We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hubby's Fantastic Surprise 40th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   161 Phillip Drive, South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia (Formerly Trial Bay Eco Tourist Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay a little longer!
Certificate of Excellence
South West Rocks, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hubby's Fantastic Surprise 40th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our family is local to South West Rocks and I wanted to organise a surprise 40th weekend for my husband somewhere we could enjoy the company of those who had travelled for the event. From the moment I entered Big4 Sunshine - SWR, the staff were extremely helpful in answering my enquiries. We hired seven cabins, one ensuite site and three powered camp sites. Each and every person who stayed at Big4 with us were impressed with the quality of cabins, enormous camp kitchen, luxurious pool area and range of activities for the kids. Our friends and family will definitely be back to Big4 Sunshine - SWR and so will we, it really is a hidden oasis!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
69
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 4 night stay in a 2 bedroom cabin in this beautiful caravan park. The park is situated in a peaceful bushland setting mid way between South West Rocks and Trial Bay. Our cabin was clean and comfortable. There are heaps of great facilities for families such as mini golf, tennis, pools etc. Despite it being school holidays during our stay, the park was not crowded which has been our experience of other coastal locations at school holiday periods. Our kids especially enjoyed the kangaroos which visited this park in the afternoon. We would definitely recommend this park to others.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Cabins are clean, facilities such as BBQ areas and kids entertainment are well located around the park. The kids want to come back. The location is just a little out of the way if you want to walk to town. Big 4 do a great job at offering plenty for the kids to do so I doubt very much you will hear
"I'm bored!" From the 14 and under.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival were offered an upgrade to luxury lagoon cabin. Wow everything about it is so nice the beds, linen, decor, appliances, washer dryer, space, deck. This park has lovely pool area, games room jumping pillow playground tennis the list goes on and on. Divine bush surrounds, kangaroos, lagoon! Perfect walk to trial bay gaol and restaurant. Seriously love love love this park and want to stay longer. Ice walk into main town area. Bliss, love it here! Definitely stay here again if ever back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The holiday park is located between the township and the local tourist attractions. The park is well set-out with friendly staff and kangaroos keeping the kids happy. The park is protected from strong winds with plenty of trees and lovely gardens. The only negative is the poor camp kitchen facilities. The kitchen is well set-up with plenty of seating, however the 1 x toaster ,1 x kettle and 2 gas BBQs (payment required) with no hotplates/oven make it difficult to cook unless you want a BBQ everyday.

Room Tip: Plenty of caravan and cabins sites available including ensuite sites. Pick an area away from kid'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay around Anzac Day. Travelled with 2 and 3 year old and they had an amazing time. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin (cabin 10). It didn't have room in the bedroom for the portacot and my son was too noisy to sleep in the open room with us so he learnt to sleep in the bottom bunk and loved it! The kids loved the toddler pool and swimming at trial bay which is perfect for little ones and the 2yo persisted to ride his balance bike on the gravel roads around the park. We loved seeing the kangaroos and kookaburras. Our 3yo made lots of friends on the jumping pillow which was her favourite thing. The park was quiet, especially for end of school holidays. The set up for wet weather would be great too only we were lucky to have perfect sunny weather. The stay inspired us to buy a camping trailer and we look forward to returning. Staff were very accommodating to our needs, including my early morning search for butter and booking an extra night because we were having so much fun!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent park, possibly one of the best we've seen. Great setting with lots of native wildlife, camp kitchen is huge and well appointed, facilities very good and clean.

Our en suite site was very clean and nestled in trees, we really did not want to leave.

Looks like there's canoe hire in peak time, lots for kids with free putt putt etc. walking distance to the country club for good meals and Arakoon national park is great.

SWR is one of NSWs best kept secrets, lots to see and do, just a magic place. Highly recommended. 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South West Rocks
1.6 mi away
The Seabreeze Beach Hotel
The Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in South West Rocks
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rockpool Motor Inn
Rockpool Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smoky Cape Retreat
Smoky Cape Retreat
#1 of 6 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Nambucca Heads
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
17.2 mi away
White Albatross Holiday Park
White Albatross Holiday Park
#2 of 7 in Nambucca Heads
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heritage Guesthouse
Heritage Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in South West Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park

Address: 161 Phillip Drive, South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia (Formerly Trial Bay Eco Tourist Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > South West Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in South West Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the multi-award winning BIG4 Sunshine, South West Rocks, an independently owned member of BIG4 Holiday Parks. This beautiful seaside town, half-way between Sydney and Brisbane and only an hour from Port Macquarie and Coffs Harbour. A quiet location, sheltered from the winds but not too far from town the town centre, BIG4 Sunshine Tourist Park offers you the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy a great family holiday. With an extensive range of camping, caravan and 4 star self contained accommodation options we offer something to suit all tastes and budgets. Our facilities include movie room, camp kitchen, BBQs, resort pool, spa, games room, toddlers play area, playgrounds, jumping pillow, half court tennis, free internet kiosk, laundry will excite any traveler. Surrounded by National Park and home of many species of wildlife, watch our resident kangaroo family frolic as the backdrop of the colours of the sunset frame you're your memorable holiday photographs. Whether you are a couple who are reconnecting and enjoying the freedom of camping or caravaning, international guests looking for nature and history or a family wanting all the facilities including kids club, come and see what everyone is talking about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.