We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, room clean and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens to your Saves list
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 23 Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, room clean and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A last minute booking meant we had a two bedroom suite between the two of us. The large living area and kitchen was nicely furnished, clean and modern. We enjoyed a relaxing meal on the balcony overlooking the water and found it very easy to wind down after a hectic week of work.
Service very good, staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this property in November last year and then January and will book again for Feb.We stayed in unit 311 because a friend had stayed there once before and said it was the best unit there.
The views from the unit are fantastic,overlooking the river.you can hear the sea when your in bed at night and the unit is really clean and comfortable,there was beautiful new carpet las time we went.
This unit was protected on the balcony if there was a southerly blowing.Also an amazing amount of bird life you can watch from the balcony,especially in the evenings when they seem to all sleep over on the land across the river
The property itself has a fantastic pool and is very clean with lots of other facilities.
You can stroll down the road to lots of amazing eating places .Its only a 5 minute drive to the beach which is superb.There is amazing Sandhills and beautiful walks and it's only 2 hours from Sydney .LOVE the place!!

Room Tip: Unit 311 The Best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay! Friendly staff, fantastic rooms (ours overlooked the water) both pool and sauna were great! Top location close to restaurants and activities. Not in a loud area, would be a good choice for families. Highly recommend and use again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just had a two night stay on our way back to Queensland. Loved the apartment and the town. Everything at resort was so lay back and relaxing with great facilities. Would be a great place for a family to stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abermain, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Perfect location on the river, beautiful apartment and pool. The manager could not have been more helpful. Easy walk along river bank to cafes and few shops, great fresh prawns from co-op. Great for the kayak and bikes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked at the last moment on a whim. Stuart was excellent and gave the online price by phone. He also gave us a lovely room to celebrate our anniversary. Booking in was fine, even though we got there at midnight! It was very quiet, which we liked. Only about 8 of the 36 or so rooms were used, so we mostly had the place to ourselves. It would be a lot rowdier if there were kids and full rooms, but I suspect it would still be ok. The pool was lovely: clean and freshening with a nice light show at night. It may be a little small when full of kids splashing since it's mostly a wide lap pool. Very nice though. The room itself was clean and mostly good. The bed was two singles put together though and was a bit lumpy when snuggling up. Also, the ensuite fan came on automatically about 3 minutes after the shower started and then stayed on for 24 hours - there was no switch we found that turned it off. But really these were minor points in a lovely place.
The location is stunning - straight across from the Myall river with houseboats and canoes going up and down. It's also a short stroll to the 5-6 cafes that Tea Gardens has on the river bank. We had breakfast both mornings and watched a local artists painting beautiful naturescapes as we ate. Very relaxing.
And lastly we sampled the large sauna after a day out paddling and it was very nice to relax down there before returning to the room and hitting the largish spa in the ensuite.

For the price we had - $165/night - it was 5 stars. If paying higher rates, as a suggestion for additional things to take this from a 4.5 star to a five-star experience, perhaps something could be found in the room on checkin - a voucher for local cafe, chocs, or a bottle of something.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dural, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were there for the October long weekend. We are 2 mature couples. However, this is a great property for all ages. The pool is magic for the kids - with its own little beach. The apartments are a good size, well equipped, clean and tidy and those above the ground floor have a view of the river from the large balconies. If you are a family, the queen bed and 2 singles would be good. If you are 2 couples like us, then ask for the 2 queen bed option as we did. This property is quite a surprise for a bit of a backwater like Tea Gardens. It's in a great location (only 2.5 hours from Sydney), close to good restaurants, very well presented (the pool and the gardens), clean and spacious, a lift to all floors and plenty of undercover locked up parking. The beaches are a couple of kms away. We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are different bedding configurations in each apartment. Be sure to ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens

Address: 21 - 23 Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.