We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avoca Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avoca Lodge to your Saves list
Avoca Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   235 Avoca Street, Randwick, New South Wales NSW 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“okay for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

we stayed at avoca lodge for the night. There was no one at reception when we arrived and left. we picked up the keys and left the keys at reception.

The entrance and hall carpets were a little worn and the room was basic but okay and clean. There were windows with a street view but they didn't lock. shower was okay.

parking was on the street. luckily, we got one of the limited spaces in front of he hotel. Lots of places to eat nearby

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    30
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
17
10
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Should have pitched a tarp in High Cross park rather than stay in this pig sty. Accosted by the resident drunk, Dirty sheets and pillows, crockery not washed and the last time the carpet looked like it had seen a vacuum cleaner was 1979. Budget accommodation is an under statement. Ended up booking into the Crowne Plaza for an extra $100 and it was WORTH IT.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Budget accommodation close to hospital and 15 min walk from cougee beach. When staff available they where pleasant. Basic rooms! Good local amenities, lots of nice food places and excellent location for the hospital.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Been here for three weeks microwave in kitchen no good,no oven,lack of parking spaces,tv reception suss Ariel on roof needs repair, good beds linen.Staff good fairly quite area short walk to Coogee beach shopping centers,traffic at randwick not to bad for country boy. Older style building squeaky floors rattly windows when wind blows but just jammed peace of cardboard in them solved problem.needs recarpet but is budget accom,bathroom does the job,aircon works well,fan bit hummy, other wise does me fine

Room Tip: Don't go front as road there,bottom north back smokers seats table can be noisy,down rooms hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed one night at the Avoca Lodge last week. Old building with "budget accommodation" on it should alert you not to expect glass and steel construction. Reasonably well-maintained facility, friendly & helpful Reception staff, clean room, adequate basic facilities i.e. fridge, dbl bed, desk & table & 2 chairs, coffee/tea making facilities, en suite w/ toilet, shower, medicine cabinet, basin and plentiful hooks. The room had aircon & fan and an opening window (quite a treat after staying in "luxury" places where you can't open the windows). Wireless Internet packages available. Did not sign up for access due to reluctance to enter credit card details rather than room details. Stayed in an upstairs room with very squeaky floor. Unfortunately, the chatting (smoking?) people were on my side of the lodge, hence "noisy" and "smelly" with the window open. At least that subsided by bed-time. And someone's alarm went off ridiculously early. THEY slept through it, I didn't. Situated conveniently directly behind Prince of Wales Hospital in Randwick. Short walk to the local convenience store/cafes/bars/restaurants. Notes to owners: please put a rubbish bin in the bathroom - and hand towels would be welcome...and please drill ventilation holes in the wardrobe for the refrigerator. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the POWH.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "no-chatting/smoking" side of the building, unless that's your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

To be able to be beside my wife within 5 minutes after walking out of my room was fantastic, straight across the road pick up a hot chocolate at the hospital cafe into the lift and there so convenient especially on the rainy days we had. I stayed for 3 weeks and only had one noisy night, and never found the kitchen area untidy or crowded. The washing machine and dryer worked well and only once did I have to wait for the dryer. Being from Port Macquarie I found the15 minute walk down to Coogee beach each morning so refreshing and the closeness of supermarkets and food outlets a great bonus and I challenge you to find a better seafood pizza that came from the Royal hotel just around the corner. New and modern the Avoca is not but clean, comfortable and convenient it totally is and I also found the unlimited parking right out front or just around the corner a bonus

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean and comfortable, neither large nor too small, this met my expectations for a budget accommodation perfectly well. It was very quiet, the bed was comfortable, the TV, lights and taps worked etc. It was handy to UNSW which was convenient for my visit.

Room Tip: My room was upstairs around middle. No view, but sun gets in and no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
0.2 mi away
Randwick Lodge
Randwick Lodge
#10 of 15 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#3 of 15 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
1.0 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
High Cross Park Lodge
High Cross Park Lodge
#3 of 7 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca Street, Randwick, New South Wales NSW 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge.Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avoca Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.