We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Rock Dive Centre

Fish Rock Dive Centre
134 Gregory St, South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia
(02) 6566 6614
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So good we went back for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the best dive I have ever done thanks to Fish Rock Dive Centre! The guys, Jake, John and Matt, are extremely knowledgeable in and out of the water. They're quick to get the gear on and off the boat but what's more important is they are completely safety conscious.

Jake started with the detailed brief of what to expect and in we went! Straight away we saw so many sharks we couldn't count! We were underwater for a good 50 minutes. It was unreal! Also, Jake is amazing when it comes to safety stops. It's not just hanging off the rope being bored - instead he takes you over to the rocks to check out some of the other waterlife lingering around!

Then, it was back on the boat for tea, coffee, crackers, soups and cake! After about an hour, and another detailed explanation of the cave, we were in the water again. More sharks, crayfish, Wobbegongs, rays, turtles, sea spiders: lots of cool stuff like a 4mm nudie branch. (The guy's got eyes like a hawk!) I was a bit weary about being in a confined space, but Jake put my mind at ease and I was absolutely enjoying the dive! It opened up to this gorgeous blue light that bathed part of the exit where there was an abundance of sealife!

The cave dive we were under water for a good hour and it was well worth every minute of it!

I HIGHLY recommend these guys - they're small so you get personal attention and they're totally down to earth not to mention totally SAFE. They love their job, you can tell! Also, as an added unexpected bonus, they gave us a CD full of photos and videos that were taken on our dive!

So, after all that awesome diving we decided that we'd head back later in the week to South West Rocks for another dive! Now, I'm looking forward to doing some advanced dive courses with them in the future!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great tight knit operation with a lot of care and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Thanks Jon, Larry and Matt for a great couple of days diving at this amazing dive site. We had a great time listening to Larry and Matt's commentary on the area on the boat trip out. Aside from Fish Rock being a must see dive site, the team were great and we particularly enjoyed the soups and other goodies between dives and the very thoughtful dousing of divers with hot water in between dives - a great idea to warm us up!

The crew were knowledgable and showed us all the difficult to find attractions under water.

Jon the skipper is great at reading the water and doesn't push rough conditions - safety first. The team were also accommodating with our post dive as hoc whale watching!

A complimentary DVD of photos taken on the dive was a bonus.

Thanks guys

Aaron & Alysha

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome dive experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

In my limited experience there are three parts to every dive trip; the diving itself, the diving support, and the holiday around the diving. Put Fish Rock way up the top of your dive list in Australia, its the closest point to the continental shelf and as such is a magnet for pelagic fish like shark and rays who feed in the ocean by night and rest around the rock during the day.... there were at least twenty grey nurse sharks hanging in the 22 degree water on the Queens birthday weekend with vis between 5-15 metres. The sharks are out in the gutters cruising about and you get right in there with them. Then there's the rock cave which is a cool little dive, pretty intense enclosed experience with heaps of interesting features. I had four dives on the site over two days and that was about right. you'll probably want more than two dives.
then theres the support, Jon's boat is great for up to maybe 10 divers, but was working well with 5 or 6. Jake and Matt were great dive masters and know the site back to front, really helpfyul with the dive gear and tank changeovers..... loved the hot water they brought along to tip down the suits :) heaps of background info about the area and the site and really friendly and engaging throughout. The shop couldnt be better positioned attached to the Costa Rica motel which works perfectly for early morning diving start time of 7.30am. The cost was very reasonable, and whilst there i did two PADI specialty courses - this was a big deal for me and Jon was straight on it..... great spot for doing the Deep Dive Specialty as there are a few sites in the 35 metre range with quite a few sharks down deep.
South West rocks is beautiful but pretty quiet as a holiday space, especially in the winter time, lots of beautiful spaces but its tucked away from the rest of the world and you'll want a car. Best thing about diving this part of the world at this time was the Whales ... there were quite a few around, but we were fortunate enough on the way home to find a couple in proximity and spent an extra half hour watching them breach.
All in all 5 star experience and looking forward to getting back one day. You will to...those sharks are awesome and there's probably nowhere better for them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sydney dive shops could learn a lot from these guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My friends and I went out with fish rock dive centre around two weeks ago and had a fantastic time. Jon and jake did such a great job and handled the loading, launching and recovery with military speed and precision. Nothing was too much trouble and they really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great day. I plan to dive fish rock again in the coming weeks and jon and jake are the obvious choice after our last experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and very efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dived with these guys twice and they were great both times. Very accommodating to requests and unbelievably efficient. John and Jake looked after me and my friends and they loaded that boat in and out of the water super fast. Little touches like changing over our rigs to the second tank for us, giving me extra air, having warm water on board for filling the wet suit between dives and giving us a pile of photos that Jake was taking of us the whole time the moment we were changed at the shop were all great. Boat has no loo, which I'm not a huge fan of, but more than compensated by being competent and fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Rock Dive Centre also viewed

South West Rocks, New South Wales
South West Rocks, New South Wales
 
South West Rocks, New South Wales
South West Rocks, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish Rock Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Rock Dive Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.