We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in heart of Randwick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Cross Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added High Cross Park Lodge to your Saves list
High Cross Park Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Randwick B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place in heart of Randwick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location, cleanliness, friendly staff. Shared table outside with BBQ. Check-in with no problems after working hours. Generally nice place for one or 2 nights

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
25
25
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I needed a cheap room and I got one. The room was tiny and I slept beside the kitchenette sink. But it had it's own bathroom, and the guest kitchen onsite had a microwave, cooking oil, and other cooking essentials. Guest laundry had an iron and ironing board (although they could use some attention), and coin-operated washers/dryers. Staff were helpful and polite. And it has Foxtel. If you want a cheap room, this will do the job nicely, not nasty at all :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

i recently had cause to book some accomodation on the run and contacted High Cross Park Lodge, at the time of booking i was not advised of any cancellation policies and given that i was only an hour from them at the time i had every intention of staying with them.

shortly after booking i suffered a breakdown with my rental car and promptly rang to advise that i wouldnot be able to stay that evening.

i thought little more of it until the bill for the accomodation appeared on my credit card statement, i then contacted High cross Park Lodge for an explanation.

They stated that due to the fact that they were not given 48 hours notice of a cancellation they were not prepared to discuss the matter any further. At no time was this condition stated to me at the point of booking

as you can understand it is impossible to provide 48 hours notice when you book and are forced to unavoidably cancel within a 2 hour window.

Again please be very cautiuos when dealeing with these less than honest people, they simply cannot be trusted.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your booking experience.

I'm sorry to hear of your negative experience with the booking policy of High Cross Park Lodge.

Unfortunately, because you had booked a discounted rate with a 48 hour cancellation policy and failed to notify the hotel during reception trading hours that you would not be arriving, your reservation was filed as a no-show and hence, incurred the charge of the first night as our standard cancellation policy states.

I'm sorry you expected an exception of the policy to be made for you, however, as we held the room for you that evening and were unable to sell it to another guest, the charge was incurred.

Thank you again for leaving our comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was not happy for a few reasons. Firstly, I had booked a 10am check-in time and luckily I called ahead as I was told that the room wasn't ready as check-in is actually at 2pm. Still not sure why I was given an option on the website. On arrival we were lucky enough to get one of the 3 parking spaces available (these are first come first serve). When entering the room a musty smell was present. The carpet was stained and there was a lot of black hair on the bathroom floor, it obviously hadn't been swept/vacuumed let alone mopped. The noise from the water heaters was so loud it almost blocked out the sound made by the floorboards every time someone walked down the hall or around in their room. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for, but for $20 more a night, the Randwick lodge offers a modern, clean room even closer to POW hospital. I know where I'll be staying next time I require lodging.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We have passed your comments on the manager of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Head, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The room was smallish, but fine, with a comfy qs bed,clean bedding, nice breeze. It did have a musty smell that I am assuming is from the carpet, which appears to be quite old. There was no clock in my room, but the receptionist found one for me, as i needed an early wake up call. There was what looked to have been a reading light on the bedhead, but a previous tennant must've broken it off, as there were just wires hanging there. A reading light would have been nice as the bedside table lighting isn't strong enough to read by. I found the receptionist to be extremely kind and helpful. i would definitely stay there again, especially with the proximity to the Prince of Wales hospital, which was the reason I was in Randwick.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room towards the rear of the building. I found it lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

it's so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at High Cross Park Lodge and even though this trip it was a little dearer per night than the first stay in late June, we still found it good clean comfortable accom. It is the proximity to the Sydney Childrens hospital that has us returning each time. They are not the biggest rooms but again you are paying for the convenience to UNSW and the hospital I guess. Like another comment by a guest on here...our room also smelt very much of chlorine!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

It's great to hear you find High Cross Park Lodge convenient to the hospital complex. We're looking forward to seeing you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The Lodge is in a very convenient location to Prince of Wales Hospital (less than two minute walk). There are plenty of shops and dining option close by. Our room was a decent size, beds were clean but the room itself could have done with some more cleaning and the floor of the shower was grotty. I would stay again for the convenience. An update of the rooms is probably past due (carpets, cupboards, bed covers etc)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Cross Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cross Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.