We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old outside fancy inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Randwick Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Randwick Lodge to your Saves list
Randwick Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Randwick
Kingsford, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old outside fancy inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Due to the reason that the kind of the accommodation we booked were ran out , we were upgraded to exclusive bedroom without any extra charge.
The hotel looks very old from outside, but the interior is British style with excellent furniture.
The only irritating thing is that no car park space for us, and it is impossible to find a car park space nearby !
So we had to park our car far away and walked to the hotel.

Room Tip: No guest car park! If you drive there, it is a hassle to find a parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for staying with Sydney Lodges at Randwick Lodge and thanks for booking direct with us through our own Sydney Lodges website, the most affordable way to book with no booking fees.

Sorry to hear you had parking issues. We have limited parking at our lodges in Randwick and unfortunately if you're not used to Sydney parking it can be tricky. The hospital car park is always an option at $16 per day though, should you not be able to find a park.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    67
    40
    21
    22
See reviews for
51
35
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I am currently staying here at randwick house and its my second visit relating to a member of family having a hospital stay. I am most impressed with its location. Very short walking distance to Prince of Wales hospital, across the road from shops and public transport. Walking distance to a fabulous restaurant strip and coogee beach. The rooms are renovated, some have minimal space and bathrooms tiny however the comfy mattressess and pillows are so very welcome. Wifi v slow but it is a heritage building. The reception staff have been very obliging and helpful which is such a plus. Its great that there is a courtyard and kitchen if needed. I am so impressed with this place that i may strongly consider booking here for future visits to sydney- hospital access required or not. It was easy to get to sydney city and back. Such good value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Randwick Lodge. Thank you for booking direct with us through our own Sydney Lodges website, the easiest way to book.

Thank you for taking the time to let us, and others know about your stay at Randwick Lodge. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

We wish you a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very disappointed with this accommodation. Parking was one of my "must haves" and although the website lists parking as a feature, we were told on arrival it was "subject to availability". In fact there are only 6 or 7 very small car parks for the 40 odd rooms. We were told there was no parking available for the first two nights of our stay. On our last night we were allocated a spot but unable to use it as the car next to our spot had parked badly and we couldn't fit. At least they had the good grace not to charge us for parking!

Advertised wifi did not work in our room (which was at the rear of the lodge), although we could access it from other areas of the lodge. The guest "kitchen" was adequate for us but what most people would call a kitchenette - toaster, microwave and sink, and I noticed the laundry was closed for maintenance (although this didn't affect us).

The room itself was clean and recently renovated, but very basic, lacking items such as tissues and a hairdryer which I would have expected from the (self) rating. The bathroom was tiny, and the entrance to our room was in a dark corner with no lighting (there was a light but no switch and it was always turned off).

Overall, the lodge is fine if you are looking for basic accommodation. However, it is not everything it claims to be....

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Randwick Lodge. Also, thanks for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, with the lowest rates on the web and no booking fees, we encourage all guests to book through our own website.

Sorry to hear about your parking issues. Of course, there's plenty of street parking around so I'm sure it wasn't too much of an issue. We don't guarantee parking at any of our properties, they are all on a first come first serve basis. As a result of your review we've removed the mention of parking in the lodge's facilities on our website so there is no future confusion.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We look forward to hopefully having you stay with one of the Sydney Lodges again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights for new year. Great location out of the hustle and bustle but only 30mins on a bus into city. Ten minute walk down the road to Coogee beach which is a great place. Really chilled compared to Bondi. Great places to eat etc.

5mins walk to "The Spot"Loads of places to eat ask for directions.

Rooms modern and clean. BBQ facilities. Front of building a bit dated but didn't spoil out stay. We payed etc for back of complex rooms so a bit quieter.

The guy with the dark hair on reception was so helpful he deserves a mention. He would find out anything for you and printed info out for us great!

Great value and a great place to stop to check out the beaches and city. Do the coogee/bondi cliff walk also it's beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Randwick Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us, through our Sydney Lodges website. This is by far the most affordable and easiest way to book.

We're happy to hear you found Randwick Lodge comfortable and conveniently located. We're also excited to hear you found the team friendly and helpful, something we strive for with each guest everyday.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had booked in advance a heritage room (simply for the decor and space for a cot) but when we got there we got "upgraded" to the Exec room (room 30 I think it was) as I had also asked for a quiet spot since we had our 23mth young toddler with us which we were transferring asleep from taxi to cot every night we were staying there. At first I was disappointed as the exec room was no way as nice as I think the heritage room would have been though I never saw a heritage room - only the pics on the website. However I was grateful for the tip that it is quieter that side of the building as our room overlooked the side street not the main street Avoca Street - which would have been much noisier.

The room itself was clean, simply decorated, bathroom miniscule and only have a shower which leaked, equipped with kettle, cups and saucers a small mini fridge, alarm clock (didn't need that as toddler was the alarm clock! ) foxtel TV (much appreciated by my cricket loving fan fiancé), small table and 2 chairs, bins etc., iron and ironing board which we used. The bathroom had enough clean towels and toilet paper for our entire stay. This was adequate enough for our short 3 day stay over xmas, and is fantastically located with 2 shopping supermarkets, ATMs. shopping mall all within a 5 minutes walking distance.

The courtyard had a bbq - though we didn't use it we did see another family use it - it was a proper bbq not a small tiny thing. The kitchen which we also didn't use seemed small and only had basics - I wouldn't cook there but didn't need to with the shops, cafes and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed eating breakfast in the courtyard - as had huge tabless and benches, with sunshade if required - we enjoyed the Sydney sun and early in the morning didn't need the shade up. The courtyard also promotes a community feel and other guests that I saw were either older than your average backpacker well-mannered travellers, and small families (as in parents and older adult child). Was woken only once late at night by someone at the side gate shouting to presumably a friend to let him in.

Otherwise a good base in a clean room in a great location for our needs (well serviced by local buses and taxis) at reasonable price that suited our short stay.

The service at front desk was friendly and efficient. We didn't really need any info or much service from them bar checking in and out as we were visiting relatives close by everyday whilst there.

Would stay there again and when kids are older probably try the heritage room on the noisier side of the building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Randwick lodge, and for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You're very lucky getting a free upgrade. Let me assure you that the Executive rooms are brand new and far fresher than the Heritage Rooms, so you most definitely received a very good upgrade. I'm glad you found the room quiet.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we very much appreciate guest feedback that helps us continually improve ourselves. Your sharing of your experience also helps future travellers to make good travel decisions.

We hope you had a chance to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check out, so that when you return to a Sydney Lodges property and book direct through the Sydney Lodges website, you can receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

it's a very good lodge with an ancient architectural style. It's location is also convenient for shopping, the shopping malls such as coles and woolworths are only about 100 meters away, it's about 300-500 meters away from the university of new south wales.

Room Tip: i have no idea if there is swimming pool and fitness center since i was out for sighting all the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Randwick Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good location, easy access to bus routes in and out of city and Bondi. Good value for money. Executive room's bathroom very small and somewhat difficult to get in and out of the shower, but not of big concern. Heritage room very comfortable and good size. Wooden floors slightly noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Randwick Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Lodge

Address: 211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Randwick Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Randwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwick Hotel Randwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randwick Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.