We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaroo Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amaroo Motel to your Saves list
Amaroo Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   55 Capper Street, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights there, room was very clean and comfortable and great value for money. The family that own/run the motel are extremely friendly and helpful. My mate and I came down for a weekend of kayaking and mountain biking their advice was, on where to go etc, invaluable. Will be staying there again soon I hope.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    40
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
56
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Amaroo Motel for three nights. It was very comfortable and the owners were really helpful with suggestions of what we should do, where to eat ect. Tumut is a beautiful town with lots of walks which we really enjoyed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Amaroo Motel last night, the welcome was warm friendly and helpful, the rooms are newly renovated with tasteful, minimal (plenty of space for luggage) and well thought out design, the bed was comfortable and all in all a most pleasant stay,
Thankyou

Room Tip: I believe this is has the freshest rooms in town with their newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were upgraded to deluxe after a brief chat, and what a pleasure it was. All services were excellent. Loved the shower, and had no problem with adequate power for a laptop, two external drives, iPad charger and a cuppa while surfing at 4G speeds. The bed was very comfortable, and the chat with son (on arrival) and dad (on departure) were both interesting and informative. We will stay again next visit to Tumut. A major upgrade from our previous stay 18 years ago...

Room Tip: We stayed deluxe, and only noises were from people starting their 4WD tanks at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Like so many motels in country Australia, the Amaroo was probably built in the '60s. However, the owners have maintained it very well and we had a very pleasant stay. Everything worked perfectly and the split-system airconditioning was both quiet and effective. Breakfast was nicely cooked.

Room Tip: For the partially disabled, some rooms have direct entry form the car parinking space outside the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently we spent a few nights at the Amaroo Motel. We sought a twin room and were very impressed with the juggling Ian and his son did to make it happen for us. Throughout our stay we found the business owners to be very helpful. Our room was very clean though the carpet had reached its' use-by date. The location was great, just a short stroll to the shops. Even though the motel is located on the main street into Tumut there was little road noise.The motel has free wifi which was appreciated as it gave us a chance to catch up on our emails. Would definately recommend the Amaroo Motel to anyone wishing to stay in Tumut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed a night here on way back home from Victoria. Reception was very good from owner Ian. The motel was built in 1959 ! but very well maintained and renovated. A credit to Ian and family. Reasonably quiet. Rooms small but cosy, adequate for a night or two, nothing flash but comfortable. Small bathroom but ok. Handy to town for meals, we tried Ian's choice, the Royal, quite good. Breakfast good. Some corporate rooms being worked on currently, had a look, very nice. Motel very quiet when we were there, only 2 rooms filled out of 26.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Try one of the new corpoate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarooMotel, Owner at Amaroo Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for the nice comments. The first of our fully renovated rooms are now available, over time we will be complete the entire motel. The rooms feature new premium style bathrooms, a new internal layout for more space, LED down lights, premium woolen carpets, 32inch Phillips Tv's. We are working hard to upgrade our rooms a higher standard. I have upload some new photos to our profile.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumut
0.2 mi away
Ashton Townhouse Motel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Merivale Motel
Merivale Motel
#2 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Tumut Valley Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tumut Motor Inn
Tumut Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motel Farrington
0.3 mi away
Riverglade Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaroo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaroo Motel

Address: 55 Capper Street, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tumut
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amaroo Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amaroo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaroo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.