We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Unimpressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel to your Saves list
Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Yalinbah Street, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First thing the service was good. We were greeted at the front desk by a really friendly man and got a great impression to begin with. Once we got our key and headed towards our room we were extremely confused. It was REALLY REALLY musty. The air was thick and hard to breath. The walls were carpeted and it seemed really dingy. The room was extremely out dated. It was so old and smelt terrible and the furniture/furnishings were from another era. The included breakfast consisted of a take away container sitting on the bench with weetbix and another of cereal. In the fridge there was a tiny jug of uncovered milk and another of orange juice with a packet of a few slices of bread...

The toilet still had urine in it (i noticed this after taking the 'hygienically cleaned and sealed' paper off the lid). The whole bathroom stunk of Urine. There was a hair stuck to the wall in the bathroom the basin was all cracked and scratched and there was no way (!) either of us were going to touch the spa. We even worn thongs in the shower.

It was really dark, even during the day with the curtains wide open we had to put the lights on to see what we were doing.

The country club had a total of about 20 people (staff included) - only option for food was chinese, which was over priced and not even very good.

I spent the whole night itching and coughing from allergies while my partner was awake until 3am saying how much he was upset we had gone all that way for that. In the morning we thought we'd give it the benefit of the day and try to enjoy our day and stay the second night. We drove down to the restaurants by the lake the first we went to didn't do breakfast, the boat shed restaurant had fantastic food though. After walking around for a bit realised our options for the day were to walk around, drive to nelson bay to find something to do or sit around doing nothing. It is definitely a retirement place, and not somewhere to go to actually do anything. We decided to go back to the motel, pack our stuff and go all the way home. It was my partners birthday and we had a fishing trip organised for the next day. It still wasn't worth staying.

Some people seem to have really enjoyed their stay, and seem to think it is nice. I guess at the end of the day it is all about perception. Make your own mind up but have very low expectations.
Luckily we received this two night away as a gift and didn't pay for it ourselves, otherwise i'm sure we would have been really annoyed.
I briefly explained to the man at reception that we weren't really happy to stay there the next night and that he may want to look into the cleaning people. He was extremely apologetic and kept saying sorry and genuinely looked confused as to why we weren't happy. Maybe they would be better off advertising as a cheap, 2 star, stop-over motel. Or something for senior citizens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Motel and for your positive comment about our Relief Managers who do an excellent job taking care of our guests during our absence.

I have noted your concerns about the cleanliness of your room. I have to say I am amazed as we have a policy to carefully check all our guests rooms after housekeeping staff have completed their cleaning and again before incoming guests arrive. I am therefore surprised at your comment regarding the cleanliness of this room as I had personally checked this room and sprayed it with air-freshner following the departure of the previous guest prior to your arrival. It is unfortunate that you did not report your concerns to our relief managers immediately on arriving in your room as they would have been able to identify and rectify any deemed problems. I do however believe that the "urine" you identified was actually our water which comes from underground and has a very high iron content. The water can be very yellow, particularly after heavy rain which we had a couple of days prior to your arrival.

I do agree our Motel is an older-style Motel. However we have recently (May 2012) been assessed by AAA Tourism which co-ordinates the rating system for tourism accommodation nationally. We received a very high 3 1/2 star rating as well as obtaining TQUAL status.

We also discussed refurbishing our rooms with the AAA Tourism assessor. However his recommendation was that the furniture in our rooms was genuine timber and was better quality than any of the new furniture available which are now only timber laminate. I should also mention that he was quite taken with the Frontrunner fabric (it is not actually carpet on the wall) which is specifically designed for noise-reduction.

With regard to the lighting in the corridors and guest rooms, all our rooms have been fitted with new-environmentally friendly compact flourescent lights. These were installed by government-funded installers in compliance with the government's energy reduction requirements.

You mentioned that this package was given to you as a gift and it is unfortunate that you did not appreciate our unique environment. Guests on our packages are given a wide range of information on activities to do during their stay. There is information on things to see and do and maps in guests rooms including timetables for ferry departure and whale watching cruises .. such relaxing activities which were part of the package.

Your package included a mini-bar style breakfast (ie juice, toast and cereal). This style of breakfast is simply aimed to give you a start to the day and to enable you to have a more substantial lunch at one of the delightful restaurants on the river front or at Nelson Bay had you taken one of the cruises.

You mentioned the lack of people at the Country Club but this is only a small town of 1300 people. Most visitors enjoy the fact that they don't have to bump and jostle to get a drink at the bar or queue for meals. I also wonder at your comment at the restaurant as the Sun Tea Gardens Restaurant serves chinese, Thai and Australian meals!

Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest prides itself on being a peaceful, trouble-free environment for those people looking to get away from the hustle, bustle and traumas of everyday life and city living. The natural beauty of the area including the two beautiful beaches, the delightful Myall River with it magnificent black swans, Port Stephens with its amazing dolphin population and of course the Myall Lakes National Park with its abundant flora (flannel flowers, gymea lilies) and fauna (koalas, dingoes, kangaroos) are just some of the attractions which keep bringing people back to this area time and time again.

As you mention "...some people have really enjoyed their stay, and seem to think it is nice. I guest at the end of the day it is all about perception..."

How right you are! If you arrive with pre-conceived ideas you may well be disappointed but if you embrace the natural beauty of this area you could explore for a week and still be amazed at what you find!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    18
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Motel room was large and well-furnished. It was spotlessly clean. The bedding was very comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, we had an excellent stay and would recommend this motel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bush side otherwise the view is out onto the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for your terrific review of the Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel. I have shown your comments to our housekeeping staff and they were delighted that their efforts in ensuring that the rooms are spotlessly clean are apprecitated.

We have had a couple of recent comments on our decor and the quality of our beds. However your comment on the decor and how comfortable the bedding is, is certainly the same feedback we receive from 99% of our guests. In fact the complaint we most often receive from guests is that the beds are too comfortable and they sleep in beyond the 10.00am check out time!

Once again thank you for your review and your recommendation to others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The website gives the impression that this is a modern motel. In reality it's a typical 80's style motel with dated decor.
I think only a few rooms have been updated - we got an old one.
Owners were very helpful, bowling club next door was good - nice playground for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Motel. Our Motel is an older-style Motel which has just been given a very positive 3 1/2 star rating from the AAA Tourism as well as obtaining TQUAL status.

With regard to the photos on our website, our website was only re-designed in June 2012. The photos of the exterior of the Motel and of our rooms were taken in May 2012. Most of our rooms have been updated.

We are pleased you enjoyed the central location of our Motel. There are certainly advantages in being located next to the Tea Gardens Country Club ... the restaurant and children's playground are certainly both popular.

We hope that you will re-visit us sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very dated, but clean. Bed was really old & so bad had no sleep & checked out the next day!!! Very disappointing as my husband & I really needed a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Motel. We believe we have excellent staff who take great pride in ensuring that our rooms are spotlessly clean.

With regards to your disappointment with the comfort of your bed, I recall that your booking was made at the last minute and you were anxious to use your voucher that particular weekend. I recall explaining that we were fully booked except for a family spa suite. This room is very popular with families but being a family room the beds sometimes get used as trampolines instead of beds!

I appreciate that with a very young baby you were looking to have a relaxing weekend away and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We have only every had a few complaints about our beds in the 15 years we have owned the Motel. We do have a refurbishment program which sees our beds replaced on a regular basis.

We have noted your concerns and have recently ordered new beds as the next stage of our refurbishment program so that our guests can be assured that they will experience a good, restful night's sleep.

Once again thanks for your comments and we hope that you will return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morisset, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at TGCI Motel for two nights. We found the place homely and very comfortable. Management was friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Our biggest surprise was the proximity the place was to the river and shops - just a short stroll. Every room has double sliding doors with a private verandah overlooking bushland. That was magic for claustraphobic persons like ourselves. There was ample parking space. Our room was spotless, with a massive bathroom that contained a spa, shower and toilet. We requested additional bedding which was provided. Food - Choice of breakfast food was varied and other meals were available just 50 steps away at the RSL Club or a 4 minute walk, at a number of riverside cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: I susupect all rooms would have excellent sleep quality. Personally I would choose rooms away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
It was a pleasure to be your hosts for your recent visit. Our Motel, although an older style, is clean and comfortable. Being centrally located certainly has its advantages. Our bush land rooms have a beautiful aspect and many of our guests are delighted to see the native wildlife, including our little wallaby and her Joey. Of course the kookaburras put on a daily show for our guests too.

We really appreciate your time in reviewing our property and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great place to stay. Very quiet surroundings: all you hear is birds and crickets and frogs. Bowling Club next door for food, booze and pokies. Ambulance station down the road if you over-imbibe, but if you don't survive, cemetery very closeby {just joking}. VERY QUIET- no traffic noise. Great owners. Older style accomodation which I truely loved. Fantastic owners.

Keith and Mary

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks you so much Keith and Mary for writing such a wonderful review. As I respond I can hear the parrots and kookaburras in the native bushland enjoying the beautiful sunny morning.

I have to agree our location is quite unique, surrounded by bushland, no passing traffic, next to the Tea Gardens Country Club, a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and the riverfront and a 5 minute drive to the beaches.

The perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Once again thank you for such a wonderful review and thanks for referring your family and friends to us.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family recently stayed at this motel for 2 nights as we had bought this voucher through an internet deal. I have to say it was well worth the money we spent and so peaceful and relaxing to get out of the city for the weekend. Apart from the accomodation we got a yummy bottle of wine on arrival to use while in the big spa bath, ready made breakfast, heaps of dining vouchers and other discount vouchers to use such as the ferry cruise to Nelson Bay in which the kids managed to spot a few dolphins! The room was spacious to fit 2 adults and 2 kids and was very clean, however interior is bit outdated and we had abit of trouble trying to control the airconditioning and had to get a new toaster as it wasn't working, however Robyn and Terry were very accomodating to all our requests and I will definitely be recommending this place again. The surrounding area of Hawks Nest was so peaceful, great areas to fish and really nice beaches will definitely have to be on our list of new summer getaways.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Our current special is certainly very good value for money. We have had terrific feedback from guests. The ferry cruise has been very popular and the dolphins are a thrill to see frolicking in Port Stephens.

Our rooms are certainly very spacious and can easily accommodate a family for a few days. The spa baths are also very popular and a great way to unwind at the end of a busy day.

We endeavour to present neat, clean accommodation for our guests and our room attendants do a terrific job in ensuring that rooms are "just right" for incoming guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.3 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
11.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 2 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 3 in Tea Gardens
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Hawks Nest Beach
1.9 mi away
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
#2 of 2 in Hawks Nest
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel

Address: Yalinbah Street, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.