We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful n Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel to your Saves list
Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Yalinbah Street, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Quiet and peaceful n Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good size room with all the facilities as described. Very friendly staff happy to answer all your questions. There is a good quality asian restaurant just outside the hotel. The food was excellent.

Will definitely recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our rooms were exactly as you expected them to be.

We certainly get good comments about our staff and how helpful they are.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the Sun Tea Gardens Restaurant. Our guests are often pleasantly surprised as they are not expecting such good quality food in a country RSL club.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a comment and we hope to see you again soon.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    17
    8
    14
See reviews for
13
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We prebooked and paid in full for a night's stay in an executive suite rated room. The management were welcoming on arrival and courteous throughout. the room had all the requirements for a good stay with hot drinks, kettle and bathroom gels and soaps. However the mattress was too soft for us, the room dark, the air conditioning noisey and the door locks rather flimsy. There was a musty smell to the motel. The room was not expensive and maybe you get what you pay for. We arrived on a Sunday night. With the help of the manager who recommended a meal at the Hawk's Nest golf club we found a place to eat but Sunday night visitors should be warned of the limited selection of restaurants open.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Motel.

We are pleased you found our staff welcoming and courteous and the amenities provided in our rooms to your satisfaction.

In response to your comments:

1. It is very difficult to find the happy medium when it comes to bedding. It is a bit like the Three Bears …some people tell us the beds are too soft and some tell us the beds are too hard … then there are the guests, and this is the majority who tell what a terrific night’s sleep they had.

2. We often get comments that the lighting is inadequate. However all our rooms comply with the requirements for energy efficiency.

3. We have installed new split system air-conditioners in all but 5 of our rooms. It is unfortunate that you may have been allocated a room with the older systems.

4. All our doors and door locks are good quality and comply with Australian Standards and fire rating and are regularly serviced.

5. Unfortunately because of the protected wetlands at the back of our property we can get a damp “swampy” smell through the motel. However anyone who stays with us will be able to confirm that we open and air all our rooms on a daily basis and all our rooms and corridors as sprayed with an environmentally friendly non-toxic lavender air freshener.

6. Yes I have to admit that Sunday nights can be difficult. However, the supermarket is always open until about 9.30pm, Hook n Cook is open for takeaway food, the BP Service Station has lovely gourmet pizzas and other fast foods, the Sun Tea Garden Restaurant is open 7 days a week and the Boatshed Restaurant is open for pizza, snacks and drinks on a Sunday evening as well as the Hawks Nest Golf Club. For a small town there are quite a few options for meals … but not after about 8.00pm.

We hope to see you again and we can help further with your meal options.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a 'bushland' room, with spa. This room was purchased through Groupon and although cheap - if we'd paid any more for it we would have been bitterly disappointed and rated this hotel terribly. The average price for a room at this motel should be less than $100 per night and is comparable to a highway motor inn.

The service was not great - a directive welcome from the owner told us to read the compendium which told us that they had provided adequate everything and anything additional would cost us.

The first thing we noticed was the overpowering smell of flowery air freshener, obviously an attempt to mask a musty smell but did not smell fresh or clean in the slightest. We stay in quite a lot of places and all manage to deoderise the rooms without spraying it with toilet spray. Perhaps the cleaners do not notice it as much when they are servicing the rooms, but we found it was almost too much to handle. This wasn't just the rooms - this was the whole motel.

We took a river cruise which was recommended by the motel (which was lovely) - ironically, other guests from the Club Inn had come along and complained about how disappointed they were in the quality of the motel versus what they were lead to believe.

The owners had obviously done everything that they could to make the most of the motel without having to spend much money. However there are definitely some major improvements to be made if they want to refer to the rooms as 'luxurious'.

All of the ceramics (spa, toilet, shower) had yellowed with age - and were very old style. If you wanted a spa bath, you could sit in it ... but you wouldn't be able to relax thanks to the smell - and you wouldn't be able to look out on anything except the aging bathroom walls / ceiling. The lighting was very poor - we had to turn on every light just to get to an acceptable level. If you opened the curtains, you would lose all privacy. This presented a great gamble - these curtains were also the gateway to the double doors to let in fresh air ... the only place for ventilation and short relief from said smell.

The 'bushland' room is the most expensive, and suggests a view - of which there was not. The view was onto swampy ground with a wall of paperbark trees. There are lovely deck chairs placed awkwardly - too close to other guests bedrooms (and above privacy gamble) and way too close to the swampy bushland. These were designed for guests to sit in and relax in - while looking out onto the wall of trees about a metre away.

The continental breakfast consisted of wheat bricks and corn flakes provided in 'luxurious' chinese takeaway containers, as well as open jugs of milk and orange juice that sat in the tiny bar fridge. The tiny bar fridge kept defrosting so frozen water would drip into the open jugs so we weren't game to drink the contents ... The condiments were also poor - with very cheap tea and coffee and one biscuit for us to share. We didn't think to ask for second, we weren't sure if we'd have to pay for a second - particularly when we discovered our coffee mugs were sponsored by 'Continental Cup-a-soup'. It was lucky that we had brought coffee, tea, milk and toilet paper with us. When we arrived, none of the facilities were plugged in - we had to muck around moving the big dresser just to get the kettle, TV, and fridge to turn on.

Although the room appeared clean, the old carpets / furniture made it feel like there was lingering dust. The one redeeming feature was that the bed and linen were adequate.

Upon check-out there was no, 'how was your stay' questioning or pleasantries - it felt like, 'get in, get out'.

Looking at other feedback on this site, it's not surprising that the place hasn't improved dramatically. The owner's response seems defensive, and along the lines of 'well this is how we do things' rather than 'thanks for the feedback - we'll take it on board and will actually make some changes'. I'll provide my two cents anyway - a lick of bright paint (including enamel for the ceramics), along with new couches/modern patterns - a heap more lighting - and removal of the smell with non-intimidating chemical fresheners would go a long way. You'd be surprised just how far removing the stink would go. Make sure your customers know what they're purchasing - this place isn't luxurious - it's a standard motel, with not that much going for it except the little competition in Tea Gardens.

Room Tip: While Tea Gardens is a great place to visit - Club Inn looked to be one of the better places to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you did not find our package good value for money. Your Groupon package was $149.00 for 2 nights for 2 people and included a continental breakfast of juice, toast and cereal, a complimentary bottle of wine and a late check out (total value nearly $500). There were also discounts on cruises, activities and specials at local restaurants and facilities that offered further savings in excess of $150.00.

We have owned this Motel for 15 years and in that time we have had nearly 300,000 guests stay at our Motel. We have had over 15,000 guests in the last 12 months. Our rooms are normally between $149.00 and $229.00 per night – room only and we have excellent repeat guests who find our Motel suits their requirements of a quiet location, close to restaurants and good value for money even at our regular rates.

We try very hard to ensure that our guests have a positive experience during their stay at our Motel. Most of our guests provide positive comments to us during their and do not feel the need to provide comment in more public forums.

The small number of unfavorable reviews we have received from nearly 300,000 guests over 15 years is unfortunate as we would prefer that all our guests enjoy our hospitality.

We are an older style 3.5 star Motel and we do not claim to be anything else but a 3.5 star property.

We have a refurbishment program which utilizes a percentage of our income every year for repairs and maintenance. Obviously we cannot do everything given the current economic climate but we are working hard to maintain a good, clean property.

We would like to invite any of Tripadvisor's readers to visit our Motel and inspect our rooms prior to making a booking. We think most will be pleasantly surprised by the delightful bushland surrounds and the quality of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Can honestly say my partner & i enjoyed our weekend away very much.
The owners are the nicest people & helped us so much with whatever they could.
The location is great & the rooms are good quality for money.
Thanks for everything guys
Laura & clinton

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much Laura and Clinton for your kind words. Responses like this one from you both make all our hard work and long hours worthwhile.

The natural environment at Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest really is quite special and we feel honored to be able to share our local knowledge with our guests.

Our Motel, although quite old is also special. Where else can you see kangaroos from your room, hear the laughing kookaburras demanding their daily feed and in times passed even the odd koala bear visiting our guest rooms. Such a special location with the native bush land surrounding it but still close enough to walk to the superb restaurants along the waterfront.

Thanks again and we do so look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a very relaxing weekend
Room was very clean but only average in appearance
Spa was a a bit old
A few little touches would have made the room much nicer
Eg.Toilet seat was old looking
Overall people were great who ran the place very helpful and gave us lots of vouchers to use around the area
We had a great weekend
But I was a little disappointed with room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so pleased that you had a relaxing weekend. That is exactly what we hope to achieve when guests stay with us ... that they go home relaxed and ready to resume their busy lifestyles.

Although our motel is an older style motel we try to ensure that all appliances and facilities are well maintained regardless of age and that the rooms are spotlessly clean.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel.

PS Next time you book, request an upgrade to a room on the bushland side - they have the "added touches".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

booked as a 'luxurious spa suite'--what a joke, FAR from luxurious, large room (not what I would call a suite) haden't been painted in 20 years, whole place looked tired, was suppposed to have a bushland suite and got a view of the parking lot, (when questioned about room placement, was told by temp staff that room was assigned by owners that were away and would have to pay to have room cleaned if we moved since we had been inthe room--hadn't unpacked, hadn't even used the bathroom, when we got home checked comfirmation and we were supposed to have 'bushland room'), lousy bed and even worst couch, could hear conversations in next room, a/c noisy and inefficient, and dvd played up. NOT RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Motel.

We are classified as a good 3.5 star motel. Our rooms are clean and we ensure that everything is in good working order. We do rely on guests to let us know if there are problems with any of the room facilities eg air-conditioners, hairdryers, dvd players and these are repaired or replaced.

With regard to the room you booked, I have retrieved your booking. Your package was for a deluxe spa suite and was purchased through a daily deals company at a significant discount (68%). You phoned on 20 June 2012 to make your booking for 2 nights from 23 September 2012. When this booking was made you were upgraded to a bush land room.

On 10 September 2012 you telephoned to change your booking to 2 nights from 30 October 2012. The dates and upgrades for these packages were subject to availability as per the terms and conditions attached to these discounted packages. Unfortunately our bush land rooms were fully booked on the revised dates when you booked into our Motel.

Our Relief Managers did contact me and I advised that in accordance with our Motel policy an upgrade fee of $40.00 per night was required if you wanted to upgrade to a Deluxe Bushland Spa suite which were not one of the rooms offered for these packages.

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay as we do try to ensure that our guests return home rested and relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights and while the staff were very friendly and the location reasonable there is no maid service, which means; no fresh towels, new tea bags, coffee, bath gel, soap etc so really you're just paying for a room.

The cost isn't bad though but the rooms are really dated. Could do with a lick of paint and less carpet on the walls.

Minor gripes aside, this is a standard motel with pleasant owners in a decent location. Won't be coming back but fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel.

We understand that the decor of our rooms is not to everyone's taste however our regular guests and many new guests comment on how relaxing the muted colors of our rooms are. We also agree that the "frontrunner" fabric on the wall needs to be replaced but it is a superb soundproofing material and low maintenance. We are currently exploring other options, all of which are extremely expensive, and some time in the future we will replace this fabric.

Regarding room servicing, a number of years ago we surveyed our regular guests ie those who stay with us more than 3 time a year, to determine what they saw as important when staying at our Motel. A majority of our guests indicated amongst other things, that they would prefer not to have their room serviced. They preferred to sleep in or relax in their room without being interrupted by room service. We realise that this does not suit all our guests. However our rooms are adequately equipped with enough room amenities including tea, coffee, sugar, milk, bath gel, shampoo and soap for up to 4 days. We are more than happy to provide fresh bathroom linen on request.

Our location is what attracts most of our guests to our Motel. It is within walking distance to the restaurants on the waterfront, next to the bowling club, 5 minutes to the beaches and golf club and a short drive to the Myall Lakes National Park.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to comment on our Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel

Address: Yalinbah Street, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.