We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could one want!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burleigh Mediterranean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Burleigh Mediterranean Resort to your Saves list
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   220 The Esplanade, Burleigh Heads, Queensland 4220, Australia (Formerly Sands Mediterranean Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 5 Pay 4
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“What more could one want!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We shared a 2-bed, 2 bath apartment with a couple of close friends and it was ideal. We are all in our 70's and found the apartment spacious and tastefully furnished. Having breakfast on the patio looking out to sea will be an enduring memory, as will the beautiful sunrises enjoyed by one early riser of our party! Easy walk to supermarket at Miami 1 and and a pleasant 20 minute stroll
to Burleigh Heads township with its village atmosphere. First time visit to Burleigh Heads and the Med but like to think it won't be our last. Finally, all the staff were friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble. F & J, NZ

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Once you have experienced Burleigh it is hard to leave, we are so glad that you came and stayed with us at the “Med”. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, it is our priority to ensure we exceed customer satisfaction wherever possible. We hope that it won’t be too long until you get to enjoy another breakaway with us sitting on the balcony overlooking the stunning ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    70
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
119
70
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked a weekend here online and our experience was wonderful. We arrived late (major plane delays down south) on Friday night, but the night check was easy, friendly and hassle free. To be honest though, the view from our room was so magnificent that nothing else would have mattered. Tenth floor, front and centre in the North Tower, out to the Pacific Ocean. We wanted to move in! Excellent value for money, we're already planning to go for a longer stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are pleased to know that you found the night check in process hassle free. We agree the ocean views are simply stunning and our weather of late has certainly not disappointed. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We picked this hotel because of reviews and price and we surely weren't disappointed. We had the most incredible view from our tenth story room! This made it a memorable vacation! Everything in the one bedroom apartment was updated, clean and comfortable. The staff at this hotel is very helpful. We ended up staying three nights longer and they gave us a great rate also. Within a block away is the Burleigh life saving club which Burleigh Mediterranean Resort gives you a free membership. The food and atmosphere are great and the prices are too. We had a once in a lifetime vacation and Burleigh Mediterranean was definitely part of it. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: We were on the tenth floor with an ocean view, worth every penny to upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are thrilled to know that your stay with us was a “once in a lifetime vacation” . Was great that you were able to take advantage of your holiday and extend, yes the longer you stay the more favourable the nightly rate. We are pleased to be able to offer all our in-house guests great value, with complimentary membership to the local Surf Club which entitles our guests to discounted food and drinks just a short 5 minute stroll along the Esplanade. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment for three nights and found it to be very comfortable. The apartment was of a high standard and the staff were very helpful.
The rooftop area was really nice when the weather was good. Sadly when we wanted to use the barbeque up there it was closed for painting.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed yourself. We have just had the entire exterior of both towers repainted prior to the September school holidays. We tried to minimise any inconvenience to in-house guests by having one rooftop painted at a time so that the other rooftop could be utilised. Painting has now finished. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation where you can experience our magical rooftop settings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Family of 6 stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 3 nights.
Great environment, our apartment had an excellent holiday feel while at the same time making us feel at home.
Renovation/painting was ongoing while we were there but didn't really get in the way.
Roof BBQ area is an excellent get-away and provides magnificent views of the coast.
Directly across from the beach, 1o mins walk from Burleigh Heads main drag, 5 mins from Coles & other shops. 1 min walk from Macca's, if a lazy night in takes your fancy.

Pro - Best part of holiday was lazing around on the balcony.
Con - Heated indoor pool was not heated (bummer for winter). Otherwise all good.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach, higher the better as the large (but beautiful) pine trees top out around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
So happy that you felt right at home during your vacation with us. We did our best to ensure our guests were not inconvenienced during our exterior painting refurbishment and were lucky enough with two towers to be able to manage this. We do apologise for the inconvenience of the pool heater failure during your stay whilst we were awaiting a specialised part. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy our great resort facilities and central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just had the best ever family holiday - I never write any reviews - but after our great experience i just had to.

The rooms were spacious , clean and had the best views of Burleigh Heads and surfers. The roof top is a hidden gem. We spent most afternoons up there with a sundowner.

Perfect spot for any keen surfer , there is waves and the surf club is at the font door , so safe for the family.

We have booked again for the December holiday !!

Cant wait !!

JR

Room Tip: All rooms have great Views - try book above Level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We love it that all our in-house guests can use our stunning rooftop BBQ areas and that they are not exclusive to certain apartments. Was so lovely to know that you had the “best ever family holiday”. Can’t wait to see you all back here in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just spent three nights here and wish it was longer. We had to postpone due to illness and the staff were extremely obliging and helpful. On arrival the staff were courteous and kind. The Room was great. Amazing views, clean, comfortable and overall a great place to stay. Would definately recommend and we hope to stay here again.Thank you to the staff for making a large resort seem like a friendly family business. It is a credit to you all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back here again on your next holiday escape so be sure to check the website for welcome back or early bird specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burleigh Heads
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
#1 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Surf Apartments
Burleigh Surf Apartments
#6 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
1.1 mi away
Hillhaven Holiday Apartments
Hillhaven Holiday Apartments
#22 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burleigh Beach Tower
Burleigh Beach Tower
#12 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mediterranean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mediterranean Resort

Address: 220 The Esplanade, Burleigh Heads, Queensland 4220, Australia (Formerly Sands Mediterranean Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mediterranean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort is located on The Esplanade at North Burleigh just 50 meters from the beach, 15 minutes drive north of Gold Coast Airport and 10 minutes south of Surfers Paradise. Our 1,2 and 3 bedroom oceanfacing apartments are fully self-contained, boast views out over the ocean, poolside and hinterland. Facilities include heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, children’s wading pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and poolside and stunning rooftop BBQ areas with 360 degree views of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Burleigh Mediterranean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh Mediterranean Hotel Burleigh Heads
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.