We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Hungarian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner 75 Restaurant

Corner 75 Restaurant
75 Frenchmans Road, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
61 2 9399 5712
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 399 Restaurants in Randwick
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: International, European, Hungarian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Hungarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Went here for Mothers Day. First time visit. The place was busy and the vibe was lovely. restaurant delivers authentic Hungarian fare! crumbed mushrooms and sauce has fantastic fusion melted in my mouth. Schnitzel was great as was chicken in cherry sauce. pancakes are to die for! Word of warning, the Langos with garlic sauce is addictive! The staff are Hungarian and very engaging which made the evening even more special. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
564 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Great and disappointing too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 8 for a birthday celebration. The table provided was for 6 with two additional chairs crammed in. The whole evening consisted of plate and glass movement to accommodate additional plates and glasses. We used the floor to hold the champagne and wine bottles that would not fit on the table. As for the food, the starters and mains were delicious. The dessert, very disappointing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow this was a surprise. At first, the restaurant looks very inconspicuous from outside and dated inside but wait until you let the old framed pictures on the wallpapered walls and glass chandelier sink in and you will feel as if you are in a real Hungarian restaurant somewhere in the Budapest city centre! We chose the Langos with crème and garlic to start with and it was better than other Hungarian places we had dined at. A little bit of a disappointment was the Goulash soup we had, the potatoes were not quite done and the amount for the price of 10 dollars wasn't really adequate but at least we had some space in our stomachs for the upcoming mains - signature Duckling with sauerkraut and mash potatoes with this absolutely mind blowing Cherry sauce you have to try! Probably still under the cherry spell we dared to try the cherry strudel with whipped cream and ice cream. Well, the portion of whipped cream was anything but tiny and the strudel was nice but didn't really taste like freshly home made. The service was so so, the waitress swapped the sides of the fork and knife right in front of me which was funny and they all seemed not to care very much and so for example we had to ask for the dessert menu which had never ever happened to us in any Sydney restaurant before. Simply no upselling attempts at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best schnitzels in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Local favourite that we keep going back to for the best chicken and veal schnitzels. They melt like cotton candy in your mouth. Easy parking out front, friendly service and value for money. Worth the trip if out of you way to get to. Kids playground 50 m away as well as bottle shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is comforting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

With winter coming on the desire for "comfort food" (you know. food that makes you fat) grows. Think excellent matzo ball soup, vast array of schnitzels, goulash, stuffed mushrooms, creamed spinach, stuffed crepes & chestnut puree. Keep that thought & factor in $10 entrees, $25 mains, $9 desserts & a limited but inexpensive wine list. What's not to like? Kitsch-y old world decor & lacy curtains don't detract. Personable service prevails & lots of regular diners indicate a successful mix of consistently good food at an reasonable price.
I'm sure that you will come away satisfied albeit with some strain on the waistline.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner 75 Restaurant also viewed

Rose Bay, Waverley
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 
Randwick, Greater Sydney
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Corner 75 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner 75 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.