We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S Stephens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merivale Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merivale Motel to your Saves list
Merivale Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   61 Merivale Street, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Certificate of Excellence
Barooga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“S Stephens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent rooms, very confortable queen size bed, great kitchenette, large bathroom, very clean, walking distance from town booked for 3 nights extended our stay. Reception and cleaning ladies really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
51
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was a bit critical of the Merivale when I stayed there a year ago, but on reflection and comparing it to other motels I think it deserves an 'excellent' rating. It is still a bit plain on the outside, and could do with a nice big sign on the front. The only sign is on the end of the building and easy to miss. The internal renovations are now complete and are really excellent. Plus the place is kept absolutely spotless. It is still very good value for money and this time included a good continental breakfast. There is still no resident manager, and I do think it would be good to have a manager onsite at least during business hours. I will definitely stay here again. One of the best features is the kitchenette in every unit, which so many motels don't have.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very comfortable queen sized bed.
Great large flat screen TV right in front of bed.
Free WiFi
Kitchenette
Modern, exceptionally clean and beautiful.

Stayed in Tumut before at another motel which was pleasant enough but does not compare to the refurbished rooms of the Merivale Motel. Will definitely book back here again. If I were to be really picky, white towels were a bit thin and small. This is definitely up there with the best of motel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Saw previous TA reviews so tried this motel. It has everything you need for a comfortable overnight stop - Modern, clean, comfortable bed, decent bathroom and a short walk to a variety of eating options.
Don' hesitate it is ideal for an overnighter and great value at under $100 pn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We drove from Beechworth via the Tooma Road and the trip was so scenic we had to stop a number of times to take a look and to take photos. Consequently, we didn't arrive until about 7:30pm. Reception was closed but other guests had already rung the owner for assistance with checking in. In the meantime they had found the keys and shown us where to look for ours but when the lady arrived she made it clear that it was no trouble. She was also very helpful when I asked for recommendations for places to eat.

The room was big, clean, fresh and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and it was clear from the fittings that the renovation wasn't done on the cheap. It's so refreshing to find accommodation that the owners take pride in, and for only $99. It was an easy stroll to the main street for dinner.

Tumut is another pretty town and with this motel we'll be including it as an option for future stopovers between Sydney and Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed only for one night, and it was ver pleasant indeed. The motel has certainly had a facelift but for the better. We stayed in the room right at the end near the grassed area and found it to be nice and quiet. The room had been refurbished and was lovely and clean. There were only a couple of things which bothered me. We unfortunately had to close the blinds near the bed for most of the time as there was a building block near by which overlooked our room. The shower rose had to be tilted on such a high angle for the water to come down because the shower cubicle was so small; the water took a good 5 minutes to run hot; we had to take one of the outside chairs inside so we could sit at the table because there was only one provided and we went to use the guest barbecue for dinner and found it had run out of gas. There was also no shelf or anywhere to put anything in the bathroom as the only space on the sink was cluttered with things.
Look, you may think all these comments are a bit harsh, but I'm just giving my opinion here. I have still given this motel a good rating due to the fact that it was a lovely place to stay, really, and I would stay there again if I was in the area. The price was good, the service from the staff was wonderful, the room was clean and the decor tasteful. Oh and the free wifi was great too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean, quiet, well-located, good value for money. Continental breakfast only 7.50. Comfortable beds, good linen. Tastefully appointed. Staff very obliging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumut
0.2 mi away
Ashton Townhouse Motel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Amaroo Motel
Amaroo Motel
#1 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Tumut Valley Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tumut Motor Inn
Tumut Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motel Farrington
0.5 mi away
Russellee B&B
Russellee B&B
#1 of 1 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Motel

Address: 61 Merivale Street, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tumut
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merivale Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merivale Motel is perfectly positioned to ensure you enjoy a quiet and convenient stay in Tumut. Recently refurbished and all non smoking, Merivale Motel's fully appointed rooms provide a level of comfort and quality unparalleled in the area and will make your stay an enjoyable one. Merivale Motel is conveniently located within a short (5 min) stroll of the Tumut town centre. The site is level and we also have a disabled access unit, which complies fully with Australian Standards. All our rooms are stylishly appointed and include:- flat screen 32" LCD televisions.- free Austar cable TV.- free internet access.- queen size beds to all rooms (except twin share).- kitchenettes with sink, fridges, microwave & cook top.- reverse cycle air conditioning.- in floor bathroom heating.- heated towel racks.- complimentary tea and coffee facilities.- hair dryers, full size ironing boards, and alarm clocks.- ample onsite parking and trailer storage area. A guest laundry with commercial washing machine and dryer is available. We also provide 24hr check-in with prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Merivale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merivale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.