We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rumba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Rumba Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was supposed to be a beach getaway of luxury but was far from luxury. Pool bar closed, pool closed & room was not even cleaned fully each day. Great coffee machine but only provided 2 capsules for 3 night stay in 2 bedroom apartment.
No bathroom essentials were replaced and had to ask reception for more towels. What a shame as we paid a top dollar and expected a top hotel but was far from a 5 star accommodation.

The staff were very scarce and didn't seem like they were there to help. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. I’ve followed up on your comments and can only apologise that your stay was less than perfect. Our cold pool was closed for repair work and the pool bar was closed during your stay. We sincerely try and do our best for all guests and would like to offer you a half price stay on your next off-peak visit. Please ask to speak to Bill. Once again, sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    95
    33
    3
    4
See reviews for
161
130
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a 2nd stay again at Rumba and had a lovely time, we stayed for 3 nights, but could've stayed for a whole week.
Great location, lovely beach across the rd and a beautiful boardwalk to Kings beach.
Rooms are tidy and very modern, we stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view
Will not stay anywhere else when we come up to Caloundra, pools are great and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for another great review, and team and I really appreciate it. We are getting more and more guests coming back a second time and it's great to see. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom ocean view. Great location, clean and tidy and really modern. Awesome fixtures and has a nespresso coffe machine too! There is an awesome little restaurant down the road too, I can't remember it's name, but it also does a fish and chip takeaway that they say is the best on the Sunny Coast... The cafe/restaurant is delish! Only downside to the resort is for its 5 star status, it doesn't have cable tv. I would say it is more 4.5 star, but still great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Many thanks for your great comments. We are lucky with the quality of the restaurants we have on site, especially being on the beach. At Rumba, we try to deliver the best home theatre possible. This includes movies on demand (over 100 titles), digital TV and Austar Cable TV. There are 6 cable channels available by pressing the TV button a second time on the universal remote. Due to the number of inputs (DVD, radio, USB, etc) there wasn’t room for Cable to have its own button and so it can be hard to discover. We will now be looking for new ways to make this clearer for future guests, so thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is not too bad but was sold as a five star resort and it is definitely only three stars.
overall its ok but the noise from the street is terrible at 6.00am every morning when the rubbish trucks come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Rumba Resort. We are very proud of our official 5 star rating but we acknowledge the noise from some apartments during morning council rubbish collection. Our Ocean Apartments don't experience any noise from traffic or rubbish trucks, we hope this helps and would love to see you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for the weekend and had a great time. The apartment was spotlessly clean with great amenities. Right on the river with great views and close enough to everything that we didn't need to move the car once we got there. Just a great place to relax and unwind. Had a tiny bit of trouble getting our entry card to work sometimes but it always worked in the end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for such a rave review. It’s really appreciated. I know what you mean about the proximity cards. They can be fiddley. What happened to good old fashion keys ...I say!! Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Requested ocean views and received same. 5 star quality apartment. Modern ans state Of art applicances. Would have een nice to have more austar channels. Maybe be good idea to have option of room service or delivery of food from local restaurants. Friendly staff. Late checkout for free! Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback, especially regarding room service deliveries. We were actually discussing this in a staff meeting this morning. We were also talking about introducing in room breakfast hampers. We already have the espresso coffee machines, so this might be a good extension to that service. We will also consider your comments about the number of Austar channels too, so thank you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Rumba for our second stay and had a fantastic time. The apartments are huge and have everything we need. Our unit had a spa bath and large balcony with a great view of the river mouth. It was busy and we were expecting a lot of noise but it was surprisingly quiet and we had a great stay. The staff were great and the unit very clean - everyone did a brilliant job. Speacial thanks to Bob Buckland and his team. These guys run a great resort!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for giving us a great review. I've passed your comments through to Bob. It's really appreciated when memebers of our team get a personal mention. We look forward to seeing you a third time. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 amd 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.