We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Barramundi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mumm's on the myall

mumm's on the myall
Marine Drive, Tea Gardens, New South Wales, Australia
0249971162
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Tea Gardens
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is I believe, owned by the fishermans' co-op. It is licensed and one many restaurants on Marine Drive.
NSW
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Barramundi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We only had the takeaway fish and chips but the barramundi was really good. Thin translucent batter with fresh large Barramundi fillet. Chips were ordinary but the fish was worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fresh!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We turned up around 2:30pm and got the last Take away order in before closing. Staff were wanting to go home as they return around 5:30, but still took our order.

The prices were ok given there wasn't much competition, and the fish was really fresh and tasty. If I was to be picky, the chips were just average. Overall, highly recommended for their takeaway after hiring a boat and having a hungry appetite!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dural, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average Food at Average Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This cafe style restaurant provided average food at an above average price. The seafood marinara had a reasonable amount of seafood, but very little sauce and had very little flavour. The fish my friends had was very average.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips in Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had flathead and whiting with chips.
Some of the best fish and chips I can remember having.

Location and charm of this place is one of the best kept secrets in Australia.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday 7th July,2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lunch today at Mumms
Food was delicious BUT the staff .... The staffing issue really needs to be looked at.
Today - early July (low season) but still school holidays...seven of us out for lunch - a relaxing lunch was hoped for - the staff need to be trained to look after the customer, not watch the clock because they want to go home. If the restaurant was mine I would have staff fully trained for the co fort and service of the customer. Take advantage of a great sunny afternoon in such a gorgeous pot - Tea Gardens - if we wanted to be hurried we would have one for a takeaway .... Please get it right, the food is too good. It to have good staff.we actually gave a $20 tip - hoping to gee them up for next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mumm's on the myall also viewed

Tea Gardens, New South Wales
Tea Gardens, New South Wales
 
Tea Gardens, New South Wales
Hawks Nest, New South Wales
 

Been to mumm's on the myall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mumm's on the myall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.