We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens to your Saves list
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 23 Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An idyllic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Boathouse Resort and find it so idyllic we can never resist returning. The views over the resort pool and, across the road, the Myall River are both intriguing and relaxing. The cloud formations in themselves are fascinating and ever changing.

The apartments are extremely well equipped for a few days’ break, with all the crockery and glassware one could need. For the sort of modest meals we have occasionally cooked, adequate utensils were provided. As the apartments are individually owned there are variations in the quantity and quality of kitchen accessories provided but the several where we have stayed are always good with some exceptionally well equipped. The building is very well designed and apartments are well laid out to take advantage of the views, and spacious.

Furniture and bedding are uniformly attractive and comfortable, and the apartments and entire resort are spotlessly clean and inviting, the gardens beautifully laid out and well maintained. The only drawback to the Boathouse is its growing popularity and the difficulty in obtaining a booking at short notice. Stuart the Manager is very obliging in finding accommodation that takes into account one’s individual preferences.

Good dining is easy, with the Tea Gardens Hotel Waterfront bistro offering a good variety of pub food at reasonable prices. We have also dined at Mumm’s on the Myall and enjoyed excellent seafood with views over the River, albeit at a bit of a premium on price. Grab some of their takeaway fish and chips and enjoy it alongside the river, or back in your apartment. It is pleasant to relax over a coffee in the gardens of Nicole’s café – and the takeaway/ café next door makes the best sandwiches.

Room Tip: Several of the ground floor poolside apartments have their own gate for entry to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Fantastic review covering so many great points about The Boathouse and Tea Gardens, thank you.

We certainly agree with all that you have written, and yes, our secret location is definately out of the bag now. We are very busy which is a great testiment to all our hard work. Rest assured though we always do our very best to accommode every enquiry.

No doubt we shall see you again in the very near future.

Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Spent a night in a two bedroom apartment on the top floor. What a great apartment. Well designed with good sized kitchen, rooms and spa. The balcony is great for simply admiring the view.

The pool is a good size and has 'beach' which is great for the kids.

Nothing to fault about the place, you won't be dissapointed, we weren't!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi, thanks for the great review.

We agree the apartments are awesome, they have everything you need for a perfect stay including an ensuite, a main bathroom and laundry. The view is amazing, right over the pool and so far up the river, glad you appreciated it.

Looking forward to seeing you again some time, and thanks again for the positive review.

Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the river as opposed to the pool. It was quiet and had a nice outlook. The kids really enjoyed the pool and were still talking about it months after we visited! Our balcony was huge and there was no sign of mozzies!The apartment was clean and roomy. The bathroom was fine but the spa didn't look inviting and really should be replaced. If I was to provide a suggestion, I would say supply low chemical unfragranced soaps as my eyes became itchy and i was sneezing as soon as i entered the bathroom! There are a few places to eat out nearby. Tried the Chinese restaurant - not outstanding. The fish and chip shop was over run so a long wait and once again have had better and paid less. Things to do - walk or fish on along the river, coffee or ice cream at a cafe and just chill out. There is a bakery where we had a nice pie and a couple of arty shops to check out.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your review of The Boathouse Resort. We agree with your children, the pool is amazing and very handy for all ages. The sandy beach entry is perfect for toddlers and the lap pool very convenient for the swimmers. The video on our website is made from the balcony of one of the front units, its good to see you appreciated the view, everyone does.

Thanks for adding some information about the town. Did you also try the sandboarding up at mungo brush, that a great morning out. Kayak hire is awesome here, plenty of local dolphins swimming around, and of course the magnificant beaches.

Each unit has its own spa, these are spring cleaned and flushed with special spa cleaner on a very consistant basis, generally our guests are very happy to discover their own private spa. We have run an extra spring clean heading into the Summer and take on board your comments about the soap.

Thanks again for your review.

Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited the quirky little towns of Tea Gardens/Hawks Nest and decided to stay. The nicest looking accommodation was the Boathouse Resort, overlooking the Myall River and a short walk along the riverfront to a good selection of restaurants, cafes and the Tea Gardens Hotel. We were given a one-bedroom, two-bathroom - complete with spa bath - apartment on the top floor, spacious and tastefully furnished, with a view over the river and the swimming pool. Secure parking for peace of mind, and awesome managers (hope your son gets his drum kit soon!) On the second day we caught the ferry to Nelson Bay, a great leisurely trip down the river and across the bay, under the 'Singing Bridge', so called because during strong south-westerly's, the railings on the bridge act as a wind harp. Lovely place to stay, and we wouldn't hesitate to come back if in the area again.

Room Tip: If possible, the managers will put you in an apartment appropriate to your needs ie away from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi, thanks for your review. Was lovely to meet you both, we are happy to hear you discovered a few of our local highlights along with enjoying our Resort.

If my memory serves me correctly you are the couple from NZ... we did have some lovely chats, and the answer to your question of course is yes!! Thanks for all the advice.

If you are ever down our way again we would love to help you discover more of our fantastic area.

Have a great Christmas.

Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a lovely location! Our one bedroom apartment was well appointed, located at the front of the building and provided a beautiful view overlooking the Myall River. While generally quiet, we could overhear fellow guests but that was understandable where people were enjoying the view on their balcony. I am not sure whether I would have enjoyed an apartment overlooking the swimming pool as I think the noise generated from frolicking guests would be a bit jarring. Secure parking gives you peace of mind. There is a minor problem with the trolleys and getting your luggage to your apartment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in this complex for 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer. The apartments were clean, modern and affordable (unlike some of thouse elsewhere). Tea Gardens is a popular place for tourists, but is also fairly quiet. The apartments overlook the river and there is plenty of opportunity for fishing trips and ferries to nearby Nelson Bay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

An appartment by the pool will temp you NOT to leave. Everything you need for a quiet peaceful relxed getaway. You wont want to leave the room. Very we appointed new clean and very comfortable. Some nice walks and drives and places to just sit relax and enjoy the view. Well worth the effort

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Liketoknow, We are so happy that you found our pool entry units so good. These units are extremely popular as you can just walk out your front door and take dip in our solar heated pool with ease. We look forward to your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
3.7 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#5 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.1 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
3.5 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens

Address: 21 - 23 Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.