We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blenheim Randwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Blenheim Randwick to your Saves list
The Blenheim Randwick
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   26 Blenheim Street | (Main entrance High Street), Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Randwick B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Had everything I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just had an overnighter here in November 2012 and could not complain.
Everything that you would expect was there, the room was clean and modern. The location was perfect for me - close to UNSW. Internet was free.
Reception was only open 8 am to 6 pm, so I didnot get to see any staff at all.
However I received an email about how to pick up my room key and it all worked well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Blenheim Randwick.

We're so glad you had an easy and comfortable stay. Thanks for taking the time to review us.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
23
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice small property well maintained and close to all amenitites, shops transport etc. Not far from the city or the lovely Coogee Beach. Parking available but was oversubscribed but available in the street. My room was at rear and was nice and quiet, lovely little private balcony. Only downside which I found a real disadvantage was no iron in the room, although was provided in ironing room downstairs. Pain to have to duck down late at night to prepare for next days work, but otherwise very good value and would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on Blenheim street much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for booking with us and we look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very nice and tidy. Perfect if you need to access Prince of Wales hospital or business areas in Randwick. Rooms are smallish but clean. Only issue I had was the windows are not double glazed so could hear people talking outside.

Room Tip: Higher floor room may have less traffic and so less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Blenheim Randwick.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of The Blenheim Randwick convenient. I'm sorry if the noise was a little much during your stay. Randwick certainly is not the most quiet of suburbs in Sydney. We do have a particularly quiet property in Randwick, St Marks Lodge which is nestled in the back streets of the northern part of Randwick. However, this lodge is a more affordable property with less facilities than The Blenheim Randwick. The location of St Marks Lodge is also less convenient than other properties in Randwick, however the room rates very much reflect this. If you're after a very quiet stay as your first priority, I would definitely recommend having a look at St Marks Lodge when you book next time with Sydney Lodges.

That said, we do have some rooms on the more quiet side at The Blenheim Randwick, so next time you book with us you may wish to phone ahead and request a room with less noise from the street. Usually we are able to accommodate most guest requests.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you at a Sydney Lodges property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband, son and I stayed in room 5 which faces Blenheim Street.

The room was cosy but well appointed, compact modern bathroom, comfy king size bed, pay TV, roomy balcony. After reading previous reviews, I'm happy to say the cleanliness was as good. Floors, bathroom, toilet were all immaculate and decor is modern and fresh.

Check in was easy and check out was fast, staff were friendly.

The grounds are modern, fresh and very pleasant. There is a few stairs but also a lift and a well appointed kitchen for general guest use.

The location, directly opposite the main entry doors to Sydney Childrens Hospital was extremely handy and was only a 5 minute walk through the hospital to Prince of Wales Private Hospital. It's also only a short stroll to Coles, Woolworths and Randwicks main street that boasts plenty of restaurants and takeaways. Parking is on the street, we didn't have any difficulty at all but you need to be careful to park out of the metered areas which is a short stroll down the street from the Blenheim.

Staff were extremely helpful when we needed to check out a day early and extremely satisfied with their customer service.

We will be back again in two weeks times!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Blenheim Randwick.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed there for one night in good lacation as we had to go the hospital.Room was very clean but a little noisy as we stayed in the front room of complex.Would recommed staying there but would book rear room next time.

Room Tip: Book rear of complex for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney.

We're happy to hear you found the location convenient and the room very clean. I'm sorry to hear you found the noise from the road a bit much. Of course, Randwick is a very busy area so it's not going to be completely quiet at any of our properties, however you are quite correct about the rooms at the rear being slightly quieter than the rooms at the front.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again at a Sydney Lodges property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Even though I give this property three stars, I would consider staying here again if I needed to go back to unsw. I had a workshop to attend and it was a comfortable walk to the uni (the walk from uni to the hotel is quite steep but manageable even in my impractical high wedges, my mistake!).

Room is very small, bathroom tiny, but very clean and fittings are good. The particular person who checked me in was not particularly friendly, but not rude either. I don't book on the basis of reception staff and can find things out myself with phone and iPad, so not bothered by this. I had a lady in the room next to me who was a heavy smoker and spent most of her time on the balcony on her mobile phone and I could hear every bit of her conversations. But just turned on the tv, it was ok.

Basically, this hotel is what it is. Small rooms and bathrooms, but clean and very convenient if you have business around the area or need accommodation right opposite the children's hospital.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Blenheim Randwick.

We're happy to hear you found The Blenheim Randwick clean and conveniently located. I'm sorry you didn't experience our usually very high standards of customer service. I have passed these comments on to the manager.

We hope to see you again at one of the 6 Sydney Lodges properties in Randwick soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After reading very unhappy reviews, I was ready to cancel the accommodation, ONLY to be pleasantly surprised. Thank you Blenheim for a comfortable 3 night stay. The queen room was modern, clean and comfortable. Bathroom very small and signs of early 'ageing'.

Our room was quiet and set back off High St.

Location is great within walking distance to a variety of restaurants, pizza, supermarkets and shops. We attended a workshop at Syd Uni Randwick which is approx 7 min walk.

We left early each day and left a message on the phone requiring staff assistance. They were only to happy to help us on two occasions.

Although, there are only 4 car parking spaces there is plenty on the roads either side of the building.

A welcome letter was in our room offering Internet at no extra charge. Great, however, it was slow.

If you are planning on arriving outside office hours (as we did), let the hotel know in advance and they will email the codes for entry. It was very easy and smooth.

The hotel has stairs and a lift for options. The building has been designed to give each guest privacy. It's not just a block of rooms which was nice.

I would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Blenheim St side are quieter. Balcony is a great option although we didn't use it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Donna,

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Blenheim Randwick.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would return to us again on your next visit. The Blenheim Randwick does have one of the older WiFi systems in place, which means the internet is significantly slower than the other properties in Randwick such as Perouse Lodge or High Cross Park Lodge that use the new MyPort system which is very reliable.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again at one of the Sydney Lodges soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blenheim Randwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Randwick

Address: 26 Blenheim Street | (Main entrance High Street), Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blenheim Randwick 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Hotel! Modern, sophisticated, boutique style accommodation in the heart of Randwick. All rooms fitted with the latest technology and private balcony. On-site kitchen and laundry. Lift and stair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Blenheim Randwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blenheim Randwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.