We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but city prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Gardens Boatshed

Tea Gardens Boatshed
110 Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
0249970307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Tea Gardens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe by Day,, Restaurant by Night..Superb Location & Cuisine
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good food but city prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have spent several getaways at Tea Gardens, always staying at the Boathouse Resort which is simply excellent and which I have reviewed separately.

Usually we dine modestly at the excellent local pub bistro, but this time decided to do a blowout dinner on our last night. Other local restaurants failed to excite, so we decided that the Boatshed was it.

All up, we chose well. Ambience was good. The evening rain was kept at bay, trickling down the plastic awning in an appealing reminder that we were comfortably inside looking out over the Myall River. A fascinating houseboat wrought of corrugated iron, backgrounded by mangroves, summoned memories of Duelling Banjoes and primitive societies intruded upon.

Our entrees were superb. I had the tempura prawns with fennel salad, he had the salt and pepper squid with pickled ginger and cucumber and spicy plum sauce.

Mains were also excellent: my dish of lamb backstrap with jus, crushed minty peas and a roast potato was delightful and too generous for me to finish. My partner's special of the day, a surf and turf variation, was entirely to his taste. We both reflected that we had ordered too much, our very satisfying entrees having taken more than the edge off our appetites.

The only dischordant note was the price of my partner's special main dish, though it was not a deal breaker on our enjoyment of the night.

Well done, Boatshed Restaurant, and go crazy everyone with greater capacity than us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Loved the riverside views of the busy waterway and pelicans. Food well presented and very tasty. Generous helpings

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallabula, NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went for lunch for my birthday with a group of about 20. The service was outstanding, as was the food. We were lucky to have a table right on the edge of the verandah looking straight down at the water. Everybody enjoyed the day immensely. To make a really good day, catch the "Wally" ferry across from Nelson Bay and have lunch here. You won't be sorry.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice area...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The only thing nice about the boat shed was it's location! Can buy a cheaper coffee in Sydney! Menu overpriced. If you're after service with attitude then come on down to the boat shed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely just give me a bit more selevtion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We dined here for dinner as we were staying in tea gardens for our wedding anniversary. i found the service good and prompt filling our water glasses straight away. the squid was lovely as an entree. i had the angus steak which was lovely my hubby got the barramundi it was ok it had a selection of sauce and what looked to be black sesame seeds which didnt taste that great. it took a while for the waitresses to refill our water glasses and wete not even asked if we wanted further drinks or dessert it was getting a little busy by then. the place is lovely on the water but could get the potential to get cramped. i would like to see some entree breafs in offerwhilst they give u a lovely fresh roll prior to your meal some nice bruschetta wouldnt go astray and the mains only offeed 5 choices i believe a few more choices would be good. but overall a positive and enjoyable culinary experience!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Gardens Boatshed also viewed

Tea Gardens, New South Wales
Tea Gardens, New South Wales
 
Tea Gardens, New South Wales
Hawks Nest, New South Wales
 

Been to Tea Gardens Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Gardens Boatshed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.