We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randwick Space

Save Saved
You added Randwick Space to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Randwick Space
Barker Street | Shalom College, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Location is good. Easy to take bus to city and beach, and many international restaurant around space! You can buy the bus ticket in convenience store where next to the bus stop. Looking forward to next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Myself & my boyfriend have been living in Shalom College (Randwick Place) for just over 3 weeks whilst looking for a permanent property in Sydney. It is always clean & fresh with plenty of space in the rooms. Staff are very friendly and always there to accommodate you whatever your issue. Cleaning is done daily throughout the accommodation (kitchenettes, common areas etc) Personal rooms- once a week unless you pay extra for fresh towels, linen etc.
There is transport via bus to the city centre, approx 20 mins, no train nearby.
The one negative would be the kitchen facilities- there are toasters, microwaves, hot & cold water from taps & a toasty machine but no oven or stove top.
This place is great for in-between locations but if your wanting to stay long term you have to think outside of the box when it comes to cooking with a microwave & hot water. We managed it!
Overall the staff/ cleaning/ common areas are all great- thank you for this lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms without en-suite, closer to the toilets are better for the ladies, saves that embarrassing pyj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE, OZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The only reason I stayed here was due to its location opposite NIDA. The photos showed it to be clean and comfortable; however, these photos are mis-leading. The white, fresh and roomy appearance, is not what you end up getting. I found my room: extremely compact, very dirty & hot and pretty noisy! By the end of the week's course, I was feeling very drained from the lack of sleep. I was unsure of the facilities and everything appeared locked up for use. It did lead me to question the marketing of this property during the university holiday. If it is intended to be booked as a commercial accommodation venue, I think it would need to raise it standards with cleanliness, noise and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Why oh why do you allow youths to run up & down the corridors after dark, screaming, roaring & shouting when other residents are trying to get some peace & quiet? The room was pretty comfortable, though I was not cleaned properly and in a very noisy location in the building. The spotless toilet & shower facilities were the saving grace of this place. The common room was quite comfy too, although the cooking facilities here were a couple of microwaves and a toaster! Loved the Billi taps though- boiling or freezing water from the same tap on demand. Genius! Location is only ok, I expected more from the locality it being a university area. It was a bit run down! But is 200m walk on a bus route for either Maroubra Beach or the City. I was also very surprised that upon searching there are literally NO crockery or glasses or cutlery or anything available! This was definitely a first for me, and it might be an idea to mention it on your booking sites. Campus policy is one thing, paying guests might need a heads up! One wonders if they should be allowed to advertise any kitchen facilities at all..... A travelodge or simple hostel are better equipped. No air con or fans supplied either. Roasting!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room FAR REMOVED from any of the common areas, as this is where the little darlings seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandwickSpace, Front Office Manager at Randwick Space, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear c_b_84Cork

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and providing us with your valuable feedback.

You will be pleased to know that we have changed our cleaning contract and have seen improvements in our room standards to meet guest expectations. With regard to the noise level that you have experienced we would like to advise that we have taken extra measures to ensure that such an occurrence will not happen again. Our Night Managers are now making scheduled rounds of the premises to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum at all times and our strict policies now prohibits noise in the common areas after 11pm to ensure all of our guests are guaranteed a relaxing stay.

We encourage all our guests to inform us of any issues that may arise during their stay and we welcome any suggestions for improvement of our services. Our staff are available 24/7/365 to assists you with any queries you may have.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here before so we knew what to expect. Bit small but was perfect for our needs. Would have preferred a few extras, eg. bathroom floor mat, face washers, hand towels, box of tissues, and a few cups or glasses. I think these are basics for the price paid. But all in all ..... good value for us because we needed to stay within easy walking distance to Randwick Hospital over the weekend.

Room Tip: Couldn't stay for too long as rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My room looked out over the oval... one of those old-fashioned ovals with a little white fence around it! Really lovely. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, bathroom was very clean. I think it's a pity that the dining room isn't open for visitors for breakfast (that's where conference attendees usually meet each other) but there's an alternative with free wifi directly across the road.

Room Tip: Ground floor looking over the oval!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Randwick Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Space

Address: Barker Street | Shalom College, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite the Village Green the university accommodation is located near the heart of UNSW’s main campus, surrounded by the funky cafés and restaurants of Randwick. The College is easily accessible from the city and nearby beachside suburbs. With the famous Coogee beach, Randwick Racecourse, Sydney Childrens Hospital and Prince of Wales Hospital all close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Randwick Space reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randwick Space, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.