We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant on every single level! Already rebooked for next January.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rumba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Rumba Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Balmain, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant on every single level! Already rebooked for next January.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have just finished a stay at Rhumba and there is not a single level on which the resort did not just deliver but exceed our expectations. We could not have had a better time and in fact extended our stay by a few days and have already booked for next year. The staff were not just helpful but incredibly friendly and warm. We had iffy weather for the first few days - but the heated pool was a great option for a swim in the rain, and once the sun came out, the kids lived in the big pool. The resort is amazing for families, but because of the layout, the parents can have a relaxing time while keeping an eye on the children. There are loads of cafe's and restaurants right at your doorstep. The rooms themselves are beautiful with a big open plan living, dining and kitchen, incredibly comfy beds and huge bathrooms. Cannot recommend Rhumba more highly.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the tower at the back, some of the rooms don't have views, so ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    74
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
121
105
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

When booking a week away for the family, I was tossing up between another resort and this one. Looking back we are so glad we chose Rumba. Firstly, we booked the two-bedroom spa suite resort. We rang up a week prior to confirm the reservation. The very helpful receptionist on the phone upgraded us to the two-bedroom ocean view room. A better room for a lower price. She even chucked in a free bottle of champagne!

On the morning of arrival, they contacted us saying we could check in two hours earlier. We were also quickly and promptly checked in and directed to our rooms. The only complaint I have is the vaguely signed car park which can be confusing. The lifts were very handy and almost private.

Although a bit smaller than usual, the rooms were very enjoyable. The amenities in the room were very impressive such as the spa, balcony, coffee machine and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and hard to get out of in the morning!

One of the highlights of the resort was the two pools and jacuzzi. There was also plenty of room to sit by the pool and relax. Main beaches such as Bulcock and Kings were not far away. I would also recommend hiring the bikes from Reception and going for a ride along the beach.

To conclude, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Rumba Resort, would stay again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Recommend selecting a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Not enough can be said about Rumba. The thing that stands out is the service from "The Rumba Team" to make your stay the very best. Nothing is too much trouble, and the rooms are top quality and definitely worth the money. Lee, who is the Guest Relations Manager, needs to be commended for her commitment to the role she plays. As far as rooms go, 10 out of 10 from me for location of rooms, cleanliness, King Size beds you never want to get out of, air con, in house movies, state of the art surround sound...the list goes on. Service, 10 out of 10, ask and if it is possible, you will receive it. Facilities, you couldn't ask for more. Lap pool, swimming pool, spa and jacuzzi..ALL where you can see where the kids are at all times. Rumba gets a 5 star rating from me and ticks all the boxes for an excellent stay. Makes me want to go back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at Rumba Beach Resort for a week over New Years and enjoyed my overall Rumba experience. The 2 bedroom ocean apartment was very modern and the mood lighting was a great feature. The pillow menu was great and the beds were super comfortable! I did find the kitchen to be a little small, the pantry (see photo) was also used as a storage cupboard so there was very limited space to store food. The room received a daily 'light service,' this was the most disappointing housekeeping service I have ever received at a hotel!! The housekeepers only made the beds and emptied bins... No towels replaced, no toiletries restocked, no tea and coffee restocked... Nothing! When you’re staying at a 5 star resort for a week you shouldn’t have to go out and buy toilet paper and other necessities that housekeeping do not restock! The daily 'light service' was also done very late in the afternoon some days, its peak season and the resort should have more staff working so all rooms can be serviced by 12noon not 4pm!! The whole resort complex is still very new and fresh and the pools were great! The Jacuzzi was really warm and had relaxing music playing, a nice touch!! The pool bar had restricted opening hours for the holidays which was a shame because with all the holiday guests they could have been really busy! The resort was in a great location, close to beaches, shops, restaurants ect. It would be great if there was a shower at the beach access gate; lots of people walk through with sandy feet!! Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Rumba, easily a 4.5 star resort; I don’t know about 5 starts though!!

Room Tip: request a high floor, less noise from pool and restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

stayed her for a week nice room except we were looking straight at a wall definitely not a 5 star place. Their are some many better places around at a better price then rumba.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subiaco
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed in a three bedroom ocean front apartment at Rumba, very comfortable beds and modern interiors and fittings. Fully equipped kitchen enabled easy preparation of an early Christmas dinner for 6. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Book ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Hi All,

I managed to stay at the Rumba Resort recently and all I can say is 'magnficent'.

Upon arrival to the Rumba Resort, welcomed with a smile and quickly processed and in we went.

Parking was a dream. And what I mean by this was it was not pokey and hard to move around in. Very spacious. You don’t get allocated a park however never went without on Basement 2 or 3.

We used a Scoopon voucher however upgraded for an extra $80 to a 2 bedroom. The rooms are very spacious and modern with press light switches throughout the room. No bad smalls etc. All very new modern equipment and just trendy aswell. We had a room facing the pool that was good and you could see the ocean from the room also. Not full ocean views however partial. There are rooms there with full ocean views though for a higher price. Bedroom comes with 2 bathrooms and a nice big spa bath. Huge TV and TV in main bedroom and good sized kitchen to make your own food. All air conditioned. Overall, a great hotel room and size and big. You wont be dissapointed in my opinion.

The whole complex is just new and is buzzing. The pool has a cocktail bar right beside it and you can drink cocktails in the pool. They were yummo!!!

The negatives - if you are staying in a pool side room and don’t like kids (I am not one of those people for the record) it could irritate you. Especially if you are anti kids and there are those sort of people out there lol. If you are a gym junkie there is no gym in the complex. They do advise to go to Jetts or something for $20.00. I say bugger the gym and just go for a walk on the many boardwalks around the area.

A few small tips:

- Definitely eat at the Sandbar Café and Kiosk. Had dinner there and was the best steak I have ever had and breakfast was yummo and well priced. Dinner was well priced too:

- Cabs are a nightmare to catch around Caloundra. If you are going to the RSL or Dicky Beach Surf Life Saving club, you expect to wait around 10 - 40 minutes early in the night. Leaving the RSL is a nightmare and expect to wait an hour. However there is courtesy buses that leave the RSL on the hour, every hour and expect around 40 minutes to get home, depending where you live. Adults with kids get priority treatment over adults with no kids, as mentioned from the courtesy bus drivers.

- Markets are great on Sunday on the main street named Bullcock street. A great variety and you get some people that have stalls from Eumundi markets also coming to such market place. Didn’t get to the Twilight markets which are on a Friday night. (bugger).

- Whilst there is a main beach only 50 metres from the room which is patrolled by life guards, try Wurtulla Beach which is only 10 minute drive north. Big long beautiful beach and heaps of room. The beach out the front of the hotel can become a big crowded at times.

- You aint far from Mooloolaba and Maroochydore etc. Go for a bit of a travel around.

That is about it but go for it, if staying in Caloundra, stay here, you will love it, based on what I experienced.

On ya - Benno

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Wow, what a detailed and glowing report! Thank you for taking the time to review Rumba Resort. We read all the reviews and get a real kick when someone goes to the trouble that you have and is so complimentary. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 amd 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.