We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gemini Resort to your Saves list
Gemini Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The best family holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been bringing my family to Gemini for over 20 years. We just love this place. Great size family units. Awesome pool complex. Magnificent views. I seriously want to buy a family unit here. Whether I do or not, I will keep coming back to this piece of paradise. So many happy family holiday memories here...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello Don B, Your review has brightened our day! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. The apartments here are very spacious as you say, which is great for families. It is a fantastic place to have as a holiday home. Family holidays are our specialty. Very good to hear you enjoy the pool and the ocean views. Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort! - Hannah (front desk reception)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    52
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
123
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bilambil Heights, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked the Gemini from reviews from friends and was happy with our stay. The worst part of our stay was the rain, and that’s not anyone’s fault but it did rain 4 out of 5 days we were there. The rooms were great, views of the water and clean and tidy. Pools were good the kids wanted to swim all day but the rain made that hard. Location was good we walked to most of the shops and restaurants. Kids room was ok could use some new games. The rain made it hard to have fun but the stay was good and we would come back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Brent C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Gemini Resort. It's so good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the weather has been shocking for most of February, but it cannot last forever, we are looking towards brighter skies. It's good to have an indoor game area for when the weather decides to be unreasonable. The pool is heated all year, which is great for all weather. We try our utmost best to give our guests a fantastic holiday. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort - Hannah (front desk reception)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboune
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family have been staying at gemini for over 20 years, whilst the rooms are a great size for familys they are in need of a referb as the last room we stayed in the furniture was many years old and quite worn. The carpets in the lounge had stains every where and every time we stay we have to clean first as the cleaning standards are not top notch, have a look at the balconys they are always overlooked by the cleaners, noise is always a issue from the floor above your unit with the constant noise of chairs being scraped across the floor. The views are great and relaxing, the foyer is nice the games room is like stepping back 25 years, hasnt changed at all needs a serious revamp. Like i said we have been staying for over 20 yrs but will be looking elsewhere in future. Vaule for money ? You be the judge. So over all, some will like some will not, if you want a 3 star unit its fine, if you want a bit of upmarket accommodation or somewhere a bit special look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 10th floor so you dont have noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Jupiler2010, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Gemini Resort. As all the apartments are individually owned, some owners have not renovated in the last 3 years or so, while others are constantly renovating and renewing their apartment. We are sorry to hear that you were bothered by the noise from the apartment above you. Our games room has had a recent renovation, with new game machines, air hockey, table tennis, pool, chocolate machine etc. we have hung paintings and repainted the entire area. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Gemini Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been coming to Gemini for nearly 10 years and each time we leave relaxed, having had a great time. The location is great, with wonderful views over Pumicestone passage to Caloundra - never tire of this view! The pool is a favorite with our kids and having the beach so close is a bonus. We love being able to walk in either direction and enjoy the views. Handy to local shops and not far from larger supermarkets. The location is quiet but handy to Caloundra and other beaches. Our unit was clean and well set up although the kitchen could do with a few more utensils to make cooking for a family a little easier. We will be back next year and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It's so great to get a review from such a loyal guest. Thank you FeeJaySydney for taking the time. The photo you shared is fantastic, it really shows off the view from Gemini. So glad to hear you enjoyed our pool and our beachfront location. Gemini Resort focuses on having a great reputation for families and couples alike. It is lovely to simply walk out the door and onto the boardwalk right alongside the Golden Beach. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Hannah (front desk receptionist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose Gemini @ Golden Beach for our 10 day family holiday just after Xmas. I always refer to Tripadvisor when making accommodation choices & Gemini came highly rated as a family destination on the Sunshine Coast but unfortunately our experience did not fully live up to the expectation set by Tripadvisor's glowing rating.

The location of the hotel was perfect for our beach-wary toddler - directly opposite a tiny, quiet sandy stretch with calm rippling waves. As for local amenities, there is a small, very basic convenience store, pharmacy, bottle shop & some take away shops within a few minutes walk. Despite some great fish & chips and a decent Chinese take away, we were anticipating more options for dining out but did not feel the eating places within walking distance had much ambience so we chose to drive to Kings Beach for meals out. Sure, only a 10min drive but we would have liked some places to walk to.

The hotel itself was ok, tidy & certainly on paper has everything you need - pool, restaurant & games room. But in reality, the facilities did not quite live up to our expectations.

The pool was cold (says heated but maybe we are used to MORE heating?!) so myself & my toddler did not enjoy a dip. We are probably soft I know but still we expected a pleasant temperature & for us, it was not. Also from descriptions we expected a lagoon style pool meaning the pool entry is graduated depth so our toddler could crawl/walk in to his depth so my husband & I did not have to hold him the whole time. In reality, the pool is split into two, separated by rocks which are slippery & not suitable for a young child to climb/walk over. The deep side had only a very small ledge at the far side and the shallower "kids" side was still far too deep for our toddler (perhaps adult waist deep). So there was nowhere it was shallow and safe enough for our toddler to paddle.

The onsite restaurant menu was appealing but when we enquired about opening times & bookings reception staff were quite vague & unenthusiastic. In our 10 day stay it appeared closed more often than not - no staff to be seen & chairs stacked on tables. We only noticed one or two groups of diners on one day.

The games room was extremely tired. The toys & books, sparse that they were, were dirty & broken. There was a ping pong & pool table which looked usable (can't go too wrong with those), a pinball, race car & skills tester that require coins. It was extremely hot in the room - only one window would open & after only a few minutes inside it was uncomfortable. Our toddler was not of an age to make use of the room but I would think it would be pretty in appealing even for an older child.

Our 2 bed unit was a great size - the kitchen, living & dining were very spacious. Separate toilet, 2 bathrooms including one bath & a laundry with washer, dryer & tub. The kitchen in particular was excellent - every appliance & utensil you could possibly need for self catering which was great. The decor was dated, but that didn't bother us - everything was clean & functional and very comfortable.

What was very disappointing about our unit was the bedrooms. The hotel & unit is described as air conditioned but in fact there is only one unit in the lounge area - the bedrooms only have ceiling fans.

After suffering through our first sweltering January night where none of us got much sleep, we experimented with setting the lounge air con to 16 & fan on high to see if it would cool the rooms but as they're round a bend in the hallway & right at the back of the unit the lounge air con unit has no chance. Our baby monitor, set up in the second bedroom with our son, displays the room temp & it did not get below 28, often sitting at 31 degrees day & night for the whole time we were there. Sleeping - and showering/bathing as these are both located out of the air con reach also - was very uncomfortable. Our toddler, usually a great sleeper woke in a layer of sweat multiple times every night, not what you're after any time but especially on holidays!!

In addition, the windows & sliding doors require servicing as they all rattle and bang constantly with the wind.

All in all, we did not have a terrible experience, however our discomfort in the bedrooms causing a lack of good sleep really took the shine off our stay. No air con is for sure a "first world problem" but when we are on holidays & paying decent money for our stay we expect a similar, if not better accommodation standard to what you have at home. And ultimately, this review is not saying that the Gemini Resort is a terrible place to stay, but we do want to highlight that - for us anyway - it did not live up to the description outlined on Tripadvisor or its own website.







  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jennifer S
On behalf of all of the Gemini Resort team we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all reviews so thank you for taking the time to write one. We very sorry to hear you did not think that Gemini Resort was worthy of our ratings. The pool is heated to a minimum 27 degrees all year round and we have had very hot weather lately so it has been much warmer, perhaps this is why the water felt cool. We have never had any complaints about our pool before with many people re-booking especially for its size, kid’s pools and waterslide.
Our games room is enjoyed every day by many children and adults alike and we have just redecorated it, had a much bigger choice of games put in it and a new bookcase. We rely on guests looking after our free games and books but unfortunately they do get damaged and that is something we are unable to control and we do replace and add to them.
Our on-site-managers are available 24/7 to bring more stand up fans to anyone who asks when the weather is hot. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort in the future. Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sointula, British Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here with our family of four and found the accommodation very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and large and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. The location of the hotel was great. It is located away from the main part of the town so the congestion and noise was much less, but it was still very quick and easy to get to everything we needed. Parking spaces were large and easy to access. Down side for the apartment we stayed in (unit 82) was that it was starting to get a bit tired. The curtains were rotting, artwork faded and internet was non-existent in our room (we eventually had to go down to the lobby to use a coin operated computer). The pool was nice, especially for young kids. The slide is pretty small and really only usable by young kids, but it provided lots of fun and cooling off time for both kids and parents. Overall a very family-friendly spot that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear BaradaKitty,
Thank you very much for your review. It’s so good to hear that you found your stay very comfortable. We are in the process of finding a better internet service. The solid concrete walls make it very difficult for some apartments to get a signal. The owner has slowly been improving this apartment by buying a beautiful new lounge and all the bathrooms have been fully renovated to an extremely high standard. The kitchen is modern and recently renovated. The new curtains for apartment 82 are in our office, we are just waiting for the apartment to be free of guests so we can fit them. This beautiful weather has been a welcome bonus; So glad to hear you enjoyed our pool . Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a fantastic location for a family holiday!

Outstanding pool, patrolled beach out the front, walking paths and kids parks straight outside, newsagent, bakery, a small supermarket and some restaurants and cafes just a short walk away.

And it is just a short drive to surf beaches, full size supermarket and the Caloundra main street.

Our 3 bedroom unit was very large. The kitchen has been refurbished and is very usable. The bathrooms are original and very simple, but clean and work perfectly.

We had a great time and will be back at the same time next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Fabulous Family Holiday

Dear Anne663, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday here on Golden Beach. Staying at Gemini Resort is ideal even if you do not have a car because the beach, shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort next year! Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Address: 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gemini Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gemini Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.