendly and easy and there was never a need to contact reception again as you get two sets of keys that allow you electronic access to the secure parking area in the basement of the building and to the entrances, lifts, and pool area facitlities.
Monaco is two mintues walk if that from the closest beach and central shopping area of Caloundra where the Sunday morning market is held. Also an easy 20 minute drive to Australia Zoo

Room Tip: Get a sea view apartment if you can, its definitely worth the few extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a one bedder on the 5th floor - ocean view.
We found the place just fabulous! Very modern, open, clean, spacious, and the large balcony was perfect to relax on, rain or shine!

Pool and sauna were great, though i agree with some other reviews it may be a tad small in peak time. The BBQ area near the pool was large and clean, and we were glad to see people making use of the BBQs, as well as us.

The location is perfect. So close to everything, we didnt use the car once!


Overall, a VERY enjoyable stay, and we will be back. Have already recommended Monaco to others.

Room Tip: Above the 4th or 5th floor to get the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.0 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#1 of 50 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco

Address: 12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monaco Apartments are located in the cultural heart of Caloundra with breath taking views over the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, shipping lanes and beyond. Ultra modern and chic apartments offering the latest in luxury accommodation, you will never want to leave Magnificent Monaco! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Caloundra
Monaco Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.