We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for school holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gemini Resort to your Saves list
Gemini Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for school holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at Gemini Resort and I chose to stay there because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed our stay and will return for another trip in the summer school holidays. Reception was welcoming and very helpful. The apartment was bigger than I thought it would be. The décor was a little dated but it was comfortable and clean and had everything we required. The views were great, we were on the 4th floor of the South Tower and we enjoyed the sunrise over the water.

I like the fact that you can walk out of the resort and onto Golden Beach or scooter off down the waterfront pathways without having to go on the road. It's great for kids, mine certainly loved the pool and the slide. It is a very easy relaxed resort and Caloundra is very family friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room away from the road, choose the North Tower. South Tower apartments over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Sam, Thank you so much for your review on Gemini Resort. We are delighted and honored that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apartments have plenty of room for the whole family and everyone gets treated to an ocean view. Thank you for your comment on reception, we do our best to make you feel right at home. Our location is superb for families and couples alike. It's fantastic having the beach right outside the door with no road to cross. Thank you again for writing your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    48
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
114
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was year 19 for us in August at the Gemini Resort.
Why do we keep coming back, because of the large very comfortable well priced and well appointed apartments. You can choose which type of apartment that suits your needs if they are available. Caloundra is a bit more laid back and is not a fast pace like other places on the Sun Shine Coast which suit us. There is plenty for families to do and see, with safe Beaches and a Pool at the resort to die for at the Resort and has so much to offer. As I have said in my other reviews there are several places to visit not to far away from the Gemini with in a one hour travel. This time we had 23 fantastic rain free days with some of the best sunrises we have seen. We had sun from sunrise on the large balcony till about 12-30 to sit in and watch all the fantastic views over the Pumice Passage towards Caloundra City, out to the shipping lanes where you will see large cargo ships going passed all the time both ways. The weather was perfect, warm by day and cooler at night. We are now looking forward to our visit in 2014. Please read my other reviews to find out more. Thanks again to the Gemini Team for another wonderful stay. Murray C

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you Murray C for your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed staying in the apartment and took advantage of the amazing views. That is correct our pool is heated all year round making it a great activity for anyone. We also offer a games room, tennis court, private spa and sauna and computers in reception. Thank you again for your review and the team here at Gemini resort look forward to welcoming you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Firstly the light bulbs were flickering. We arrived after check in time and collected our key from the safe so nobody was at reception to fix this.
We had dinner and showered. There was about 2 minutes worth of hot water.
The second night when going to bed we pulled the pillows up and then realised the sheets were blood stained. Not from us!!! It was around 11pm so again we could not call reception as this is after hours.
We also had another 2 minute hot shower before it then went to cold water.
There was an old tea bag on the balcony that had been there for some time so obviously the cleaners do not even go on the balcony.
I accidentally left my jacket there. Even after all these terrible things the resort did not call to say they had it. I called and they said they would let me know if the cleaner had it.
I then had a text to say come and get it from reception. Not even a phone call.
Obviously if I was anywhere near Caloundra I would have done so. I then rang back and asked if they could send to me.
They said yes but I would have to pay the postage. So blood on the sheets, no hot water, dirty balcony and flickering lights and I still have to pay post to get my jacket back.
Terrible service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jess G, Thank you for taking the time to write your first review, how sad that it was so negative 1: When you first check in, if you notice anything that is not perfect in the room, our staff are only too happy to attend immediately and sort out the problem, in this case we would have been up and replaced the flickering light bulb straight away. After you left and complained about the flickering light, our maintenance staff immediately went up to fix the problem, but strangely enough they could not find a flickering light. As you stayed more than 1 night, you could have let us know either by ringing the emergency number or coming to reception any time during the day which was open 9am-5pm. If you do not let us know, we cannot assist you. 2: Each apartment has its own water cylinder, I personally live in an apartment here at Gemini Resort with the same size water cylinder and I can easily have a 10 minute shower which is piping hot! So I cannot imagine why yours only lasted for 2 minutes. Again had you let us know we could have had someone have a look. 3: As for the teabag, it was obviously overlooked by the cleaner, our most sincere apologies. 4: The blood on the sheets, Again we would have changed them instantly for you, day or night, but we cannot change something we do not know about. We have reported this incident to our linen company and have been assured that it will not happen again. As for posting the jacket, which had not at the time you rang been found, we immediately went around and searched for it, the room was in the process of being cleaned, the jacket was on the cleaning trolley ready to be handed in. We then, free of charge, packaged your jacket for you and went over to the post office, again free of charge in our own time and merely requested that you paid for the postage on delivery. We get at least 15 items per day left at this resort, unfortunately we cannot personally finance free postage of all the forgotten items, but we do have the courtesy of packaging them and taking them to the post office for everyone! Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is our 3rd stay in 4 years. Couldn't get our usual apartment (56) but stayed in the one below (48). Was good although there could be a bigger hot water service - couldn't even fill the spa enough to use it and couldn't shower at the same time of day or wash dishes after kids bath. Glad the pool was warmer as kids and us got to take advantage a lot more. I like the new restaurant too. Pool needs repair though - son cut his foot on the bit near the slide. Very affordable family holiday am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: South tower has a better view in my opinion. Anywhere above about 5th floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear rach_the_vego, Thank you very much for your review on Gemini Resort. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your family holiday and that you would come back again. It makes all the difference swimming in a heated pool during the winter. If all the hot water taps (bath, shower, dishwasher, washingmachine etc) are being used at the same time in the apartment, like in any home, the hot water cylinder will not last for very long before it must heat up again. Our pool is a great favorite with families, the bottom of the slide is being repaired as piece of the pebble-dash has come off the bottom. Thank you again for taking the time to write your first review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

There have been a few reviews that have criticised the condition of the units. Our apartment could've used a lick of paint. But it was clean, and the view was absolutely sensational. It was large, comfy and yes, if we go back to Caloundra we'd stay there.

The kitchen was functional and the laundry was OK. Although the filter in the dryer needed work. The units are secure as is the parking. You can fish if you wish basically on the front doorstep. Reception is friendly and will recommend and organise outings. The beds were comfy and that is important.

Gemini is adjacent to a small shopping area with a small supermarket, restaurants (of wildly varying quality) and within an easy 20-30 minute walk if you want to donate funds to major retailers. The walk is flat and really worth it. Trust me on this. I am old and fat and did it in a doddle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. We stayed on the 8th floor, south tower. If it costs a little more, it is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Serene_Traveller, It is fantastic to get a review from a 'Senior Contributor'! Thank you for taking the time to write one on Gemini Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We are so privileged to offer such beautiful views. The apartments here at Gemini Resort are constantly being renovated and refurnished. Repainting is one of the never ending jobs to do here at Gemini. Our doorstep proximity to Golden beach, as you pointed out, makes it very safe and convenient holiday resort. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Caloundra. Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been coming to Gemini Resort for many years and it is still our number one choice for a relaxing family vacation! We love the spacious family-friendly units, proximity to the beach, shops, parks, and the huge heated pool and water slide, making it the perfect getaway even in mid-winter. The path that stretches along the beachfront is perfect for an early morning walk and our kids spend hours riding bikes / scooters back and forth. One of our favourite things to do is visit the pelicans at Military Jetty or hire a kayak and paddle across to the Northern tip of Bribie Island. The units are well equipped with their own laundry facilities, large kitchens - love watching the sun set over the Glasshouse Mountains while cooking dinner! With shops located just across the street everything is in walking distance and we often don't use the car all week! We do as much or as little as we please...

Room Tip: As a young family with 3 children we love Unit 75 with bunk beds for the kids! On the 9th Floor the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lindy-loo73, Thank you so much for writing a review on Gemini Resort. Your photos are beautiful and really give an idea of the view from the balcony. It's fantastic to hear that you love coming back to Gemini Resort again and again. We are so privileged to offer families the peace of mind that there are no roads to cross between us and the beach as well as the added bonus of a water slide and heated pool. Thank you again for your review it is greatly appreciated. Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been to Gemini resort 4 years in a row, Totally loved staying there until this year. First bad impression was the kitchen I walked in there and almost fell over because the floor was so oily. The person who makes the bed really need to learn how to make it properly for a resort. We always leave the apartment Very neat and tidy And always leave it how we like to find a unit when we clean. However this year I did not go to such extremes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Yvonne C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pained to hear that the floor was slippery, you are very welcome in future to come to reception and request it to be re-moped. The slippery floors are caused when the cleaners occasionally have added too much cleaning solution to the floor, which can make it a bit slippery on the tiles, however when this was happening we immediately addressed the problem. We will look into the making of the beds as well. Thank you for all the years you have chosen to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Address: 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gemini Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gemini Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.