We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterview Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterview Resort to your Saves list
Waterview Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   14 The Esplanade | Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Location really couldn't be better. Right next to the beach, but slightly elevated to give you a great view over the water. Just down the road from the main street though as well, so you'll really never have to jump in the car, except for day trips.

The owners were extremely helpful as well, recommending some great restaurants and locations, and were always only too happy to go out of their way to help.

We were there for a couple of weeks, but we could have stayed months. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms I believe face the sea, but I guess try to get up as high as possible. Even so, we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Waterview. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday at the Waterview and hope you'll visit us again when you are next in Australia. Your assumption is correct, all apartments do face the water, hence our name "the Waterview".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just spent 4 very enjoyable weeks at Waterview Resort, this has been our 6th consecutive year and have plans to return in 2013.The Resort is on the Esplanade, marvellous views of Pumicestone Passage and one never tires of watching the large boats coming and going.We had many long walks between the Beaches, no shortage of Coffee Shops!! Amenities
are all within walking distance, Bus Depot 5 Mins. away, no need for a car but should require one
Rental is readily available. The Resort is pristine in cleanliness and is a credit to Sue & Howard
the friendly Managers, we wish them well. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As regular visitors to Waterview we love the ocean, passage and Glass House mountain views.
The Happy Valley Park opposite is great for families and its great to sit on the balcony and watch all the people, the kite surfers and the ships rolling by.
Kings beach is ten minutes walk and the calm water at Bulcock Beach is also great for kids and also only ten minutes walk.
The units are well furnished and appointed and make one feel at home.
The unit Managers Howard and Sue are friendly and always helpful. The elevator is great for the elderly who have difficulty with stairs.
The board walks are great for ones daily exercise and there is no shortage of quality restaurants within ten to fifteen minutes walk.
Its location and features are hard to beat.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the Knox Avenue side get great views of the sunset and the Glass House Mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Appreciate the review and love the photos, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Have just spent a wonderfully relaxing ten days at Waterview. Throw away your car keys as everything is within easy walking distance. Rooms are beautifully appointed and apartments are maintained to the highest standard. Hosts are welcoming and friendly and I look forward to our next stay ... maybe in one of the luxurious penthouses.
Thanks Howard and Sue.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 12 but 16 (penthouse) is next on my list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay - compliments such as yours make all our hard work worth it. Hope to see you back again in beautiful Caloundra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant manager walk to shops restaurants we stayed 2 nights but that was all we could do at this time. Great views from apartment 6 plenty of room for 2 of us. Hot water heater small Kitchen fully equipped plenty of everything would return

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I have not found a better place to completely relax than the Waterview Resort. Inside your apartment you almost feel as though you are on the beach as it is so close to the waterfront. But if you feel that you must go for a walk or a swim, then it is only a short stroll. In fact , shops and restaurants are also only a short stroll away, so this is about as central as you can get, but still enough distance away to experience the peaceful environment which you need when you are on holidays. It is a delight to sit on the balconies listening to the waves and watching the passing boats, throw in the spectacular sunsets you can see over the Glasshouse mountains and you wont need to watch the telly at all. Cant recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: all rooms have excellent views and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and took my parents, in the penthouse #16 but should have booked a full week. All I can say is FANTASTIC!
The penthouse takes up half the floor and has a master bedroom with ensuite and a 2nd br with 2 single beds. The kitchen has everything you need including plenty of dishes, cups and cooking utensils.
There is a small sitting room with a fold out couch bed and sliding doors if you need to turn it into a 3rd bedroom for one person. The living space is excellent with an open dining and sitting area and there is plenty of room.
The balcony overlooks 180 degree, stunning views of the ocean, Bribie island and the passage. It is also shaped to create 2 adjoining balcony sitting areas, with a table and chairs in each and a large sliding door in each which creates a nice flow though breeze throughout the rooms. There is an air conditioner but we didn't need to use it and there are ceiling fans in the bedrooms and a small balcon and sliding door in the master bedroom.
The stairs lead up to a rooftop garden area with a BBQ, picnic table and sun chairs.
Howard and his wife who manage the resort could not have been any more helpful if they tried.
The location is directly across the road from the beach park and easy walking access to the main shopping street, restaurants and beaches.
If we returned I would consider booking the penthouse even if there were only the two of us, it was that good.
The interior was quite good with the exception of a few decent cracks in the plaster work above the stairs which were obviously settling cracks and could do with some attention, however once you see the view... the cracks will be of no consequence.
I would absolutely come back here next time we visit Australia.

Room Tip: Penthouse #16 is awesome if you can afford the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hferrier, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Many thanks for your input and review Jorton. You are right, the cracks are a settling issue which has been monitored by an engineer for the last 12 months and is due to be rectified in May. Since your stay we have installed new lounge and dining suites and new carpet and a repaint are on the agenda in the next 2-3 months. We'd love to see you back here when you can make it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview Resort

Address: 14 The Esplanade | Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterview Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your balcony and breathe in the view from Moreton Island to the Glass House Mountains. Walk 50m to the white sands of Bulcock Beach or 80m to the main street for restaurants, shopping and cinema. Our spacious apartments are fully self-contained and feature 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, free cable TV, DVD/VCR, air conditioning & secure undercover parking. The 2 penthouses feature spa baths and a rooftop terrace. Heated pool & BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterview Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.