We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heritage Guesthouse to your Saves list
Heritage Guesthouse
21 - 23 Livingstone St., South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have just spent the past 2 nights here. We were in south west rocks for a Wedding. We had the disabled room because my husband is an amputee and having a shower chair just makes life that much easier for him. The rooms are lovely and clean. It looks like it has recently been renovated.

Breakfast was included in our rate and this included juices, coffee/tea, cereals and toast. There were also biscuits always on the kitchen table. The kitchen is communal.

The only negative thing I can say about staying there is that there is not tea and coffee making facilitiies in your room which I prefer

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Another treat on our Aussie trip. South West Rocks is a fabulous little, largely unspoilt place and the Heritage is surely the best in town. Beautiful "olde worlde" (hence the name) rooms and lovely location, about 100 yards from a super little beach. Warm welcome and comfortable, clean room.
We had a briilliant day at the Gaol and Smoky Cape lighthouse on our way out of town.
A gem of a place, already recommended to our Aussie friends.
Breakfast is "help yourself" but that didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Vale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed one night and absolutely loved the building. Big, clean and well appointed rooms. service was friendly and efficient. Was disappointed with breakfast though. Im fine with continental but it doesn't take much to make it special. Bread was yesterday's which was a bit slack.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

South West Rocks NSW Australia is a wonderful place to visit, a very good place to stay over for a few days if you are travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. The Heritage Guesthouse is the best place to stay its FABULOUS!!! The rooms are beautiful with luxurious bedding, soft white towels and an amazingly comfortable bed and pillows. Our room was in the front on the Ist floor with French doors that opened out to a balcony with our own table and chairs looking out towards the ocean, a great place to relax and have a wine or two in the evening. We stayed two nights and wished we had longer. Trish the owner is very friendly and helpful, she has created with her husband a wonderful establishment. The attention to detail is outstanding, all the fittings in the bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms are of the highest quality and the little fridge in our room was a nice touch. I noticed in the room there was a oil-fired radiator for cooler weather as well as AC and a ceiling fan The guest kitchen was well equiped and the sitting area adjacent was a good place to have a BBQ in the evening. We loved staying here and enjoyed talking to other guests we met there who liked it as much as we did. We would highly recommend The Heritage Guesthouse and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the front on the first floor with a view and the bacony and chairs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a gem of a place. South West is a quiet location. The bedrooms are decorated to a high standard and the bed is top sleep quality. The breakfast is set up in the kitchen and is help yourself to fruit juice, cereal and toast. We did miss fresh fruit and yogurt. The bedrooms led off to a lovely veranda to sit and admire the lovely beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but we did noticed the downstairs back rooms were quite dark, compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Very happy to have found this place. Just across the road from the beach this restored hotel was offering winter specials. Great front rooms with ensuites and balconies. One has a king bed and spa! Excellent shared kitchen facilities too.

Room Tip: Select the king with spa and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

While we stayed only one night this was a great find. Beautifully restored rooms and very reasonable prices. Probably best location in SW Rocks and very helpful staff (or perhaps the owner). Given the proximity to the beach I asked if there was anywhere to hire fishing rods. The very kind lady on reception lent her own fishing gear.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South West Rocks
0.0 mi away
The Seabreeze Beach Hotel
The Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in South West Rocks
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rockpool Motor Inn
Rockpool Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in South West Rocks
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Smoky Cape Retreat
Smoky Cape Retreat
#1 of 6 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park
BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks...
#2 of 5 in South West Rocks
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa Rica Resort Motel
Costa Rica Resort Motel
#5 of 6 in South West Rocks
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
16.8 mi away
Riverview Boutique Motel
Riverview Boutique Motel
#1 of 3 in Nambucca Heads
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Guesthouse

Address: 21 - 23 Livingstone St., South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > South West Rocks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in South West Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly renovated 1880s seaside guesthouse in the heart of South West Rocks. Situated half way between Sydney and Brisbane, on the mid north coast of NSW, this is the ideal location to break your trip as you drive up the Pacific coast from one major city to another. A home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.