We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home but so much cuter...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heritage Guesthouse to your Saves list
Heritage Guesthouse
21 - 23 Livingstone St., South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home but so much cuter...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in South West Rocks almost every year for the last 25 years but have never stayed in the Guesthouse...I can't believe I have waited this long! It is such a beautiful building, inside and out. My sister and I stayed in room 3 which has 2 twin beds and an ensuite. The bedroom has that quaint old fashioned feel while the bathroom looks as though it has been recently renovated and is a bit more modern looking...both are immaculately clean. The kitchen is great, with different cereals, bread, juice, coffee and tea there for you take make breakfast at your own leisure and meet other lovely guests. If you are more into a cooked breakfast, the cafe right out the front does a great breakfast, I have eaten there for years. I also liked the seating area down the side of the building, plus the cute veranda area out the front that was lovely to sit and have a coffee in the morning. The location is fantastic, right across from the beach and walking distance to everything you need. Very friendly staff. Definitely recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. You've covered all the things that travellers want to know. Your photos are wonderful, better than our own I believe!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Heritage due to its proximity to the SWR Surf Club. We were attending a function there and were after suitable accommodation within walking distance. We had the choice of cabins in the nearby Caravan Park plus staying in a hotel also in close approximity but chose the Heritage Guest House. What a great decision - beautiful rooms and bed plus ensuite bathroom and a magnificent community kitchen (continental breakfast was included in the tariff).
All this in a very maintained "heritage" building- truly made the evening.We have stayed at South West Rocks before in other accommodation but this would have to be our No 1 choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a front downstairs room on a weekend - very quiet and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review. Your comments do really mean a lot to us & I know how important they are to potential guests as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I visited for a special occasion recntly. Stayed in the king spa room #6. Fantastic feel to the property and convenient to everything in tow. The property was tastefully furnished and nothing was too much hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Guesthouse & a special thankyou for making that review so positive.As Trip Adviser users ourselves we always want to read what REAL travellers say about various properties enabling us to make informed decisions about where we might stay. We have a number of overseas guests who come & stay with us based on what they have read on Trip Adviser, so thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, AUSTRALIA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms were very large, quiet, and clean Fringe included and LCD TV ironing boards available downstairs BBQ available in a quiet courtyard
staff were very attentive, HELP YOURSELF CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST AND FREE WIFI (HIGH SPEED)
Located just across the park from the beach (very warm water in January)
plenty to do in the area

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Guesthouse. Very much appreciated by all of us. Trip Adviser has become the travellers' Bible I believe & so now more potential guests will have info from yourself first hand. Location means everything to us when we travel so thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was able to stay here only one brief night, with not much time to adequately enjoy the guest house. But it gets high marks for character, charm, cleanliness, roominess... I stayed in a room on the ground floor, not far from the kitchen. The room was large - with high ceilings - very comfortable with nice furniture. It would be a pleasure to stay here several days. There were a number of eateries in the surrounding block or two. This is a lovely place - I highly recommend it. Three of us stayed in three different rooms, and we all enjoyed this guest house. [The only reason I'm not giving it an excellent rating is the very basic breakfast - not bad, just basic (as I recall, cereal out of the little individual-size boxes).]

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
It is wonderful to think that overseas travellers enjoy the Guesthouse & recommend it so highly.I'm sure that your review will attract other guests & for that we are all very grateful. Hope the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at The Heritage Guest House as a half way mark between Sydney and Byron Bay. Our stay was so comfortable on the way up that we booked for the way back as well. This is a lovely guesthouse in a very central location in South West Rocks. The reason that I felt the need to write a review was simply because of the high standard of the rooms.

Someone is putting some serious time into upkeep and maintenance!! The rooms and ensuites were well beyond our expectations. We are a family that travel a lot here and overseas, across all accommodation types. We all commented on the way both our rooms had ben amazingly well looked after. It felt like a new room.

We stayed in 2 different rooms and would highly recommend one of the 2 upstairs rooms that open out onto the balcony and ocean view.

We were well looked after on our two brief visits.

Having the communal kitchen downstairs was a huge bonus as we had a car loaded with Christmas food. It was great to be able to refrigerate it properly overnight in both directions.

Woud highly recommend this guesthouse for anyone travelling north/south and needing a place to break the journey. South West Rocks is so beautiful and this guesthouse exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, all the girls were very chuffed!! They do put a hell of a lot of effort into the up keep of the Guesthouse & it is wonderful to see that recognised. When choosing a place to stay location & cleanliness are very important to me, so I'm absolutely certain that your review will attract more guests & for that we are all very grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A short but sweet stay. Very friendly and attentive staff. Booked 2 rooms, which both had lovely furnishings, which complemented the style and age of the guest house. Beautiful communal garden, and front terrace. Added bonus of a kitchen, which was super, as we were on a road trip and meant we could re-freeze our ice packs before the next installment of the journey from to Byron from Sydney. The only reason this is a 4 star review is the breakfast. I would have preferred a voucher to put towards the food from the cafe at the front of the property (which was super) as opposed to the self serve cereal and toast that was on offer. Though my parents enjoyed this very much. A great stopping point, and a really unique and charming property. Thank you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrnsw, Owner at Heritage Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the Guesthouse. I use Trip Adviser like the Bible & your review will bring guests to our door I know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Guesthouse

Address: 21 - 23 Livingstone St., South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > South West Rocks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in South West Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly renovated 1880s seaside guesthouse in the heart of South West Rocks. Situated half way between Sydney and Brisbane, on the mid north coast of NSW, this is the ideal location to break your trip as you drive up the Pacific coast from one major city to another. A home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.