We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and warm environment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel to your Saves list
Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Yalinbah Street, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A friendly and warm environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You know you are in a safe and ideal location no matter the length of stay. We stayed two nights and were politely greeted each morning despite certain areas of improvement it was an incredibly enjoyable stay given the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
You know you are in a safe and ideal location no matter the length of stay. We stayed two nights and were politely greeted each morning despite certain areas of improvement it was an incredibly enjoyable stay given the hospitality.

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have owned this Motel for 15 years and we are pleased to say that in 15 years we have never encountered any problems. This is one of the joys of living and working in such a lovely peaceful location. Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest - it really is paradise.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed our staffs hospitality and they do go out of their way to make our guests feel welcome.

Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    18
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Photos online misrepresented the accommodation and premises and facilities paid for in room e.g. Twin queen beds for which extra was charged and paid for.
Room stank of mildew
Owners laughed at complaints and refused apology for misrepresentation, and refused refund.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Motel.

We often find people who book through last minute third party websites become confused as they look at so many websites, properties and offers.

Our website has two twin rooms listed - Deluxe Twin Spa Suite ($229 with two queen beds ) and Standard Twin Suite ($209 with queen bed and single bed ... and double sofa bed which we do not advertise for adults as they are quite old).

Our website always displays the best deals available on the day. We apply a 5% surcharge to last minute third party websites to cover the high commissions we pay to these sites. We also do not list all our rooms on these sites.

We run our rooms through a Channel Manager and Property Management System (PMS). When a booking is made either through our website or through a third party booking site, the Channel Manager matches the room to the exact room in our PMS.

We do not offer the Deluxe Twin Spa Suite through the last minute third party booking site you booked through - only the Standard Twin Suite ($209 + 5% = $219 rounded down to nearest $ - this shows up as a Twin Suite on that booking site).

Unfortunately you have also not accurately reported the events of the day.

When you checked in you were directed to the room allocated by the Channel Manager and PMS relevant to your booking and the price you paid. You returned to Reception and advised that this was not the room-type that you booked and that you would also prefer a twin room on the bushland side of the Motel.

I tried to explain to you the booking process outlined above. I also advised that we did not have any twin rooms on the bushland side - all the rooms on this side have only a queen bed. I also explained that our Deluxe Twin Spa Suites, which are on the carpark side of the Motel like the Standard Twin Suites, had been booked out since August for a group function.

You returned to your room and discussed options with your partner before returning to reception, which was full of guests checking in and advised that "We will be not staying ... and keep your money!" You then proceeded to abuse guests who were checking in, sat in the carpark beeping your car horn and abusing a guest who had parked in the driveway and stopped to advise guests who were pulling into the carpart to check in to make sure they checked their rooms before paying.

I am happy to say that these guests did all check their rooms for mould and mildew and all were more than happy with their rooms and all enjoyed their stay.

We have also had an inspection from the local Council's Environmental Health Co-ordinator who inspected quite a few of our rooms and reported that there are no issues with mould or mildew.

We have recently had our AAAT inspection and maintained a high 3.5 star rating and also received TQUAL accreditation.

It is unfortunate that we were fully booked and did not have any rooms available to move you into as we do like to see our guests happy and enjoying our Motel and their stay in the Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest area which is the case with 99% of the people who stay with us.



Robyn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morisset, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

23 golfing ladies spent a lovely 4 days staying at Tea Gardens Country Club Motel. We had a
great time and found everything to our liking. We had one wing of the Motel to ourselves so
were able to make as much noise as we liked without disturbing anyone. We also had a
great BBQ on the premises. The owners were extremely nice and couldn't do enough to please
us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
What a delight it was to have your lady golfers staying with us. We enjoyed our conversations with your ladies talking about golf in general and the lady amatuer and professional golfers such as April and Nikki who we know through Kasey and our times caddying for her.

Although things were not looking good for golf on Friday, the weather turned out to be terrific for golf, except perhaps for the wind.

We were pleased that we could allocated one wing of the Motel for your group. This enabled you to party, move between rooms to socialise and generally be able to relax and enjoy yourselves with fear of disturbing other guests.

We look forward to seeing the girls back soon.

Robyn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a two night stay to celebrate our anniversary and for me to get a "fix" of country quiet. I am a country girl living in the "Big Smoke" and this motel suited us down to the ground. Yes the fixtures in the bathroom were dated - so what!! Yes the walls were carpeted in the hallway - so what!! Yes the room was dark - so what we opened the curtains and door to let in fresh air from the beautiful bush behind us. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, even the dog came to say hello. The bed was very comfy and pillows good. The area we were visiting was quiet, which is why we were visiting. We explored the area and found nice camping and picnic grounds in Myall Lakes National Park. It was neat, clean and apart from one plastic drink bottle (Which we took away with us) totally free of rubbish and graffiti. The BBQ very clean and the lake vista was just magic. We sat there for hours being amused by the ducks, swans, a dingo and all the birds in the bush. We had bacon and eggs with toast on the BBQ and was so much better than any restaurant food we would spend a fortune on.
I have read the review from Smee_12 and I pity you. Thank God there is no "amusement" in Tea Garden for people like you. I reckon that is why they build hideous, noisy, crowded and expensive resorts for people who can't seem to appreciate the simple things in life.
We had dinner one night at the pub just across the way from where the ferry pulls up and I was disappointed with the food. It was pretty tasteless and pricey for what it was - but the staff were very nice and attentive. The second night we walked to the Country Club and there were heaps of people there. There is a choice of Chinese, Thai and Australian meals on the menu (Not just Chinese as Smee_12 stated). My husband and I both had the Sizzling Plate I had Beef and Hubby had Lamb and they were both delicious - heaps of meat and sauce and the veges were cooked just right, not cooked to death. We had a 'small' fried rice to go with it and there was so much food we were stuffed after the meal. It was half the price of what we paid the night before and very, very nice and excellent value for money. The staff were also lovely, efficient and friendly. Things we could have done if we wanted to in Tea Gardens and Hawkes Nest include: a round of golf, fishing, kayaking, bush walking, boating (hiring a tinnie), beach walks, sitting under a shady canopy and watching the oyster guys tending their leases or watching the world go by, have a few drinks and a yarn at the pub, go by ferry to Nelson Bay and spot the dolphins riding the bow waves, do a Myall River cruise, go koala spotting (even though I am not convinced there are any in the wild!!! So Smee_12 you certainly lost out with your trip, your own fault of course - I would recommend the Motel and surrounding area to everyone, that is of course if you like peace, quiet and simple country hospitality. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
What a wonderful review. Receiving responses such as yours makes all our hard work and long hours worthwhile. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and care and attention to detail. We only have a small staff but all who work for us take pride in their work and the motel.

The peace and tranquility is what brings people back to our motel time and time again. Where else can you see kangaroos grazing outside your room.

Yes we are an older motel with some features that you don't see anymore. However on a whole we maintain the property as best we can - replacing our beds, pillows and linen regularly. And yes our rooms might be a little dark (we do use the lighting that is regulated under energy efficiency provisions) but with heavy blockout curtains and sheer privacy curtains, our guests can open the curtains, as you did, and let in a much light or have as much privacy as they wish.

This area really is "Mother Natures wonderland". As you said there is lots to see and lots to do as long as you have an open mind and are not looking for expensive amusement parks and other activities to spend money on.

Although Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest is not over-burdened with restaurants, our guests often comment on the array of good restaurants and the quality of food provided in this area. There is a budget to suit everyone although the choices are limited on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday nights.

Once again thank you for such a terrific review and we look forward to seeing you back here when you need your next "country fix".

Robyn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely motel room. Large bathroom. Great comfy queen size beds. Very clean. Quiet location.
Motel owners were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our short break away and would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It gives us great satisfaction when we receive comments such as yours.

The Tea Gardens/Hawks Nest area is a tremendous area with four beautiful waterways - Bennetts Beach, Jimmy's Beach on Port Stephens, the Myall River and the Myall Lakes. Of course the Myall Lakes National Park is nature's paradise with lots of native animals and more birds than can be found in Kakadu National Park.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First thing the service was good. We were greeted at the front desk by a really friendly man and got a great impression to begin with. Once we got our key and headed towards our room we were extremely confused. It was REALLY REALLY musty. The air was thick and hard to breath. The walls were carpeted and it seemed really dingy. The room was extremely out dated. It was so old and smelt terrible and the furniture/furnishings were from another era. The included breakfast consisted of a take away container sitting on the bench with weetbix and another of cereal. In the fridge there was a tiny jug of uncovered milk and another of orange juice with a packet of a few slices of bread...

The toilet still had urine in it (i noticed this after taking the 'hygienically cleaned and sealed' paper off the lid). The whole bathroom stunk of Urine. There was a hair stuck to the wall in the bathroom the basin was all cracked and scratched and there was no way (!) either of us were going to touch the spa. We even worn thongs in the shower.

It was really dark, even during the day with the curtains wide open we had to put the lights on to see what we were doing.

The country club had a total of about 20 people (staff included) - only option for food was chinese, which was over priced and not even very good.

I spent the whole night itching and coughing from allergies while my partner was awake until 3am saying how much he was upset we had gone all that way for that. In the morning we thought we'd give it the benefit of the day and try to enjoy our day and stay the second night. We drove down to the restaurants by the lake the first we went to didn't do breakfast, the boat shed restaurant had fantastic food though. After walking around for a bit realised our options for the day were to walk around, drive to nelson bay to find something to do or sit around doing nothing. It is definitely a retirement place, and not somewhere to go to actually do anything. We decided to go back to the motel, pack our stuff and go all the way home. It was my partners birthday and we had a fishing trip organised for the next day. It still wasn't worth staying.

Some people seem to have really enjoyed their stay, and seem to think it is nice. I guess at the end of the day it is all about perception. Make your own mind up but have very low expectations.
Luckily we received this two night away as a gift and didn't pay for it ourselves, otherwise i'm sure we would have been really annoyed.
I briefly explained to the man at reception that we weren't really happy to stay there the next night and that he may want to look into the cleaning people. He was extremely apologetic and kept saying sorry and genuinely looked confused as to why we weren't happy. Maybe they would be better off advertising as a cheap, 2 star, stop-over motel. Or something for senior citizens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Motel and for your positive comment about our Relief Managers who do an excellent job taking care of our guests during our absence.

I have noted your concerns about the cleanliness of your room. I have to say I am amazed as we have a policy to carefully check all our guests rooms after housekeeping staff have completed their cleaning and again before incoming guests arrive. I am therefore surprised at your comment regarding the cleanliness of this room as I had personally checked this room and sprayed it with air-freshner following the departure of the previous guest prior to your arrival. It is unfortunate that you did not report your concerns to our relief managers immediately on arriving in your room as they would have been able to identify and rectify any deemed problems. I do however believe that the "urine" you identified was actually our water which comes from underground and has a very high iron content. The water can be very yellow, particularly after heavy rain which we had a couple of days prior to your arrival.

I do agree our Motel is an older-style Motel. However we have recently (May 2012) been assessed by AAA Tourism which co-ordinates the rating system for tourism accommodation nationally. We received a very high 3 1/2 star rating as well as obtaining TQUAL status.

We also discussed refurbishing our rooms with the AAA Tourism assessor. However his recommendation was that the furniture in our rooms was genuine timber and was better quality than any of the new furniture available which are now only timber laminate. I should also mention that he was quite taken with the Frontrunner fabric (it is not actually carpet on the wall) which is specifically designed for noise-reduction.

With regard to the lighting in the corridors and guest rooms, all our rooms have been fitted with new-environmentally friendly compact flourescent lights. These were installed by government-funded installers in compliance with the government's energy reduction requirements.

You mentioned that this package was given to you as a gift and it is unfortunate that you did not appreciate our unique environment. Guests on our packages are given a wide range of information on activities to do during their stay. There is information on things to see and do and maps in guests rooms including timetables for ferry departure and whale watching cruises .. such relaxing activities which were part of the package.

Your package included a mini-bar style breakfast (ie juice, toast and cereal). This style of breakfast is simply aimed to give you a start to the day and to enable you to have a more substantial lunch at one of the delightful restaurants on the river front or at Nelson Bay had you taken one of the cruises.

You mentioned the lack of people at the Country Club but this is only a small town of 1300 people. Most visitors enjoy the fact that they don't have to bump and jostle to get a drink at the bar or queue for meals. I also wonder at your comment at the restaurant as the Sun Tea Gardens Restaurant serves chinese, Thai and Australian meals!

Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest prides itself on being a peaceful, trouble-free environment for those people looking to get away from the hustle, bustle and traumas of everyday life and city living. The natural beauty of the area including the two beautiful beaches, the delightful Myall River with it magnificent black swans, Port Stephens with its amazing dolphin population and of course the Myall Lakes National Park with its abundant flora (flannel flowers, gymea lilies) and fauna (koalas, dingoes, kangaroos) are just some of the attractions which keep bringing people back to this area time and time again.

As you mention "...some people have really enjoyed their stay, and seem to think it is nice. I guest at the end of the day it is all about perception..."

How right you are! If you arrive with pre-conceived ideas you may well be disappointed but if you embrace the natural beauty of this area you could explore for a week and still be amazed at what you find!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Motel room was large and well-furnished. It was spotlessly clean. The bedding was very comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, we had an excellent stay and would recommend this motel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bush side otherwise the view is out onto the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for your terrific review of the Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel. I have shown your comments to our housekeeping staff and they were delighted that their efforts in ensuring that the rooms are spotlessly clean are apprecitated.

We have had a couple of recent comments on our decor and the quality of our beds. However your comment on the decor and how comfortable the bedding is, is certainly the same feedback we receive from 99% of our guests. In fact the complaint we most often receive from guests is that the beds are too comfortable and they sleep in beyond the 10.00am check out time!

Once again thank you for your review and your recommendation to others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.3 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
11.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 2 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 3 in Tea Gardens
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Hawks Nest Beach
1.9 mi away
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
#2 of 2 in Hawks Nest
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel

Address: Yalinbah Street, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.