We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Resort on Golden Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sails Resort on Golden Beach to your Saves list
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK SAILS DIRECT & SAVE
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Sails Resort a month ago with friends. We bought a discount voucher and our 3 bedroom unit cost us just over $130 per couple for three nights - excellent value! The resort is an great position - walking distance to everywhere and with wonderful unobstructed views of the ocean. The balcony was a good size and it was lovely to sit out there and watch everything going on, people on the beach, walking, huge container ships passing by and the birdlife was amazing. We were on the second floor and had a huge tree near our balcony which was full of heaps of varieties of birds. The unit itself was older but in good condition and spotlessly clean. Our only gripe was that we couldn't use the aircon in the rooms as it was incredibly noisy - sounded like a tractor! The resort itself is very well maintained and the pool area is lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thankyou for your great review. We are looking forward to seeing you again. We will investigate why the AC was noisy, it definitely should not have been. Regards, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A group of us (3 mature couples) spent 2 nights at Sails Resort in a 3brm ensuited apartment. The company was fabulous, the apartment was lovely - well apointed and with very comfortable beds - and the view was superb. The on-site manager was courteous and helpful without being intrusive. A small shopping centre with a large supermarket is close by. I will say that for people who like to surf or swim, or just sunbathe at the beach, or for those who enjoy nightlife, there are better spots to stay in the Caloundra region. However it suited our purposes beautifully and we had a fantastic weekend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thankyou for the positive review. Not everyone wants the surf and party atmosphere. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this report for nearly 2 weeks - it was a great find for us and we couldnt have asked for more. Lovely clean modern apartments overlooking the bay. Close to the beach, shops, restaurants - all a lovely short walk along the coastal path.
Cannot speak highly enough of the managers of the complex (Paul & Mary-Anne) nothing was too much trouble and you made it a memorable trip down-under for us.
Thank you & hope to be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to submit a review. We enjoyed having you and your family here. Good luck with your emigration plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice view... Nowhere near a beach..... Do not stay with 5 people fold out bed was a 1970 3 cm thick mattress. Oven did not work. Dial the manager did not work. Spa is not warm part of the pool. Too cold for my children. Proximity to shops great..
View is marred by old style security screens. Feels more like a retirement place than a resort. It was nice but not worth the high ratings... Owners seem nice but not overly helpful ... There is quite a walk from car to room.. When I asked was there a quicker way as we had a lot of stuff...was told no... We later found front door much quicker and a trolley.we lost a set of keys .. Spent ages trying to find.... Asked had any been found... Was told no by the wife but husband had found the day before... So we kept looking... Sigh...
Rooms were of a good standard... Couch very comfy... Had to drive quite a way nd park to get to any decent beach...
Overall good ... Certainly not great....wish someone else had written about the lack of beech...views and photos are misleading. People looking for a quiet holiday with coastal walk and relax... This would suit.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I am sorry that you did not find Sails Resort to your liking. Our location, proximity to the beach and building age are things we have no control over. The two bedroom apartment you booked is designed to sleep 4, not 5 and our foldout beds are not promoted as suitable for anyone other than a small child. Any maintenance issues we will address when notified of them, preferably before checkout. Considering the condition in which you left the apartment we would prefer not to have you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at this resort for a few nights while our son had a sporting event in town. Great location, short walk to shops, nice walking tracks along water. The unit was large with a nice balcony. Overall we enjoyed our stay and thanks to the manager for giving us a late checkout, it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, General Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this lovely resort in Caloundra. We have been staying in Golden Beach for many years and loved the fact that it was so close to everything, beach, shops, transport, all in easy walking distance. The apartment we stayed in was extremely well equipped and comfortable, the on site managers were also very helpful, even offering a late check out which was greatly appreciated. The only gripe was the traffic noise from the road in the back bedrooms.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool and looking up to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thankyou for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just got back from 5 nights at Sails after a last minute decision to go away for Easter with myself, hubby and 2 small children. We picked Sails because of all the great reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's in a great location, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough that it only takes a few minutes into town and to Bulcock cafes and restaurants. The rooms were very clean with fairly modern furnishings and all the essentials required for a self catering stay. The view is beautiful and there is a grassed area for the kids to play along the waterfront. Management were very friendly and took the time to stop and chat. This is our 4th Caloundra holiday and our favourite place so far. We will be back for sure.
We stayed in room 15.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks Shelley for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
1.0 mi away
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
WorldMark Golden Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#7 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort on Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort on Golden Beach

Address: 3 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails Resort on Golden Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort is a family friendly absolute waterfront property. All 2 and 3 bedroom self catering apartments have ocean views. Linen is supplied. We have a heated pool, BBQ area, secure parking and lifts. All apartments and common areas are wheelchair accessible. We are only 200m to supermarkets and 500m to Caloundra CBD and restaurants. You can fish, sail, swim, kayak, windsurf or launch your boat from the adjacent Leach Park boat ramp. Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Aussie World, Ettamogah Pub, and countless places to visit are all within an easy drive. Sails Resort has free Wi-Fi,on-site management and a tour desk. Airport Transfers are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sails Resort on Golden Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails Resort On Golden Beach Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Resort on Golden Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.