We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mumm's on the myall

mumm's on the myall
Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales, Australia
0249971162
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Tea Gardens
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is I believe, owned by the fishermans' co-op. It is licensed and one many restaurants on Marine Drive.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have been here many times and have always had a wonderful experience, with the food varying from fine to excellent. On my most recent visit (for lunch) I couldn't fault the food and the good service but it is the location that shines -- overlooking the waterway and the bridge with indoor, semi-outdoor and outdoor options all with views. My favourite place in Tea Gardens!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Young NSW
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food nice presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

There were 8 of us that went there for dinner, the staff were very friendly and catered to our needs. The drinks took awhile to arrive but after everything went smoothly. The price including 2 bottles of wine and some non alcohol drinks (for the designated drivers) worked out to $84.00 per couple, which I thought was excellent for a great night and wonderful food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mumm is the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant is located to take great advantage of views of the Tea Gardens riverside views and the Singing Bridge. It provides an excellent menu choice and quality food. The prices are quite reasonable for the gastronomic delights presented to diners.
The restaurant shares the same building as a seafood takeaway restaurant and the Fishermans Coop both of which provide patrons with a good choice of "fruits of the sea".

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Views but that's all !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We called in recently on a trip down the coast wanting a nice lunch to break the trip. The position and views were lovely. The waitress was not very friendly and looked like she didnt want to be there. She was the only one and they were quite busy over lunch. We ordered the prawn cocktail to share. This is advertised as a seafood restaurant so when we received watery tasteless defrosted prawns with no taste it didn't cut it. Prawn taste was ok but heavily fried. This came out after about 15 mins. Then we waited another 45 mins for our main, we were just about to leave when it arrived. I had the prawn curry off the lunch menu for 21.00. It was quite tasty but the prawns were small and few and far between. The worst part of the meal was my husbands 25.00 lunch menu fish and chips .. Dripping with fat .. Really poor .. He ate probably three quarters as he was starving but left a lot of the batter. He was feeling unwell for the rest of the trip and can only put it down to the oil. This place leaves a lot to be desired.from what I could see .. One chef one waitress to serve the restaurant and the take away.. When paying the bill the waitress asked how it was and did apologise for the wait .. i told her about the meal but she didnt offer any reduction just said sorry. Big shame as a lovely spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford River, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Value for money, excellent food and service. Sit inside or out and watch the boats and pelicans go by.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mumm's on the myall also viewed

Tea Gardens, New South Wales
Tea Gardens, New South Wales
 
Tea Gardens, New South Wales
Hawks Nest, New South Wales
 

Been to mumm's on the myall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mumm's on the myall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.